We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned Heritage Hotel”
Review of Kankarwa Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kankarwa Haveli
Ranked #54 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The rooms are nice, and big. Lovely view on the lake Pichola. Close to shopping district.
Free Wi- Fi. Breakfast is basic and coffee is very weak,- rather eat at other restaurants.
Very friendly and helpful owner. A lot of shops are close by and the boat ride for Rs200 is around the corner of the Hotel.

Room Tip: The Hotel is close to the washing laundry , place on the lake . So my friend woke up every morning w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

Best meal we've had in Udaipur after four nights here. The roof was peaceful, the view spectacular. I was worried the thali might be too spicy, but no - everything was flavorful. The dal especially was simply delicious. Often, even recommended restaurants in Rajasthan, they come out with food that is too spicy after just 5 minutes waiting. This meal was thoughtfully and deliciously prepared, you could tell. I think I may be spoiled now.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twistedfirestarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is a beautiful Haveli and the views from the rooftop are superb. The owner is not really that interested in service, and his staff seem a little unsure but try hard. But his wife is the best cook, she cooks the meals in the kitchen on the rooftop and she makes the most amazing Thali. Do not leave here without trying it for dinner, it is the best!! The rooms are quirky and clean. There are some beautiful rooms on the rooftop with glass walls for views. We stayed in a room with a lake view and loved it, but they are expensive so we moved to a back room, which was more than adequate, we had a few hot water issues in our first room and not the next. Like anything in India there are just so many unknowns, best to take it all with a smile. I would probably stay here again, just because the building itself is so beautiful, i can put up with nonchalant service, and a barking dog, the owners dog barks in the morning.

Room Tip: Go for the rooftop rooms or one on the Lake front. They are a treat for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robynmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Really disappointing, I was looking forward to staying here, but the service at the hotel was very rude. We arrived late at night and were put in the wrong room to what we had we had requested. We were two friends travelling and had requested a twin room but were only given one bed. When they gave us an alternative room, it had plaster in the bathroom, dirty bathmat and we had to request that it be cleaned twice. The owner's nephew was incredibly rude, and didn't seem to understand why we needed drinking water in the hotel room! When we raised the issue with the owner, he was incredibly rude, shouting at us very unnecessarily. The location is gorgeous though and the rooms have been quite nicely done.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Candice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Seems like everything has been said about this hotel in other reviews--it is a lovely place to stay and was our favorite during a 6 week trip. We are somewhat budget travels so it is rare to have this nice of a place fall within our price limits. We moved here from a night at another hotel we booked in town that was more expensive and had very cramped rooms. Our room here was roomy to say the least--entrance foyer, bedroom, extra room with desk and twin bed/lounge chair. Wonderful space to get up in the am and do a yoga routine without disturbing my friend in the next room. The rooftop lounge/restaurant was the best--having a covered dining area meant that you could enjoy the views even in the heat of the day (our other hotel had no shade--this is something to ask about). In the morning women are on the waterfront directly below the hotel doing laundry, bathing, etc. You get a really nice group of people on the rooftop and we enjoyed our conversations with fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingtexan69_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My sister and I stayed at Kankarwa last month and had a super stay! The room had the most amazing view over the lake... it was heaven to wake up to every morning! The roof top restaurant was really nice and breakfast good (no fresh fruit juice would be my only complaint). The location is excellent - easy walking distance to everywhere and very central. We were there during wedding season so it was a bit noisy in the evening but the weddings seem to finish early enough (around 11) so it didn't bother us at all.
I would have to say it was one of the best places we stayed in India.
We didn't find the staff rude at all as some of the reviews said..... infact we found the owner and staff most helpful

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This was the first place we stayed in India and I was pleasantly surprised. There were three of us, so we got the penthouse room on the very top of the building - surrounded in windows and offering a full view the beautiful lake. The room was clean, comfortable and large, but most importantly had an amazing view. They offer breakfast and meals on the roofdeck so it was fun to sit out there, relax, and take in the view. It took us two days to figure out that you need to plug the water heater in to get hot water though! Also GREAT location - very easy to walk everywhere you want to go.

The only thing that could be improved is the helpfulness of the staff. They were nice, but when we asked for recommendations about which cooking class to take or where to go to lunch, they were very vague and pretty much told us to figure it out by ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGrl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Raj Niwas Hotel
Raj Niwas Hotel
#67 of 165 in Udaipur
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 165 in Udaipur
1,375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#32 of 165 in Udaipur
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#56 of 165 in Udaipur
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kankarwa Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kankarwa Haveli

Address: 26 Lal Ghat | Eastern Shores of Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £55 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kankarwa Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in 180 years old haveli renovated in 1993 by Kankarwa family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kankarwa Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kankarwa Haveli Udaipur
Kankarwa Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing