We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful midrange hotel!”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #20 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A wonderful midrange hotel!”
Reviewed 12 April 2007

My wife and I stayed at Amet Haveli for four nights in March, and we loved it. Upon arrival in Udiapur we looked at nearly all of the hotels that cost less than $100 per night, and we concluded that Amet Haveli was the best choice.

When approaching the property you may get a poor first impression: A dirt road leads to a construction area, and the lobby is a small building off to the side.

However, the rooms are very, very nice: Magical views across the lake, very clean & neat, classic/atmospheric Rajistanhi style and artifacts in the room.

I was initially a little apprehensive about the location, as it's not in the main part of town. Unlike many of the hotels on the east side of the lake, Amet Haveli doesn't have a direct sunset view, but instead it has a great view of City Palace. I concluded the location was actually better than the East side of the lake, as it's a little removed from the noise and hustle/bustle, and it's still easy to get across the lake when needed.

Staff is competent and reasonably friendly.

The attached restaurant, Amarai, was in a beautiful setting and offered outstanding food at very good prices.

If you want ultimate luxury and service, you should go for a palace hotel (that will cost a lot more), but if you're looking for a classic Rajisthani room in the $80 price range, this is an excellent choice.

  • Liked — Great, atmospheric room with spectacular views
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    110
    30
    8
    24
See reviews for
72
248
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2007

We booked this hotel over the phone for three nights and arranged for an airport pickup while we were in Jaipur. The driver who showed up pitched us into booking for a day of his car service. It turned out that he and the hotel management are in on this together. The car service was twice of the normal rate. At the end of the day, the manager and the driver had the nerve to ask us for more money.

We were put into a guestroom next to long term tenants (the grandpa of the family). There's clearly a TV stand and cable in the room, but there's no TV. When we asked for it, they brought up a tiny one from the recetion, which didn't work. We stayed in more than ten hotels in seven cities. This was a first!

Speaking of the restaruant. There's nothing good to eat, but the view. When we showed up for dinner the first night, we were told the talbe we wanted was reserved, but by the time we finished our dinner, no one even showed up for it.

Udai Kothi, up the road, has beautiful rooms with much better service and food for lower price. That's where we had lunch and dinner for two out of three days of our stay. We would have moved there, but by the time we discovered this gem, it was too late to check out for that day.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank OZCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therwil
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

An old, well restaured haveli located directly on the shore of Lake Pichola, opposite City and Lake palaces. Excellent restaurant attached to the hotel. Pretty, stylish, clean rooms. Warm welcome.
Certainly one of the best places to stay in Rajasthan, reasonably priced.

Robert + Anne Marie Heuberger, Basel/Switzerland

  • Liked — Setting, location by the lake
  • Disliked — Difficult to get there by car - Wasteland just by the hotel
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Risotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2007

My guess is that our reservation cancellation is the result of this small hotel being impacted by the power of the internet. The propery sounds wonderful, but the management needs to learn how to manage its popularity and reservations. Our booking was through an India based travel company, but when they called 2 weeks before to reconfirm were told that they could not honor the reservation. Fortunately we were able to secure reservations at the Shree Jagdish Mahal, (---), a brand newly restored haveli hotel that was a highlight of our 3 week trip to India.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2007

I honestly think this place deserves to be restored to its #1 ranking in Udaipur, and I hope all the other guests we met there who loved it as much as we did will add their voices and help it on its way. When booking I requested suite 7 (the one with the best views) and got it! Not only are the views from the room simply stunning (the best in Udaipur: staying on this side of the lake you have a view of the City Palace as well as the Lake Palace) but the room itself is beautiful – stylish, cool, flooded with light (windows on two sides), comfortable and squeaky clean. You only have to look at the pictures posted here to see this. It was almost criminal to leave it to go exploring. Only the bathroom was in need of some attention, but this is a minor gripe.

The management and staff were charming and helpful at all times – not a hint of the dishonesty some reviewers have suggested. And there is indeed a ‘proper’ reception office, though why the absence of one should be cause for complaint is just beyond me. The building work was not at all intrusive as it is well away from the rooms. The hotel restaurant, Ambrai, has equally wonderful views, excellent food and charcoal braziers at each table to keep the evening chill at bay – pretty important in January!

I firmly believe you’re rewarded by a place in proportion to how much you’re prepared to put in. You have to relax into India and it will repay you with warmth and generosity. The kind of hysteria over a one-off mouse sighting that rates hospitality this good as ‘the worst in India’ is totally unfair, especially when a full refund was given. We stayed in great places all over Rajasthan but this definitely ranks among our best experiences, both for the warmth of the welcome and the sheer ‘wow’ factor when you walk into your room and see that view.

  • Liked — Best views in Udaipur, stylish and friendly
  • Disliked — Bathroom in need of some attention
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ant London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2007

I've seen mixed reviews on this one and was a little nervious once i'd booked and then checked here. I don't think the manager here is malicious, he is however very very disorganised. I actually emailed and called about 6 times before arriving confirming and reconfirming and then confirming again. All was fine. One problem was that our tarrif had changed and i'd booked via phone and didn't get confirmation via mail to re the tarrif and breakfast (which was orginally included but managed not to be when we arrived). The place however is fantasitic, the views are superb and the nearby restaurant is very good. Get a corner room it you can. Just remember GET CONFIRMATION OF TARRIF, INCLU B'FAST OR NOT, DATES, GET ROOM NUMBER IF YOU CAN SINCE HE WRITES IT IN WHEN YOU BOOK. Once you've got this, email the hell out of him so that he doesn't dare bugger it up. Its a great place, the room was fantastic but the manager is a bit of a drip. Oh yea....once you've emailed him......EMAIL HIM AGAIN

  • Liked — Location, Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Disroganised Manager
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank majordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2007

My wife and I, and our daughter, stayed here in mid January for six nights.

About six months previously we had seen photographs in a Trip Advisor review of two rooms (with views to die for) that we liked in the Haveli. So we booked them by email directly with the Manager, Mr Deer Singh. We reconfirmed them a day before we arrived and happily obtained them.

Before we stayed there the painting and upgrading of the Haveli, which has been mentioned in some reviews, had been completed, except for some minor work still in hand and on the entrance gateway, but none of it posed a problem, or in any way hindered our stay. In fact it was hardly noticeable.

This Haveli is well designed and sited in a superb position. It fronts onto Lake Pichola near the Hanuman Ghat and is directly opposite the magnificent shoreline of Palace, Lal Ghat and water gate. It is comfortable, clean and elegant. We found the staff and management cheerfully helpful, thoughtful and efficient.

A great deal flowed on from this:
For instance, the Ambrai Restuarant which adjoins the Haveli is beautifully located under trees beside the lake. At night braziers were set up for warmth and lamps hung from the trees. Again the food was good and the waiters cheerful, friendly and helpful.
Also, the Haveli arranged for us a good (perhaps outstandingly good) driver, when we broke our stay in Udaipur to visit Mt Abu for three days. He took us there on minor roads via Khumbalgarh and Ranakpur, then remained with us during our stay in Abu and returned us safely and unruffled to Amet Haveli. While we were away the Haveli stored the bags we did not need.

We would, of course, stay there again - and again. We could try other rooms.

  • Liked — Views, walking access to city, adjoining restaurant, comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank STIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 157 in Udaipur
1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#32 of 157 in Udaipur
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing