We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sarovar could have been Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Ranked #47 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sarovar could have been Better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

The word Sarovar signifies a lake. Having booked a lake facing room on the Picchola we thought of a beautiful view of water in the early morning sun from our room window. What instead stared at us was the green and moss filled side of the lake and a washing ghat at the far end. The disappointment didn’t end there – all the rooms in the hotel had windows facing just that.

Having booked on the internet there was no way one could have backed out of the contract so we stayed on. To make matters worse there are several hotels that would give value for money at about Rs.2500/- per night stay so I wonder why we got this place whose entrance is through a maze of lanes and alleys and where women travelers are asked not move alone after dusk!!

However, the internal space of the hotel is decent in terms of ambience, room service and food. Internet rates per hour are expensive at the hotel. The restaurants are not much to write about, however the staff is courteous. Another drawback is no lifts / elevators for comfort to the elderly.

  • Liked — Decent rooms and okay food
  • Disliked — The location was not pleasing and its not lake facing in the real sense!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank tripperontheGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    58
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
88
41
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

Truly a dismal experience, we had a month of smiles in India until checking into here. In 3 days not a SINGLE social word from 1 member of the surly staff.

A place where yout heart sinks when you walk into your room. Although clean enough very outdated & basic, mattress is of garden furniture thickness.

Corridors unlit curtains drawn which doesn't help very miserable atmosphere.

Adjoining bathrooms seperated by a hole in the wall filled with plastic, you hear everything.

Had dinner once, for safety opted for chicken/chips in a basket, 2 small pieces overfried meat & 6 chips, not mans most heartry meal. Breakfast similarly meagre.

Wardrobes stink so lived out of cases kept locked at all times, there is not a happy trusting atmosphere here. Safety boxes are under reception desk, watched like hawks everytime used which inspires no confidence at all.

Rooms do have panoramic lake & town views but you opt to stay out as much as possible.

Pay no more than 1500 rupees. One has to wonder why anybody working here is in the hospitality business when it's such an alien concept, dozens of choices in Udaipur, try the 1 opposite.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank phil-bobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanuc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2008

i chose a room (deluxe!?) with view lake.
really pointless; the room is really shabby and facing just the the semi dry pond at the beginning o the lake.
Either chose for one hotel really facing the lake and it's palace, or just sav money and take some nicer and cheaper hotel in town (e.g. udai niwas).
you will anyow enjoy the view when you seat in one of the roof terraces or the restaurant...that i can't remeber, with great view on lake palace and city palace

tip: unusual place restaurant thet i liked is the Savage Garden
ciao

  • Liked — attentive service
  • Disliked — bad price/comfort
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank saetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

We go there and change the room Deluxe A/C Room (Non-Lake Facing) to Deluxe A/C Room (Lake Facing. they charged only the difference amount of the room.

Housekeeping was good. Staff is very good.

There was hot water line is not working in the rooms. Only very cold water was available at any point of time. We demand but hot water not provided.

No lift available in the hotel.

A room was properly cleaned and three towels provided.

Room service was very good, but the tour programs which we decided are delayed due to not understanding of staff for one hour.

Malai kofta is not good in taste but other food is very tasty and yummy. On my point of view prices are high but we like food. As such we see pictures in the site dining room and roof are not well decorated.

Hotel is near lake so we get difficulty to hire auto. Market is far from the hotel.

Hotel is suitable for honeymoon couple.

When we booking the hotel we found information that seaming pool is available but no pool is in hotel. Pool is available in hotel shilpi which is around 10 km far from the hotel near shilp gram. Hotel sarovar has tie-ups with this hotel and pool is free for hotel sarovars residents.

Over all Hotel is OK.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neerajkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2007

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on the site and must say were very pleased with our choice. The approach road to the hotel is very narrow and had us thinking whether we were right in our choice, but once we got there things got better. The staff were very helpful and rooms were spacious and clean.

We'd booked the lake facing rooms (through [--]) which had great views over Lake Pichola, with the 'dhobi ghat' (washing area) and the City Palace visible on the other shore - the view at night was very impressive indeed.

We took breakfast and dinner at their rooftop restaurant and the food was satisfactory. Don't miss going for the dinner at a nearby (walking distance) open-air restaurant by Lake Pichola (can't recollect the name) which was recommended by the receptionist, Mr. Pushkar for unbeatable views over the City Palace.

The two-storey hotel has no lift, hence unsuitable for those who can't climb stairs, also there are limited options to keep children busy.

This is definitely a hotel I'd recommend for the price it is available (approx. Rs.2,100/night).

  • Liked — Great views and good service
  • Disliked — Nothing really, except perhaps that there is no elevator
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaytee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2007

Recommended by our travel agent, we were thrilled to be staying at a property on the lake in Udaipur. When we arrived, we found our room overlooked the alley. It cost us $10 a night, but we upgraded to a room with a spectacular lake view. The room was a little larger than our previous room, but it was otherwise exactly the same. This hotel has no internet service offerings in spite of what the sign says at the entrance. It is, however, walking distance to all the major tourist sites in Udaipur. There is no breakfast buffet, so you might try other places for breakfast. For other meals, try Cafe Edelweiss, Savage Garden, or the rooftop at the Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel (you should make reservations for dinner).

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Lachina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#40 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sarovar on Pichola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sarovar on Pichola

Property: Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Address: | Outside Chandpol, Lake Pichola, Udaipur 31300, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sarovar on Pichola 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment our guests pass through the grand haveli styled gates of the Sarovar and enter in to the cool marble facade reception area, a realization of having made the right choice of hotel settles in. The reception leads into an attractive lobby with its captivating outlook over Lake Pichola and the ghats across. Hotel Sarovar possesses an elegance that brings modern comforts in a traditional style. The hotel hangs on the very edge of Lake Pichola with unique views across the water body and towards the old part of Udaipur, the Indian city of lakes. Each room is spotlessly clean & tastefully ambient in style. At Sarovar we do not rely on chandeliers and gilt, or expensive fabrics and vast spacious lobbies to impress, nor do we believe these are enough to create the impression of luxury. Rather it is every little detail in the hotel that makes it easier for our guests to feel comfortable and welcome and that is what we strive to achieve the desired effect with. It is every interaction with every team member that makes the guests believe they are an individual and their experience is unique. It is the fact that at Sarovar voices are not raised and scents are not overpowering. It is the meticulous maintenance of our product - whether it is the finest quality or not - that helps in creating that perception of luxury. At Sarovar luxury is not expensive - it is borne of simplicity and a focus on making the experience seamless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sarovar on Pichola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarovar On Pichola Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing