We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We struck gold with this place!”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #28 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Perhaps we were lucky to have the Rani from Deogarh speak to her friend at Amet Haveli and say we were coming, as we got the best room in the Hotel! Double aspect - one way you look out on the Royal Palace, the other way you have the Lake Palace! The room was spacious and newly decorated with the beautiful ceiling baubles giving a regal touch!

The restaurant is rated No1 in Udaipur and with good reason - situated on the lawn by the lake with the same dreamy views of the floodlit Palaces, and with delicious food (the cooking is overseen by one of the Maharaja's ex-chefs!), it doesn't get any better than this!

The family are delightful - charming, hospitable and generous -we thank them for a mostenjoyable stay, and look forward to returning again some day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

This Heritage Hotel is situated on the Lakeshore, in Hanuman Ghat opposite to the Lal Ghat area with most of the hotels and City Palace, however, what a beautiful location! We had a corner lake facing suite with cushioned window seats to enjoy some of the best views in Udaipur.Rooms and bathroom are large ,clean and very comfortable. The hot water system needs to be improved to allow better and quicker supply. It has a small pool (too cold to use during our stay) but set in a beautiful courtyard. The Ambrai Restaurant , for breakfast , lunch and dinner has a magical setting and is great demand notably for its view. Service was attentive and prompt and there was a good food selection at reasonable prices. A highly recommended hotel offering a perfect base in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony or Corner Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights while touring India and would happily have stayed longer. Our room had huge bay windows in which we could sit and look out at the lake. The view was perfect. Our suite was large and clean. The restaurant is outside and again has stunning views of the lake. The food was fine. Staff were helpful. You can sit out by the pool or in the hotel garden, but my husband didn't want to leave his lakeside window!
The wifi is free but only really works effectively near reception.
The water is hot ( when left to run) and our only minor quibble about the whole place was low hot water pressure for the shower. We want to go back soon!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The lake views from our room were indescribably beautiful. The rooms are perfect as well.
Everything is nice and clean, only from in our bath it was stinking from the pipes, but they said they will fix it.
The management was nice, but the service staff in the restaurant was below the standard expected in such a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank QuietTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our week long tour of Rajasthan. The setting in perfect: on the western shore of Lake Pichola a quick walk over the bridge away from the relative hustle-and-bustle of 'the other side'. Our room was large with a great lake view. Sadly the balcony room wasn't available but we still had a great window seat where we could lie and watch the sun come up over the lake and city palace. The rest of the hotel was great. Nice area for relaxing or sunbathing by a (slightly murky) plunge pool and amazingly green lawn. The restaurant, Ambrai, where breakfast is served was right by the lake. Breakfast was a typical spread with Indian and 'Western' choices. It's also great for dinner. The Laal Maas is great if you're a fan of spicy Indian curry. Make sure that you ask for a seat right by the lake rather than under cover. They're all close to the lake but worth asking for a decent table! Overall I'd recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask reception to see a couple of rooms and take your pic... they're all different as you'd e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank jpargeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Driving through the narrow streets of Udaipur to arrive at Amet Haveli is an adventure. I found our welcome a bit indifferent, but the room was absolutely beautiful and very clean. Then I pulled back the curtain to see if there was a view, and my mouth fell open! The view across the river to the palace is just stunning. From the outdoor restaurant one also views the palace and the ghats where the daily activity of local people adds authenticity and reminds you where you are. The food is very good, but perhaps upstaged by the view. The swimming pool is very pretty and has lounge chairs. Very pleasant experience even most of the staff lacked the warmth we'd been used to at other heritage hotels.

Room Tip: I think they all have the spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

beautiful hotel located directly on the lake. our room had an incredible view on the city palace hotel and the lake palace hotel.
the rooms have a tasteful indian decortation and are spotless clear. the food in the restaurant is excellent.
the only downside is that it is pricy for Rajasthan and that the staff despite being polite could be a little less distant, a little more friendly.
Nevertheless the spectacular view made this place worth staying at.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank whereintheworldisgpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 165 in Udaipur
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 165 in Udaipur
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
2,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 165 in Udaipur
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#33 of 165 in Udaipur
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £66 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing