We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views from spectacular hotel”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #21 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stunning views from spectacular hotel”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Driving through the narrow streets of Udaipur to arrive at Amet Haveli is an adventure. I found our welcome a bit indifferent, but the room was absolutely beautiful and very clean. Then I pulled back the curtain to see if there was a view, and my mouth fell open! The view across the river to the palace is just stunning. From the outdoor restaurant one also views the palace and the ghats where the daily activity of local people adds authenticity and reminds you where you are. The food is very good, but perhaps upstaged by the view. The swimming pool is very pretty and has lounge chairs. Very pleasant experience even most of the staff lacked the warmth we'd been used to at other heritage hotels.

Room Tip: I think they all have the spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    110
    29
    8
    25
See reviews for
72
248
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

beautiful hotel located directly on the lake. our room had an incredible view on the city palace hotel and the lake palace hotel.
the rooms have a tasteful indian decortation and are spotless clear. the food in the restaurant is excellent.
the only downside is that it is pricy for Rajasthan and that the staff despite being polite could be a little less distant, a little more friendly.
Nevertheless the spectacular view made this place worth staying at.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank whereintheworldisgpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here with my dad penultimate 2 days of trip - had beautiful large suits with amazing views, dinner was lovely, lounged by pool during day (too cold to swim in private plunge pool outside room).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank woganmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel certainly looks very pretty and is in a great location but I felt cheated after our stay. We booked 3 lake view suites, all at the same price - Rs.7599 - the first room was large with a lovely balcony overlooking the lake, the second was very large with a big seating area with 3 windows overlooking the lake, the third room was very small with a considerably smaller bed. When I asked about the pricing on check-out, the member of staff said "ah, well it's a heritage property - you have to expect differences in the rooms". I fully accept that the rooms in an old building will be different sizes but that does not mean they should charge the same rate for a room that is so clearly inferior.

The swimming pool looks like an ornamental pond with murky water that didn't look very appealing.

The restaurant (Ambrai) is very nice and has a lovely view.

I don't think I would stay here again. There were lots of cheaper options around and you could just go for a meal to enjoy the pretty view.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Rose456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
475 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This place is undergoing expansion, but remains a beautifully designed professionally run and peaceful heritage hotel in the quietest part of Udaipur. Location on the lake shore is magical and rooms and bathrooms are spotless and well furnished. My "suite" had a lovely lakeside terrace with a stunning view of both the lake and city palaces. Nice attention to detail with quality soaps, fluffy towels, comfy beds, tea and coffee maker in room. Only negatives was the VERY SLOW wifi. The price charged reflects the premium location and quality rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a lake facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The demeanour of staff can really make a difference to one's holiday - some add, some detract and others leave you feeling a little indifferent. Staff at Amet Haveli greatly contributed to our enjoyment of the establishment and its surrounds. Three windows in our very spacious room opened straight out to the lake and provided views across the water to the City Palace. At night, lights twinkled in the distance and also within and around Ambrai Restaurant which formed part of the haveli. It was a truly magical setting and the food was magnificent. The bed was rather hard, albeit not unusual in India, and we didn't always get hot water in the mornings. However, even those things did not detract greatly from our positive experience. The location is not really central in terms of access to the City Palace but there are many shops near the Haveli to stock up on refreshments, gifts or other purchases. We certainly would not stay anywhere else if we returned to Udaipur. Our thanks to management and staff from three old Aussie girls.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank JennJan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed at suite no. 7 and I have to say it was the best room ever!!! the room had 3 huge windows which opened up right on the lake.. so much so that we could bend down and actually touch the water and a perfect view of the lake palace.. next to one window is this really nice low couch and at night, you can see the reflection of the lights at all places around the Pichola lake in the water which is nothing short of stunning.. the bed and the rest of the room is also very pleasant. there is also a LCD tv but in out 2 nights there, we dint find the need to turn it on.
the ambrai restaurant is done up nicely and serves rather good food...
the only drawback is that the hotel doesn't offer any room service (other than beverages)

Room Tip: ask for suite no. 7.. we checked out a few suites before picking this one and it was easily the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank raheedwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,934 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing