We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hassle free place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
476 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Great hassle free place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

This place is undergoing expansion, but remains a beautifully designed professionally run and peaceful heritage hotel in the quietest part of Udaipur. Location on the lake shore is magical and rooms and bathrooms are spotless and well furnished. My "suite" had a lovely lakeside terrace with a stunning view of both the lake and city palaces. Nice attention to detail with quality soaps, fluffy towels, comfy beds, tea and coffee maker in room. Only negatives was the VERY SLOW wifi. The price charged reflects the premium location and quality rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a lake facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    108
    28
    8
    25
See reviews for
68
246
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The demeanour of staff can really make a difference to one's holiday - some add, some detract and others leave you feeling a little indifferent. Staff at Amet Haveli greatly contributed to our enjoyment of the establishment and its surrounds. Three windows in our very spacious room opened straight out to the lake and provided views across the water to the City Palace. At night, lights twinkled in the distance and also within and around Ambrai Restaurant which formed part of the haveli. It was a truly magical setting and the food was magnificent. The bed was rather hard, albeit not unusual in India, and we didn't always get hot water in the mornings. However, even those things did not detract greatly from our positive experience. The location is not really central in terms of access to the City Palace but there are many shops near the Haveli to stock up on refreshments, gifts or other purchases. We certainly would not stay anywhere else if we returned to Udaipur. Our thanks to management and staff from three old Aussie girls.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank JennJan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed at suite no. 7 and I have to say it was the best room ever!!! the room had 3 huge windows which opened up right on the lake.. so much so that we could bend down and actually touch the water and a perfect view of the lake palace.. next to one window is this really nice low couch and at night, you can see the reflection of the lights at all places around the Pichola lake in the water which is nothing short of stunning.. the bed and the rest of the room is also very pleasant. there is also a LCD tv but in out 2 nights there, we dint find the need to turn it on.
the ambrai restaurant is done up nicely and serves rather good food...
the only drawback is that the hotel doesn't offer any room service (other than beverages)

Room Tip: ask for suite no. 7.. we checked out a few suites before picking this one and it was easily the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank raheedwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Amet Haveli is a very nice place in Udaipur, the rooms are beautiful, the view is great,
BUT the staff at the reception and at the attached Restaurant are incompetent morons.
It is not their business to work in Hotels and Restaurants. Their service is more than awful.

The Ambrai staff is always unfriendly and the receptionists were lying into our face just
for reason to gain some additional Rupees. It is pathetic how they treat customers, they give---- on you whether you come back or not. So check your bill carefully, also the hidden cost for "complimentary" WiFi! No kidding.

If you stay there, be aware there is even no pool, just a little bath tub for birds, there is
no WiFi connection in the rooms, only accessible in the inconvenient reception area. Be careful with the staff, they just walk in your room without asking for permission, don't care if your wife is naked or not.

There is no quietness or a relaxing area you can chill or have a drink apart from the grass field in front of the house, BUT you will always be disturbed and annoyed by scamblers passing by carrying THE travel bible on their way to the terrace at Ambrai sitting and sipping on their shared coke.

The attached Ambrai restaurant terrace is too often occupied by non guests. Do not expect special treatment as guest of Amet Haveli! You are second class. Best tip: Don't book your breakfast in advance (it is not included), get it cheaper when you go directly to the Ambrai.
There is something wrong with Amet Haveli, this place has bad vibrations.
You're better off to stay away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaLineaTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel had an attractive white washed exterior and we were privileged to have an upstairs room (7) with a beautiful view across Lake Pichola. The room was large,clean, airy and light and had been recently decorated. It had simple but decent furnishings. The bathroom was drab. The water was more warm than hot (activated by solar energy). Bring your own towels. The swimming pool was small and unused because the water looked dirty.
The Ambrai restaurant setting was hard to beat with wonderful views and shimmering lights on the water at night. The restaurant has a good reputation and was busy but the menu was standard and the food average both in the evening and at breakfast.
We felt undue pressure to constantly tip waiters and this could make things more uncomfortable than relaxing.
We experienced several electricity failures in our 3 day stay.
The managers were helpful and allowed us to access the internet on their own computer without charge.
The hotel represents good value for money and was not used by coach tour groups during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here on 14aug. as last minute booking on phone. location is pathetic'.staff a bit rude and they feel they r obliging guests.food in restsurant is good but atmospherr dusty due to pebbles below tables.although location os very good and u can see fabulous castle in front.they dont have any organized manner for restaurant booking.
Room is ok in old style but using cheap intiriors.
Bathroom is old and stale with no hot water and shower not working.
Cc machine not workin
I am criticising it as they r charging as 4 or 5 star property bit its just 2to 3 star.


syar hotel

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chirag d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed in the hotel 3 nights, the price is very very high compared the service, the pool water was dirty, restaurant dirty and discusting food, and expensive, and above all they expend the hotel, so you can imagine the noisy machines cutting the huge stones and which brings also the dust...just awful, welcome in India, where you will be never satisfied and where you will pay high prices...better to go to Thailand, Indonasia...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moukik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#25 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: Lake Palace Road | Outside Chandpole, Naga Nagri,, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing