We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with unfriendly staff”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #22 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We choose this hotel as our travel companion had eaten here during his previous visit to Udaipur & had a great experience. We arrived to an indifferent welcome, certainly not the level of friendliness we had experienced at other hotels in India. We felt like we were a minor irritation & not valued guests! We had booked for 3 nights, only one of which was in a superior room as it was fully booked. However we did know this to be case before arrival. Our room was fabulous with fantastic views onto the lake. However our friend had a room overlooking the restaurant/bar area and the level of noise was unbearable late into the night & then early in the morning. He complained & was moved to a room at the back of the hotel which was fine. Our standard room was also very nice. We ate in the restaurant a few times & although the food was good, we didn't think it was outstanding as some other reviews have suggested. Unfortunately the staff in the restaurant were just as surly as the staff on the reception desk. Although in the end we did find one waiter who was pleasant and attentive. Another issue was that there was no water in the pool! We did not know this would be the case until we arrived. The location of the hotel is magical overlooking the lake & the grounds & rooms were good. However the attitude of the staff really let the place down.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
DEAREST GUEST


Thank you very much for sharing your exprience with all .I am pleased to note that you loved and liked our property and restaurant Ambrai.Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt with respect to the staff not being as friendly as desired with a few exceptions. We regret the inconvience caused due to the pool not functional.
Rest assured your feedback has been shared with the entire Team Amet and i will fallow up this matter with the management of Amet Haveli to improve upon rude and unprofessional behaviour of staff. This is certainly not indicative of the service level that we pride ourselves .We hope you will forgive us for our shortcomings.
With kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    110
    29
    8
    25
See reviews for
72
248
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We arrived in the evening after a long day's drive from Jodphur, only to be greeted with the "statement of fact" that our reservation was only for one night. (Actually we had reserved a suite for two nights.) It seems that the hotel owner's guru had arrived and we would be giving him our suite in the morning when we left... We were shocked, and showing a print out of our reservation made no difference.

After much discussion, we were told the hotel would, do their level best to find us alternate accomodation. More discussion between Hubby and the management, and a visit with the guru, managed to get us a room at the hotel for the second night. Exhausting procedure and not at all pleasant!

The visit did not really improve. Our "suite" was smallish and a bit run-down looking, although the view of the Lake Palace Hotel from our lakeside window was lovely. The bathroom was 1960's-modern style with a large 2-person bathtub.

The hotel's restaurant lakeside serves nice Indian cuisine. The view is pleasant.

But, and it's a big one, the entire style of of the hotel's management left much to be desired. The manager was rude on every occasion we had to make contact with him. The best part of our stay was being picked up by our driver and brought to the private dock of the Lake Palace Hotel for the rest of our stay in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
DEAREST GUEST


Thanks a lot for giving your valuable time to post a review. We were distressed to note that you were totally unsatisfied with services provided and value for money. Your views caution us to introspect ourself professionally. Nobody has any right to spoil anybodys most treasured holidays. No reason is worth than a fully satisfied guest . I sincerely tender my apology for uncalled attitude of our staff. We will definately improve our staff in this regard .We will make our weaknesses as our strenght in future. Your exprience will guide us to improve our services in future.I request you to visit us to see the change for yourself.
With best regards always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The lunch terrasse on the water has an amazing charm. View is the best. Prices are reasonable around 400 rpes for a main. Food is good. The building is a really beautiful traditional haveli. the garden is also really charming. The location is central but on the side so much calmer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank willsolgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
DEAREST GUEST
We thank from deep of our heart for a awesome memoir of your lovely stay with us. For Team Amet a satisfied guest is more precious than gold. We also liked your full attention given to our Restaurant Ambari,the most visited restaurant of udaipur. It was really our fortune to host you and we will be very forunate to have you as our guest once again. With kind regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

After seeing the peaceful location of this place we decided to book it.

The trouble began with the booking process itself with Mr Dheer [--] first demanding full payment in advance to confirm the reservation. After countless phone calls explaining to him that I was not resident in India and I would have serious trouble paying an unnecessary full advance he finally agreed to normal procedures of taking my credit card details.

I was then quoted by him the exact price for the suite, which I had made clear to him was for 3 people.

Upon actually making full payment at the reception office Mr Vimal [--] then demanded more payment for the extra person. Given he may have been correct I consented to the extra payment but not once did he apologise for their mistake. Mr [--] was extremely rude and arrogant and should not be dealing with client relations. He even illegally took a copy of my credit card (back and front) without my consent.

The attitude of the staff as a whole is of real arrogance and we would recommend you avoid Amet Haveli on this basis.

The Lake Pichola Hotel practically next door is much more friendly, with polite staff and a much better serviced restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ravs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
DEAREST GUEST
Thank you for your feedback . You were not satisfied with our handling of your reservations and c/o by the staff. I very sincerely apologise for the unconvience and agony caused to you . I fully understand that no words can compansate for a bad behaviour during your joyous holidays . We will train and examine our staff to be through professionals and courteous to all . I would like to reinvite you to exprience the change for yourself at your conviyance and time . We are extremly sorry to you for a unpleasant stay with us . Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

FIRST IMPRESSION: My first impression upon arrival in Udaipur was unpleasant. The driver of the prepaid taxi from the airport told me it was not possible to get to the haveli by car luring me to take another overpriced riksha to get there. Don't let yourself be fooled! But, and here begins the nice part of my experience, as soon as you enter the Amet haveli you can calm down. Early check-in (8 am) and late check-out (3 pm) was no problem even I stayed for only one night. The reception staff was always helpful and reliable there's always someone to assist you with your luggage.

ROOM: I had a suite room facing the lake on two sides (however all rooms are said to have lake view). It was very spacious and bright and equipped with all frills you could expect: ranging from shaving kit, toothbrush and slippers in the bathroom over water boiler for tea/coffee, free drinking water to small details as a candle and matches in the seating area. WIFI worked well, the TV offered only Indian channels. Cleanliness was not perfect but very good--not only by Indian standards.
Finally the atmosphere in the room is amazing. The whole furniture and architecture make you feel like living in a contemporary palace being the guest of the maharadja. Open the windows and enjoy the fresh lake breeze, watching the reflections from the water dance on the ceiling after waking up is just special. When leaving the room don't forget to lock your door with the massive iron bolt and lock :)

FACILITY: The whole hotel complex was very neat also the building itself was spotless (very exceptional for India). Unfortunately there was some renovation going on in some parts of the hotel, this is why e.g. the charming courtyard on the east front of the hotel was not accessible. Still you didn't notice anything that there was work going on, if you didn't look for it.
The terrace at the lake shore is just great and gives you a breathtaking view over the old town and the lake place. Especially recommendable for dinner. Food (also breakfast) is good and opulent.

LOCATION: The location at the lake is stunning and very quiet. Other places may be located more central in the centre of the old town but the 10min walk there offers you some nice shopping opportunities as a compensation.

SUMMARY: The Amet Haveli may not be the cheapest haveli in Udaipur but you will not miss any comfort you would expect from a 4*+ hotel (especially in comparison to the really heavy priced surrounding hotels). On top you get a very private an authentic atmosphere of a true heritage place. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: Opt for a suite room, size and view should be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brindisi_1853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dearest Guest
Thanks a lot for writing a superlative narrative with all fine details of our hotel . We are spellbound at your time and generous thoughts given to us . Team Amet is overwhelmed by your postive words of encouragment and we are grateful to you from the bottom of our heart forever. I take this golden opportunity to congrulate you for your first review on TA. and many more to come in future as well. It was indeed our pleasure that you shared your fond memories with all .We would cheerish your next visit with us in near future too. With best wishes always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel building and our room were of great character. We had a delightful window seat where we could have spent hours watching Udaipur.

The hotel is in an excellent location and is a good option for visiting the city.

The staff were all lovely. Service was not as spot on as at the other hotels we stayed at in India but it was good. If you want a great location in a lovely hotel and are not concerned about frills then this place is perfect.

Good food at the hotel restaurant. Good value too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunny-London25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
DEAREST GUEST

Greetings for a merry Xmas and thankful to you for postioning our hotel with all the glory and kind praises of value and overall satisfaction . Team Amet will definately work harder to improve guest service and aspirations at all costs.
We were glad that you graciously appericated our signature Restaurant Ambari for food and service . We hope that the lovely memories of your stay with us will be ever precious than pearls.Your revisit will add charm and splendor to our place ,awaiting eagerly to have a audience with you again .
Best regards always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast, US
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I loved this property. The local is great and the terrace for the restaurant is...magical. It's a stunning view and atmosphere. The service is nice and the feel is special to Udaipur. I loved our candlelit dinner and cocktails. We also had to have meeting there in the day and it was lovely. However when we stayed the pool was empty and no internet was working. I had a friend and work companion with me and we shared a double room. it was super small and dark. But I could see there where lovely rooms higher up. But I think the issue was double beds. I think if you are not traveling as a couple make arrangements for a nicer room. Ours was waaaaay too small and dark for two women and travel flus (you feel me here). But I would return here as I felt it was a lovely place with a lot of heart.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a nicer room. If you're traveling w a friend try and find a way to get the bigger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortheloveofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
DEAREST GUEST

Many thanks for a splendid write -up on worlds most sought after travel -site T.A. We also thank you for very postively liking the food , service at Udaipur's most visted and popular restaurant Ambari. We are extremely sorry to you for the inconvience caused to you during your stay as the pool , net were not working to order . Management is already taking steps in this direction , to improve the facilities provided . The room provided to you was a non lake view ,which has its own shortcomings . We welcome you to book a lake view room in your pleasure revisit next time .
With humble regards and Merry Xmas .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,933 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing