We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spectacular views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

The views were magnificent. On one side across the lake was the city palace. Directly in front in the middle of the lake was the Lake Palace Hotel. The ambiance and location of the ground level restaurent was also brilliant with possibly the best views of the lake.
Apart from the views the stay was nothing extra ordinary. The rooms ( suites ) were neat and clean. We stayed in 2 different rooms both of which were stated to be suites. One ( no. 18 ) was large and appeared to be a suite , The other was nearly half its size ( no. 16 ) and did not appear to be suite though we were charged the same amount as a suite. There does not appear to be any standard for defining what is a suite and what is a deluxe room. The bathroom in room no. 16 had a peculiar smell. Hot water was luke warm at best of times and despite several complaints we received really hot water only on the last day. Service was otherwise good and efficient. I got the feeling that they preferred dealing with foreigners.
Overall it was worth staying in the hotel basically for its views.

  • Liked — the spectacular views
  • Disliked — faulty geyser and persistent hot water problems
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaushiMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    108
    27
    8
    25
See reviews for
68
245
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

Avoid at all costs!!
They gave us a more expensive room without telling us. When we discoverd the "Bait and switch" they would not adjust the bill.. We left without staying our last night, but ended up having to pay for it... (We didn't abide by their cancellation policy (24hours notice) ) VISA international would NOT help us with our dispute with this hotel.. Yes, I'm enjoying a new Credit card company too..
-DLTraveler1990

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — They Scammed me..
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DLTraveler1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2008

Fantastic location, the wiev to the City Palace, and the Lake Palace. New rooms added, with balconies!, just over the waterlevel, and with this amazing wiev....
Rooms and bathrooms ok, the service acceptabel..
Suites 4500 rp, only the one on groundfloor has balconies - take them!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanishTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

This atmospheric haveli is right on the shore of Lake Pichola, on the opposite side from the City palace (but really only a leisurely 10mn walk over the bridge). Also, because of its location slightly away from the main sites, it is very calm and quiet (a blessing in India!). We stayed in suite 7, which I would highly recommend requesting - it is beautifully furnished and has the most fantastic views of the City Palace on one side and the Lake Palace on the other. I can't think that any room in Udaipur would provide a better view of the city. Bathrooms are spotlessly clean, if otherwise unremarkable (probably the only part of the hotel that could do with a little TLC).

The hotel has a pleasant, well-maintained garden, and a small and rather murky pool with sun loungers for relaxing on. Another highlight is the attached restaurant, Ambrai - not cheap by Indian standards, but the food was good, and the views are just brilliant at night time - the place is so popular it fills up every night, and not just with tourists.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The amazing views from the room
  • Disliked — The pool was a bit murky, albeit clean
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

We have been staying there in a suite and fully recommend this hotel.

The room is nice, small for a suite, but the view from the room was fantastic: city palace and lake palace hotel...

There is a small pool which is dirty.

The nearby restaurant Ambroise is serving standard food but the view is probably the best in Udaipur.

The service is just average.

The hotel is probably at the best possible location: best view in town, just above the lake, very quite area and only 5 min walk from main places of interest.

Conclusion: i strongly recommend !!!

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AymericB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2008

This incredibly beautiful hotel overlooking the lake is worth every penny (RS 3000/night). The rooms are large and have cushioned windows from where the sun set can be admired. The decoration of the room is outstanding and tastful. One of the best features of the hotel is its restaurant on the lakefront, where you can have a romantic candlelit dinner. The food is incredible!

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EvaCri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2008

My wife and I and our two daughters (ages 1 and 5) stayed at the Amet Haveli for 2 nights in February. It was fantastic. We were in room # 7 (which is considered a suite since it has a sitting area) which has unbelievable views of both the lake palace and the city palace. The overall feel of the place is fantastic as it is a beautiful old building that is right on the water (in fact if you stepped out the window of our room you would be in the lake). It is in a great location within a short easy walk (which we did a couple of times with the kids) of the city palace, shopping (watch the prices - much higher than other parts of Rajasthan we found), and the Bagore Haveli (I highly recommend the evening dance performance - get there by 6:30 to get tickets for the 7pm show).

We booked our stay through a travel agent based in Rajasthan and everything from check-in through check-out went very smoothly.

The attached restaurant (Ambrai) had delicious food (loved the paneer tikka) and was packed both evenings we were there which we figured was a good sign.

The only thing we missed was having internet access, but there is a great internet place on the corner (less than 50 meters away) that has both its own computers as well as a wireless router if you want to use your own laptop.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay. See attached photos.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kodai-kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: Lake Palace Road | Outside Chandpole, Naga Nagri,, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing