We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast, professional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandouk House of Fashion

Sandouk House of Fashion
Ranked #12 of 83 Shopping in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Udaipur, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fast, professional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Very good quality suits. For of us a group of friends travelling, was hard to say no for such quality suits at reasonable prices, that would be much higher at home (uk). Quick turnover of suits which left is all satisfied

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    4
    2
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar, Malta
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very professional service and quality suits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My friend and I got 4 suits tailor made here. We wer warmly welcomed by Prateek who helped us customise out garments. He then took care of shipping them home to Europe for us. Very happy with the results.
I highly recommend checking this place out and getting a suit made here.

Mark

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank markperegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful shirts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I had 2 shirts made - the service was efficient (1 day turnaround), courteous and not pushy. I liked the range of quality fabrics on offer

Helpful?
1 Thank Emjayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality tailor alert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have just picked up my suit from Sandouk house of fashion.
I am extremely pleased with it and would heartily recommend their services.
The suit is for a wedding we are attending in Mumbai hence choosing a pinkish shirt (rather than boring old white) to offset the grey coloured material of the suit.
I like the fact that this was taken into account and the team there were helpful and passionate without being pushy or pressurizing.
I went for 2 fittings in the end and the result is great - I look taller and slimmer than i usually look which can only be a good thing.
Word to Sandouk house of fashion!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tommymarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rushed tailoring not ideal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Short review - if you are a female looking for a tailor with limited time for fittings, I'd avoid getting it done, period. It is not worth the money you spend.

Long review:
My husband wanted a suit made so we went into this tailor because someone on the street brought us in there (as is normal in India). The guys weren't pushy and were good salesman so we decided to go with them. I had no intention of getting anything for myself but as I looked through their sample books I saw they could make coats so I decided to get a winter wool coat made since I couldn't find one I liked in the stores. I also decided that I needed a blazer for work, as I have a hard time finding one that fits my curves.

We only had 3 days in Udaipur so everything was very rushed with the tailoring, but they assured us they would make it right regardless of the time constraint. This made me nervous, but I trusted them.

I chose a coat from a style that they had in the store, and overall I'm happy with it but the collar is a bit too small and stiff and I can't close it all the way to the top without strain. So far the coat is holding up and I'm satisfied with the end product, though if I had more time, I would have changed the collar. This coat cost me USD $150.

The blazer took longer to make and it was hard to settle on a design that I thought would flatter my figure (I'm not a clothing designer or stylist and I don't know what fits my figure well). Neither did these guys but they assured me they'd make it look good. After one fitting they brought me the almost finished product to a restaurant we were eating at the night before we left to have me try it on and see what last adjustments needed to be made, if any. I had no mirror to look at it so I couldn't really tell how it looked, I had to look at a photo my husband took of it from my iphone. Not ideal. They had to make some small adjustments to it.

In the end they had to ship it to us, so I couldn't see the final product until I was home. The blazer does not really flatter me, is super boxy and the buttons do not sit in the right place to make me look feminine. The arms are also too big, width-wise. I will wear the blazer open for work but I am not at all satisfied with the end style. I spent $150 on this blazer, so $300 total for not perfectly tailored clothes.

Next time I will not be so foolish as to get clothes tailored without knowing exactly the style that fits my frame (OR I just won't get clothes tailored period).

Aside from the experience of having failed at getting nicely fitting clothes, the tailors and salesmen were very accommodating, nice guys who seemed to work very hard and enjoy what they did.

My husband likes his suit. He also had 5 shirts made, and he went through many fittings to get them right and they are ok, but not perfect.

We had to pay a deposit for them to start making the clothes. it was 1,500 rupees. Then we paid them the rest via credit card at the end which came with a hefty international fee of $18. If you can, try to pay in cash. Also, they charged $3,000-4,000 rupees for shipping, which is a lot so if you can avoid getting your things shipped that will also save you some money.

Also, if you are on vacation it is not ideal to get stuff tailored, because you kind of have to schedule your time around getting multiple fittings and that is not fun. Udaipur became all about our fittings, so we couldn't enjoy the actual city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abrookmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandouk House of Fashion also viewed

 
Udaipur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Sandouk House of Fashion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing