We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerizing”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #29 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2011

At the last minute we decided to go to Udaipur and we were disappointed none of our first choices were available. (Tip: book early for this town) This place had one room and one suite available and although the room was almost as lovely as the suite, since the price difference was negligible we opted for the larger suite. We meant to stay for only one night but we were so relaxed and happy here that we ended up staying several. First, I thought the room was lovely and I happily spent a lot of time just staring out the windows at the lake watching women wash clothes, boats drift by, birds, etc. Secondly, although I normally like to try new restaurants, the hotel's restaurant was fantastic. The food was great and the ambiance divine. Looking at the lake at night is so relaxing, the weather in February perfect, there was live music, puppet shows, congenial patrons at nearby tables. It was just blissful.
Another plus is the hotel is on the other side of the lake as most major attractions such as City Palace Museum. I liked this because it was nice and quiet and the attractions were still just a short walk away. The only downside was the hotel employees weren't quite as friendly as others I met elsewhere on the trip. They weren't rude so much as they seemed like they couldn't be bothered. They volunteered no information about the hotel, local attractions and even when pressed just seemed to shrug their shoulders. Maybe a language problem? Still, I thought the hotel was still a fantastic deal for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank halley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Amet Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2011

An absolutely great location- the last stop before the bathing ghats!
We booked a corner room- the tide was IN and it was superb.

Not too sure if it would be the best spot when the water recedes.
The restaurant gets all the ticks, good menu, good staff and great food.

The only quibble was to do with the hotwater service-
it WAS winter after all, the sun was shining ,
so the solar heaters should have been chugging away with no effort- alas, a goose bumped partner ,mid ablutions requesting assistance from the desk is not something to be trifle with- holiday or not!
After about 15 minutes of running the water at full- a lukewarm drizzle- I have a real problem about wasting water - especially in palces like Rajasthan and Australia- I have perfected the 3 minute shower and shave as a result and to watch all that water disappear , troubled my greenish sensibilities- it may not trouble some, but be warned.

I loved the squeaky clean and whitewashed exterior , corridors and interiors, but was a tad aghast at the bad use of THREE modern tile patterns/sizes used in the ENORMOUS bathroom. In a land known for its great use of pattern and design , I think management asked the chap from "Tiling 101" to select and design the bathroom- a pity as the rest of the fit out was great.
Best to check that the water is in and grab a corner room overlooking the lake- OR , close the windows and light some incense if it's out and the night airs are a tad foetid.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We went to Amet Haveli to have lunch in their restaurant. It came to us as a surprise coz the approach to the place is thru small lanes n then finally a breath taking view. They have an open air restaurant which has an idle setting next to Lake Picholla... overseeing Lake palace and Taj Lake hotel. We choose to have indian food and it was really good ! Loved the view and it was definately worth the visit !! The hotel still has some restoration work going on so not sure it that is an idle place to stay !

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pinksp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Amet Haveli is a really beautiful hotel. The lakeside setting is stunning, our suite with windows opening on two sides to the lake was peaceful and picture perfect. The hotel is clean, bright and set in perfectly groomed gardens. All of our aesthetic expectations were met the minute we walked into the courtyard. The only downfall is the less than friendly reception staff and the hawk- like waiting staff in the restaurant. The excellent lunch we had was ruined by a hovering waiter who promted us that "service was not included". After paying 25% tax, he would have been more successful if he had kept this little fact to himself. We are more than happy to tip but strongly object to the constant money grabbing tactics of waiters in Indian restaurants. We expected a little subtlty at this end of the scale. The prices are high in this restaurant and sadly the breakfast is really terrible. I stronly recommend breakfasting off site. Staff and breakfast aside, we still loved this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OriaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Amet Haveli is a clean, friendly and great hotel if you want to stay in walking distance to local areas. We had a lovely room with a nice hot shower and a great view out our window. The hotel food was good and the staff were very attentive. Would stay there agian.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahsmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

One of my friend who stays in Udaipur took us to Amet Haveli for lunch and after seeing the view and the delicious food and the hospitality of the staff I was compelled to go again in evening for dinner and the view is breath taking and I sincerely suggest to one and all PLEASE do make a dinner or lunch visit. Thank you very much my dear friend and the staff of Amet Haveli.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ddbinani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

The hotel is the perfect spot for those who want to Udaipur and don't want to stay in / can't afford one of the palaces. This small hotel has charming rooms (ask for one with a view of the Lake Palace), helpful stay, and a great restaurant. We stayed at the hotel for three nights, and despite being adventurers generally, ate at the restaurant all three nights.

The hotel is clean, in good condition, and simple. If you're looking for luxury, this isn't it, but if you want a very good hotel at a reasonable price, Amet Haveli is a fantastic choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MFDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 163 in Udaipur
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £65 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing