We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel, shame about the price”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #29 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel certainly looks very pretty and is in a great location but I felt cheated after our stay. We booked 3 lake view suites, all at the same price - Rs.7599 - the first room was large with a lovely balcony overlooking the lake, the second was very large with a big seating area with 3 windows overlooking the lake, the third room was very small with a considerably smaller bed. When I asked about the pricing on check-out, the member of staff said "ah, well it's a heritage property - you have to expect differences in the rooms". I fully accept that the rooms in an old building will be different sizes but that does not mean they should charge the same rate for a room that is so clearly inferior.

The swimming pool looks like an ornamental pond with murky water that didn't look very appealing.

The restaurant (Ambrai) is very nice and has a lovely view.

I don't think I would stay here again. There were lots of cheaper options around and you could just go for a meal to enjoy the pretty view.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
10  Thank Rose456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Amet Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

This place is undergoing expansion, but remains a beautifully designed professionally run and peaceful heritage hotel in the quietest part of Udaipur. Location on the lake shore is magical and rooms and bathrooms are spotless and well furnished. My "suite" had a lovely lakeside terrace with a stunning view of both the lake and city palaces. Nice attention to detail with quality soaps, fluffy towels, comfy beds, tea and coffee maker in room. Only negatives was the VERY SLOW wifi. The price charged reflects the premium location and quality rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a lake facing balcony
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The demeanour of staff can really make a difference to one's holiday - some add, some detract and others leave you feeling a little indifferent. Staff at Amet Haveli greatly contributed to our enjoyment of the establishment and its surrounds. Three windows in our very spacious room opened straight out to the lake and provided views across the water to the City Palace. At night, lights twinkled in the distance and also within and around Ambrai Restaurant which formed part of the haveli. It was a truly magical setting and the food was magnificent. The bed was rather hard, albeit not unusual in India, and we didn't always get hot water in the mornings. However, even those things did not detract greatly from our positive experience. The location is not really central in terms of access to the City Palace but there are many shops near the Haveli to stock up on refreshments, gifts or other purchases. We certainly would not stay anywhere else if we returned to Udaipur. Our thanks to management and staff from three old Aussie girls.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank JennJan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed at suite no. 7 and I have to say it was the best room ever!!! the room had 3 huge windows which opened up right on the lake.. so much so that we could bend down and actually touch the water and a perfect view of the lake palace.. next to one window is this really nice low couch and at night, you can see the reflection of the lights at all places around the Pichola lake in the water which is nothing short of stunning.. the bed and the rest of the room is also very pleasant. there is also a LCD tv but in out 2 nights there, we dint find the need to turn it on.
the ambrai restaurant is done up nicely and serves rather good food...
the only drawback is that the hotel doesn't offer any room service (other than beverages)

Room Tip: ask for suite no. 7.. we checked out a few suites before picking this one and it was easily the best...
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank raheedwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel had an attractive white washed exterior and we were privileged to have an upstairs room (7) with a beautiful view across Lake Pichola. The room was large,clean, airy and light and had been recently decorated. It had simple but decent furnishings. The bathroom was drab. The water was more warm than hot (activated by solar energy). Bring your own towels. The swimming pool was small and unused because the water looked dirty.
The Ambrai restaurant setting was hard to beat with wonderful views and shimmering lights on the water at night. The restaurant has a good reputation and was busy but the menu was standard and the food average both in the evening and at breakfast.
We felt undue pressure to constantly tip waiters and this could make things more uncomfortable than relaxing.
We experienced several electricity failures in our 3 day stay.
The managers were helpful and allowed us to access the internet on their own computer without charge.
The hotel represents good value for money and was not used by coach tour groups during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here on 14aug. as last minute booking on phone. location is pathetic'.staff a bit rude and they feel they r obliging guests.food in restsurant is good but atmospherr dusty due to pebbles below tables.although location os very good and u can see fabulous castle in front.they dont have any organized manner for restaurant booking.
Room is ok in old style but using cheap intiriors.
Bathroom is old and stale with no hot water and shower not working.
Cc machine not workin
I am criticising it as they r charging as 4 or 5 star property bit its just 2to 3 star.


syar hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chirag d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed in the hotel 3 nights, the price is very very high compared the service, the pool water was dirty, restaurant dirty and discusting food, and expensive, and above all they expend the hotel, so you can imagine the noisy machines cutting the huge stones and which brings also the dust...just awful, welcome in India, where you will be never satisfied and where you will pay high prices...better to go to Thailand, Indonasia...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moukik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 163 in Udaipur
1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#33 of 163 in Udaipur
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £65 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing