We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Other Lake Palace”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #21 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Other Lake Palace”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Staying at the Amet Haveli was the highlight of our month in Rajasthan. Mr. Singh provides a wonderfully relaxed and gracious environment. Our suite was upstairs on the northeast corner with stunning views of the palace and the tiny lake palace. We've been at the Lake Palace, which is lovely, of course, but this hotel provides a really welcoming homey feeling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hank_powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dearest Guest
We really loved reading your very-very positive and superb comments of your stay at Amet Haveli . Our joy knew no bounds as you have equated our hotel with Udaipur's "Jewel in Crown " the Lake Palace. It is always our earnest and profound effort to give our honoured guest the best of service and value for money. We very honestly and humbily acknoweldge your recommedation of our staff and restaurant Ambrai. It will be our privelage and luck if you once again grace our hotel and enlighten Team Amet's noble hospitality .
With kindest regards and best wishes forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    110
    29
    8
    25
See reviews for
72
248
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
294 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nice hotel located very next to Lake overlooking the lake and fort on that. One of the best hotel in serene atmosphere, ideal to unwind and relax.

We got lake side room and we got a spectacular view of the lake.

Staff are good and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dearest Guest
We are very pleased to note that you found our hotel very peaceful and relaxing.It is our earnest endevaour to provide the weary traveller all tranquility and peace of mind,body and soul.The enchanting views from our hotel mesmersies and rejuvenate all the senses of our guests to the height of supreme bliss and spritauality..We anxiously look forward for more pleasurable visit to us in future as well . With warm regards always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed for two nights. Had a lovely room with a wonderful view over the lake from two different angles. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly even providing us with coffee and toast in our room prior to our 6a.m. departure. We had a room adjoining the restaurant and were worried about noise but could not hear a thing. Pool looked very inviting if a little chilly in March. Location was excellent, easy to walk across the bridge and do some shopping in the bazaars. Also to visit the city palace and temple. Only criticism would be service in the restaurant in the evenings is very slow, presumable due to its popularity and our food was not very hot. Very good at breakfast though.

Room Tip: Room by restaurant does not suffer from noise problem and has a great view. No 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redcrestedduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dearest Guest
Thank you so much for sparing your precious time and sharing with all such a lovely compliment of our Hotel Amet Haveli.Your kind words energises up Team Amets confidence and encourage us to deliver the best services and attention to our esteemed guests.
Your keen observation regarding the service at our 'prestigious Restaurant Ambrai' is reviewed very seriously bythe management and necessary corrective measures are already taken to improve the overall guest satisfactionand needs.
With best regards and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel 7 years ago and then again in March 2014. This is a great hotel. Location is ideal, on the "quiet" side of the lake but still easy walking distance to key spots of interest. Rooms are comfortable and atmospheric; try and get a room with a full lake view. Staff were fine. One of the best features of the hotel is the neighboring Ambrai restaurant, which at dinnertime (with the evening view of City Palace, etc.) offers what must be one of the most spectacular settings in the world for dining.

Room Tip: Get a room with full lake view, not "partial lake view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dearest Guest
It is very pleasing to know that Amet Haveli is your cup of tea when planning your holidays in udaipur. We are endebted to you for ever for patronising our hotel once again during your travel to rajasthan. The undying faith and appreciation given by travellers like you is the benchmark of Team Amet,s commitment to be at service to guest at any cost. Your compliments regarding our Restaurant Ambrai are deliciously generous and mouthwatering.
Team Amet is our biggest asset and it gives us a great pleasure and satisfaction that you shared such a pleasant after thought of our service and hospitality . It will be our drean come true to be at your command once again in very near future.With best regards and big Hello to Uncle Sam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

With a great view both on the Lake Palace and the City Palace and its terrace-restaurant Ambrai bordering the lake Pichola , this hotel gives you the best accommodation in Udaipur if you put charme and tradition before modernity. No Jacuzzis no hotel shops no frills but a sober elegance and all what you need. Food in the restaurant Ambrai pretty good quality an reasonably priced. Service still open to improvement. We had a three courses meal for two for 30 US $

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marconiada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dearest Guest
Thanks for boosting up our confidence and hitting a straight six with your fantastic write-up on our Heritage Hotel Amet Haveli.It is our earnest hope and effort that every guest has an outstanding exprience of the legendry bygone era of royal Mewar. We generouslly appllaud your strong liking of our , out of this world, restaurant Ambrai . We will certainally improve on our deficancies regarding the service . We will be forunate enough to have a audience with you again.
With warm regards from bright and sunny Udaipur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This was the first Hotel that we stayed at during our Rajasthan trip. We are still trying to find a hotel that match this beautiful place. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We loved it! The staff, food and room were fantastic. We have already referred our friends to you, will be referring many more and will definitely return ourselves for another stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank zurita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dearest Guest
Thanks a lot for posting a unmatched review of our hotel on T.A. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your dream holidays at Amet Haveli. We apperciate with great relief your kind attention and liking of out staff,food and room. Team Amet extends there heartily gratitude for recongising and mentioning there hard work and team spirit so unselfishly.
It will be a honour for us to be in your company in near future as well.Wishing you all the best and have a great time in wild South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The fifth and final hotel in our trip around Delhi and Rajasthan, this was a great note on which to finish. The hotel is perfectly located, though you can't quite believe it as you drive through a maze of tiny roads full of shops and people. You tip up, however, at a beautifully manicured and presented hotel, and it felt like a real oasis of calm after a very busy couple of weeks.

We had a great double aspect room (number 17) that faced both the palace and the island palace (hotel). We could see the restaurant from our room, but there was no noise or intrusion during our stay. There was a wonderful window seat as well as separate chairs that meant it was as tempting to sit indoors as to venture out. The room was recently built or refurbished and everything was to a high standard, with an exceptionally comfortable bed. My favourite hotel of our visit, though all were great so it was a tough choice!

The restaurant was very good, we ate well as vegetarians. It was easy to sit here too for hours over a coffee or a beer. The reception staff were very helpful in sorting out one or two issues in relation to our return flights home, thank you.

We drove out to see one or two sights, but it was also perfectly easy to walk in to the heart of Udaipur (10 to 15 mins), which seemed super busy of course, in comparison with the calm of our hotel. A magical end to a wonderful visit to India.

Room Tip: Room 17, double aspect, newly refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annastravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
DEAR GUEST

Thank you for choosing Amet Haveli for your trip to udaipur. Team Amet was overwhelemed to know that you had a very relaxing and reviving time at our peaceful ,picture-perfect hotel. Our hotel is positioned on the one of the best location on lake Pichola surrounded by tranquil hills of Aravali hills and has a jaw-dropping view of rich heritage palaces,havelis,temples and buildings of royal Mewar .
We wil look forward to have a more pleasurable meeting with yourself in not too distant future as well.
With kindest regards all the warmth to you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,933 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing