We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure theatre”
Review of Kankarwa Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kankarwa Haveli
Ranked #52 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Arriving directly from London, watching the sun setting over the lake from the rooftop restaurant, was pure theatre. The location of this haveli is magnificent. Everything else about the stay was good. If you take the trouble to learn about the owner and staff, and not dwell on the kind of things a spoilt tourist might dwell on, you will get the best out of the place. Their attitude towards guests is excellent and they are a great source of information. We enjoyed the food here and all had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of February. I have very mixed feelings about the place. The view and position by the lake are really special but the rest of the experience bordered between just OK and rather worrying.
We stayed on the top on the same level as the restaurant. We are fit but the stairs are very steep and dangerous in places. There was very loud music being played all day on our second day. Breakfast was fine although we did not see anyone dining there on either night however there is an excellent restaurant next door ( book to be sure of a table).
Our room was not cleaned on the second day.
The main source of our worry was security. Passports were taken from us on our arrival but not returned within a few hours which is unusual. On the following day we asked for their return and the manager just opened a drawer full of passports and asked that we get our own…no checking and to be honest we could have picked up any by mistake or on purpose. Room keys were just left out to be collected and again no-one checked which ones were being picked up. Our rep called by with plane tickets as we were flying to Mumbai …the manager took them but did not pass them on to us nor did he tell us they had been delivered. As we left at 5am we assumed the rep would meet us at the airport, he did but was amazed the tickets had not been passed on..it was sorted out but without the rep we would have struggled. This was the 8th hotel on our trip and without doubt the most careless in terms of service and security. It was however the most beautiful in terms of position.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisD3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at a "suite" which had a lakeside view which was beautiful. Room was pretty barebones. Bathroom was rudimentary. Hot water was good but drainage so so and there was an unpleasant odor coming from the drain that encouraged us to close bathroom door at all times. Service was adequate. Didn't take credit card so we had to be driven to a functional ATM to get cash, which they did. Breakfast on rooftop was not great with not local options, drinks out of juice containers, etc. Wifi only in lobby. Overall, great views but was ok for a a brief stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmaniatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Initially we planned for a 4 days stay. Once we actually saw our room we booked it for a week and we ended up staying for 10 days. The place is absolutely wonderful, every detail is taken care of, the staff is beyond any expectation and the organic breakfast is more than you can wish for!
It felt like we were real maharajas playing hide & seek around the beautiful haveli, which is more over situated in the heart of old Udaipur just on the banks of Lake Pichola.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the view of the lake. The sunset is breath taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desireehalaseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We payed more than we usually do for accommodation in India but felt well rewarded. Our room was so bright and beautiful, it felt palacial. We even had coloured glass panes and arches similar to those found in the city palace. We had a sitting area with windows on three sides with nothing between us and the lake. We were drawn to spend the late afternoons sitting in our room with the windows open enjoying the view as the sunshine poured around us. The sunsets were amazing!

If you can afford a room, do it, but plan to spend a lot of time in your room.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Niall_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I had a great stay at Kankarwa Haveli. The staff was very helpful and the room was clean and nice. The only issue was with the street boys outside the entrance who kept telling me they were going to my country for an art exchange. I heard other guests say they had the same thing happen to them, but they were just trying to sell me things. Don't pay attention to them! Besides that unfortunate happening, the stay was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddiegeegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had booked this after reading its reviews in outlook magazine where it featured in India’s 100 exotic hotels and it exceeded our expectations. It was exactly like the way it was described in the book. It was a good break from conventional 3 and 5 star hotels. Managed by a family, this is a perfect place to soak in the local flavor and enjoy beautiful Udaipur. No two rooms are the same. Our room offered lovely view of the lake. Food served on the roof top was tasty and I had one of the best pickle in this place which was home-made. If you want to do nothing, relax by lake side, read novel, stay in a historical place, rejuvenate yourself and want a break from routine hotels, this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celebrate-Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
2,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#34 of 165 in Udaipur
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#51 of 165 in Udaipur
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 165 in Udaipur
1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#28 of 165 in Udaipur
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kankarwa Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kankarwa Haveli

Address: 26 Lal Ghat | Eastern Shores of Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £48 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kankarwa Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in 180 years old haveli renovated in 1993 by Kankarwa family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kankarwa Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kankarwa Haveli Udaipur
Kankarwa Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing