We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location - friendly staff”
Review of Kankarwa Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kankarwa Haveli
Ranked #45 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous location - friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is our second stay here - what a fabulous view over the lake to the Lake Palace! A beautiful heritage haveli with lovely simple but spacious old rooms with lake views. Simple but tasty food and drinks on the roof terrace - wonderful light over the lake at breakfast and you can have a pleasant drink in the evening and watch the sun go down. Nice to see the lake full this year (we were last here in 2005 when after two failed monsoons the lake was dry!)

Room Tip: No TV, gym or pool - but who needs them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinstirrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    108
    45
    23
    10
See reviews for
53
157
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed with family from 25 & 26 night & checkout on 27th. The clear trip voucher says that checkin time is 10am but we were disappointed. We requested for early check in as our train reaches by 7am but on reaching hotel we have to wait till 11am . the 3 hrs were horrible with two small kids as no clean toilet for waiting periods. the clear trip gave wrong information about check in timing.it is 12 noon as per hotel management. at the time of checkout we were informed at 9am that we have to check out at 10 as other guest are waiting. any how we have left the hotel before 10am. no request for late checkout was entertained as our train was at 6.15pm.
the breakfast included was not worth of rs 350/- as chrged by the hotel.
this hotel mainly cater foreign tourist hence indian guest are at the least priority.
staff is very friendly, nice view of lakes from window,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ganga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This little Haveli is ideally situated on Lake Pichola and right next to the City palace. We had the beautiful blue room directly overlooking the lake and within site of the Lake Palace Hotel. The rooftop restaurant needs to be pr-booked, but we did have a nice thali just after we arrived. The staff were helpful and Bambi, the resident Alsatian dog, was nice to see. We were advised about this Haveli from a workmate and greatly enjoyed our stay there in beautiful Udaipur.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank fornax21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you are looking for a heritage haveli, this place is the right one for you. It is besides lake pichola with rooms on the ground floor floating on the water. The rooms on the ground floor facing the lake has a wonderful view. The food in the haveli is not great. With a good restaurant, this place can definitely be much better

Room Tip: Choose the ones on the ground floor adjacent to the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thilak_Ramanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Friends recommended Kankarwa Haveli to us and I am so glad we followed their advice. This is an oasis of calm in the tourist traffic of Rajasthan. We arrived from Delhi on the overnight train, and found that it was hard to tear ourselves away from the view out of our bedroom window. Breakfast and dinner at the rooftop restaurant were good and the scenery even better. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Laundry was done within a day. Wifi worked, and there are comfy chairs in a small lounge downstairs. Furnishings and artworks tastefully in keeping with the setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The views from the rooftop and my room over the lake were fab (although I wish I had a cushioned window seat, not a table and chairs in the alcove), the bathroom and beds were adequate, the staff were really helpful (they managed to find someone to do a decent repair job on my busted rucksack zip), the wifi was decent (would have been nice if it was in the rooms and on the rooftop though).

Not a bad choice, but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_Downie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I found out about this haveli through trip advisor. This was for the road trip we did some 2 years back. A beautifully done up place. Breakfast at the rooftop kickstarts the bright day. Most pleasant people in the haveli who own this place and a very courteous staff

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oindrila80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Raj Niwas Hotel
Raj Niwas Hotel
#55 of 156 in Udaipur
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#49 of 156 in Udaipur
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kankarwa Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kankarwa Haveli

Property: Kankarwa Haveli
Address: 26 Lal Ghat | Eastern Shores of Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kankarwa Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in 180 years old haveli renovated in 1993 by Kankarwa family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kankarwa Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kankarwa Haveli Udaipur
Kankarwa Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing