We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic location and excellant restuarant”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #19 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
climping
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“fantastic location and excellant restuarant”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in a suite overlooking the lake. We were on the side of the proporty next to an unfinished building which looked hideuos but couldn't be seen once in our room.
Also there was the cutist little Begal type dog runnig around the secure courtyard!
The rooms were spacious, albeit thebeds a little firm and we had to ask for some bed sheets!!
The views from our room and the hotel itself are stunnig either during the day or night.
A great place from which to weatch Udaipur life go on!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadesClimping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for posting & sharing your wonderful time spend at Hotel Amet Haveli on T. A. .It is a big motivation for Team Amet to exceed for more in service to guest needs .We extend our deep gratitude for apprasing the effort done . Your point has been noted & we will definately improve on it . Hope to see you back in near future .
Warm regards . Happy Xmas .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    110
    29
    8
    25
See reviews for
72
248
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel last Easter in a large room overlooking the lake - very atmospheric. Our table in the restaurant at night was at the front looking directly up at the Palace which is beautifully lit, and in the morning to the side, watching people amble to and from the lakeside, for a swim or to wash clothing. Udaipur is small and friendly so it was easy to walk over to the palace side. The hotel staff were very helpful, including arranging a private boat trip around the lake for us at minimal expense. This hotel was the cheapest we stayed in, with the most basic facilities, in 2 weeks touring around Rajasthan, but despite this it was our favourite. A truly beautiful location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake - I think ours may have been the corner suite. Also I think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
DEAR GUEST
Many thanks for a great review posted by you .We sincerely apprericate your effort & time given to Hotel Amet Haveli .It will do wonders to the spirit of Team Amet . We look forward for more pleasurable revisit in future .
Thanking you with kindest regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

I am wtiting this review from my hotel room .i have a suite looking over lake Pichola and its fantastic.five windows all looking out on this fantastic view. The staff are good and people come from other hotels for there food and the views
If you come to this hotel you want room 11 witch is a suite and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzybee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
DEAR GUEST
Many thanks for your postive feedback .We appricate you for giving us your time & sharing your wonderful exprirnce with all .It is our duty to provide our guest the legendary Mewari service & hospitality at Amet Haveli .Your feedback will be passed to team Amet .
Thank you wit kindest regards & wishing you a merry Xmas .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

A must stay place in udaipur, right in the lap of lake Pichola with city palace right in front. It's an heritage of Amet royal family with a 300 years old story behind.
Superb built on rocks and view you will always remember.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dixitsudhir12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
DEAR GUEST
Thank you for taking your precious time & energy to write on T.A. & sharing your wonderful feedback with us . It is our constant endeavour to exceed guest expectations & needs .I am glad that we were able to do so . Your great compliments has been noted & passed to team AMET . We all extend our gratitude for apprasing the effort done by our team .
We look forward for your pleasurable revisit next time also .
Thanking you with kindest regards

Gyan singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed here 2 nights. This is another Heritage hotel which we found very basic. The rooms are not over inviting and there is a slight musty/damp smell to everything,..... from the river? The room is extremly basic and I do wonder to whether money should have been spent on upgrading the rooms rather than spending money on the extension next door. The hotel swimming pool was dirty and the grounds very small. The attraction of this hotel is its location to the lake and the food served in the restaurant. Our room overlook the area where people sat in the dinning room so we were unable to leave the window open or pull back the curtain as people could look straight into our room and on an evening we could hear their discusion.
The food was good and the view from the resturant on an evening across the lake was excellent. The breakfast was ok but lack in an quantity.
Location to the town was good and walking through the narrow streets was interesting and acrosss the bridge to get to the main town and Palace....Well worth visiting....15 minutes
I think I would look elsewhere if I return as I felt what we paid was a lot for hwat was on offer

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Very rude owner mentally unstable and the rooms are full of mosquitoes and stinks from the smell of stagnant water of the adjacent lake. Location is good but what you pay for the rooms is not at all justified. Expensive food and the approach to the hotel is very tricky.

Just a few small things can make this place a nice place to stay but under the present ownership an absolute no no.

Room Tip: Expensive and full of mosquitoes and insects being next to lake. No proper room service and no respo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ANSKAUSHIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the Amet Haveli for 2 nights, including New Year's eve. We loved the old marble building, and romantic cushions and curtains along the lake shore. Our son and his girlfriend stayed in a balcony room overlooking the restaurant and lake, and its furnishings and view were amazing. We were in a more interior room that was larger, but not as charismatic - go for the balcony room if you can. Dinner at the hotel restaurant on New Years Eve was magical - super view of the City Palace and the lake palace, with fireworks over the lake. Amazing. Highly recommended, and only moderately expensive - by western standards, that is. Easy to walk to the main section of the city across a small pedestrian bridge.

Room Tip: Take a balcony room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Urban-cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#24 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing