We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Kankarwa Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kankarwa Haveli
Ranked #45 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

A wonderful spot at a very affordable price. (in the less expensive rooms). The room was stunning and the staff was exceptional. The rooftop restaurant is delicious and as it is set right on the lake it had the best views we saw the entire time we were in Udaipur.

The haveli itself is beautiful and is a wonderful place to return home to in the evenings. Highly recommended. It was great!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    108
    45
    23
    10
See reviews for
53
157
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We loved this haveli ! Everything about it was just great. The owner is charming and knowledgeable. The rooms are beautifully decorated, quaint and right on the lake with a fabulous view roof top restaurant. One of my favorite places in Rajasthan.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view room. Not good for those that find stairs a problem, but then no haveli will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tribaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Really swift, no-fuss, laid-back relaxed check in and check out, which was fantastic. We had a room with a partial view of the lake, and the room was huge, a big bedroom with a raised platform/sitting room looking over the courtyard, a little sitting room with a view of the lake, a spacious bathroom; it was bigger than our apartment. Smooth cool stone floors and thick walls meant the room stayed cool, the fan was really effective and I don't think we even used the A/C. The rooftop terrace has beautiful views. I thought breakfast was grand, I was a particular fan of the pancakes myself. The haveli is right in the middle of prime shopping territory, close to the City Palace, and Udaipur is a lovely city to walk in, we went on foot to late Fateh Sagar and walked all the way round it, so everything seems pretty accessible. Udaipur felt a lot like a classy seaside resort after the bustle of Delhi, Agra & Jaipur.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Best value lakeside haveli. Looking from the lake, this haveli is directly to the left of Jagat Niwas. Rooms from Rs 1,200 to 2,200. Most about 1,650 – 1,850. Prices double in high season starting mid-November. Got room 217 on second floor (2 floors above ground level) for 1,850 on northwest corner, directly above Lal Ghat. Owner said the price rises to Rs 4,000 during high season. Amazing room with 9 windows, including bay overlooking lake with unobstructed views of the Lake Palace, Monsoon Palace, and sunset as it looks due west. Three levels of floor – entry/bathroom, up to beds (2 twin with nice damask sheets and light blankets), then another 5” rise to the bay window that opens. Thought it was nice during the day, almost better at night with lights reflecting off the water. Lot of hangars, antique furniture, colored glass, AC, marble table lamps, ceiling fan, no TV (but didn’t miss – the lake view is amazing). Bathroom is huge with modern fixtures, hot water with lots of pressure, liquid soap dispensers, TP, thick new towels and washcloths with no frayed edges. Owner has lots of pride about his haveli and you can tell the family is well off. This results in somewhat cold service, as they’re not desperate for income. 17 rooms total in a real haveli on the lake with quality furnishings for under $50 night is a great value here. Like it’s next-door neighbor, it’s quiet since it’s located at the end of a small street and faces the lake.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique, take a look at a few before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The rooms are nice, and big. Lovely view on the lake Pichola. Close to shopping district.
Free Wi- Fi. Breakfast is basic and coffee is very weak,- rather eat at other restaurants.
Very friendly and helpful owner. A lot of shops are close by and the boat ride for Rs200 is around the corner of the Hotel.

Room Tip: The Hotel is close to the washing laundry , place on the lake . So my friend woke up every morning w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Best meal we've had in Udaipur after four nights here. The roof was peaceful, the view spectacular. I was worried the thali might be too spicy, but no - everything was flavorful. The dal especially was simply delicious. Often, even recommended restaurants in Rajasthan, they come out with food that is too spicy after just 5 minutes waiting. This meal was thoughtfully and deliciously prepared, you could tell. I think I may be spoiled now.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twistedfirestarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is a beautiful Haveli and the views from the rooftop are superb. The owner is not really that interested in service, and his staff seem a little unsure but try hard. But his wife is the best cook, she cooks the meals in the kitchen on the rooftop and she makes the most amazing Thali. Do not leave here without trying it for dinner, it is the best!! The rooms are quirky and clean. There are some beautiful rooms on the rooftop with glass walls for views. We stayed in a room with a lake view and loved it, but they are expensive so we moved to a back room, which was more than adequate, we had a few hot water issues in our first room and not the next. Like anything in India there are just so many unknowns, best to take it all with a smile. I would probably stay here again, just because the building itself is so beautiful, i can put up with nonchalant service, and a barking dog, the owners dog barks in the morning.

Room Tip: Go for the rooftop rooms or one on the Lake front. They are a treat for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
1,347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raj Niwas Hotel
Raj Niwas Hotel
#55 of 157 in Udaipur
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#52 of 157 in Udaipur
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#27 of 157 in Udaipur
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kankarwa Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kankarwa Haveli

Property: Kankarwa Haveli
Address: 26 Lal Ghat | Eastern Shores of Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kankarwa Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in 180 years old haveli renovated in 1993 by Kankarwa family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kankarwa Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kankarwa Haveli Udaipur
Kankarwa Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing