We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like home!”
Review of Hotel Janak Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Janak Niwas
Ranked #10 of 282 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you look for a place with nice, funny, crazy, all in all happy and overenergetic people - Janak Niwas most probably is the best place you can stay in Udaipur.
Sanju, the manager, is always ready to answer your questions and to advise you on nice places in and around Udaipur. The Team of Janak Niwas always try to do their best to care as bast as they can about your well being.

I loved to stay with them. I am happy to have found this place where I stayed for over a week.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raguleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at janak niwas! The hostel in itself was just perfect, clean, big and nicely decorated rooms! The rooftop provides a great view on udaipur and on the backside of the citypalace. But what made the stay amazing was the great hospitality of every one at the hôtel! They make every thing they can to make you discover the indian culture, painting, cooking, dancing, took us to a wedding etc etc etc! Perfect!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Félix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

as we reach udaipur in night 3 a,m everything is arranged by sanju, he looks like rock star but a very good gentleman, we need special food for our kid and it is arranged in his roof top restaurant. the restaurant also has very good view to citypalace. location is very good and near to most tourist location. i feel very safe in staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alokks108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Janak NIwas is the fantastic place in lake city Udaipur. Good Roof Top Bistro with a fantastic view of the city palace, Jagdish Temple, Sajjangarh and also have good rooms and service. I also enjoy with Sanju Sir in the cooking and painting class. Sanju Sir is the Very Nice person. Nice location near Old City and very friendly and helpful staff, should not miss out visit in the art school run by Sanju Sir, Babu Banna and more......

Room Tip: On 2nd Floor Room I stay.........is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VijayS383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Good roof top restaurant with a good view of the palace, good rooms. Excellent location very friendly and helpful staff, should not miss out visit in the art school run by some of the hotel members. One must get their nail painted by Mr. Shiv Shing ji (Sanjubana uncle).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

When my sisters and I planned our first trip to Udaipur, we were excited and apprehensive at the same time. But the minute I spoke to Sanju - the proprietor of Janak Niwas - my worries were put to rest. Here was a host who prioritized guests' comfort over anything else. Not only did he host us, but also doubled up as our vacation planner and guide sweetly sharing information about various attractions. In addition, he took the pain to drop us to the railway station on our way back.

Like its host, the property is a perfect blend of traditional and modern and is warm and welcoming. Besides being clean and hygienic (bathrooms were also delightfully clean), it is also wi-fi enabled. Another advantage is that it is just five minutes away from City Palace, Jagdish Temple, and Bagore Ki Haveli and a minute away from the local market. To top it all, it is safe and affordable. The simple rooftop cafeteria is an added bonus and provides a spectacular view of the city and the City Palace. The food served is also fresh and delicious.

Besides these amenities, the place houses Janak Art Studio, which is run by Sanju, who is an artist himself, and his artist friends. The group works towards promoting the local style of miniature painting. Sanju and his friend even gave us a small demo of the style by painting a miniature on our nails!

The place appealed so much to us that we are already planning to visit again next year. I would recommend the place to everyone, especially to only-girls groups and families, as the place has everything you would look for in a hotel and at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: All rooms were warm and lent a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duskyhues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

wow what a place , wonderful people , it was like home away from home , they took care of us like family , sanju and babu were like brother , very helpful all the time . they arranged a lot of things for me and my friends . i enjoyed the cooking and painting class with them , delicious food and the view from roof top was amazing .wonderful experience , i will recommend this place to everyone .

Room Tip: i stayed in room no 301,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekpaliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#40 of 166 in Udaipur
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
#76 of 166 in Udaipur
509 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dayal Hotel
Dayal Hotel
#18 of 166 in Udaipur
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 166 in Udaipur
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#33 of 166 in Udaipur
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 166 in Udaipur
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Janak Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Janak Niwas

Address: 15 Sahiwalo Ki Gali | Bhattiyani Chotta, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: £15 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Janak Niwas 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Janak Niwas aim is to serve the guest and provide them a homely environment. Here 10 years of experience people hosting. The specialty of the Janak Niwas is its traditional Rajasthani architecture and the huge area covered by it. One is Roof Top Bistro, for having a delicious dinner with view of the old city. On a roof top Bistro with beautiful panoramic views of the City Palace, Rop Way & musical Fountain Garden, Havelies, Temples & also view of one of the oldest mountain area of the world "Aravali Parvat Mala". You can request a boat ride on the lake or cultural performances with a little advance notice. Janak Niwas Paying Guest House is well designed and located on the top of a hill which is very peaceful & pollution free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Janak Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing