We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sarovar on Pichola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Shillong
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Terrible stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

The hotel is located at one corner of udaipur city and is very difficult to find. Also there is praictically no room service avaliable. They have a huge menu card but when ever u order its not there or there is a fixed menu in the restuarant. Timings of restuarant are very bad and once u come back after a whole day of sightsieng there is practically no food avaliable. Restuarant located on the top floor and no lift. So be prepared to climb 4 floors for every breakfast and dinner meal as there is nil room service. Overall a very bad hotel and advice people who plan to spend a lesiure time stay away. No good facilities too.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surjya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    58
    26
    14
    8
See reviews for
87
40
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Too expensive in Rs.3500.00 per night for lake view room (which is actually a view of mud)
The amenities were bad - No kettle, newspaper. Even the towels were very dirty. No hot water supply after 9am.
The restaurant too is bad. There was no food available for dinner. In this case nearby Ambhrai Restaurant is good.
The reception staff was not co-operative, not even arranged vehicle for drop.
Avoid this hotel as there are several other good options in cheaper rate. The Amet Haveli is good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunGupta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

Sarovar is a regular hotel unlike the havelis and palaces of Udaipur. The room rates are reasonable from Rs 1200 to Rs 1800. The rooms and the bathroom are neat and clean.The hotel is located on the lake shore but has little scenic view due to the shortage of water in the lake. The food is expensive so we opted to eat at the nearby restaurants. Food club restaurant located a couple of buildings away is a great place to dine at as they serve candle light dinner by the lake. The hotel has a swimming pool facility at another of its hotels at Shilpgram which is a few kilometers away. Guests can avail the swimming pool facility at no extra cost.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alps29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Previously when we have look on these reviews we were decided not to book. But when one of our India Travel agent assured us then we stayed. It is really excellent stay. Yes the roads are narrow as it is natural heritage style. one Innova car can go very easily. the manager mr. rathore was very helpful each and every time with us. Stuff were like a family member...we were booked through Ankush Group of Hotels, India whose are promoting this hotel. Each and every stuff of Ankush Group of Hotels, India was prompt to provide us each and every information about this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveBernshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

One of our friends had stayed here and we reviewed their website.
It was great with a big arch entrance in a nice and big street.

But when we actually tried to get there, we were actually scared as the streets were very small for our SUV to get in and there was no parking in the hotel and the big arch shown on the website is not part of the hotel... but actually an archway a few kilometers away.

Having said that, the room was clean even though it was very basic. No fancy fittings or carpet. Very few staff to be seen around.
What was good was the really nice view of Lake Pichola from the window of the room.

The restaurant on the terrace was nothing fancy. We actually did not eat there at all and used room service for breakfast.

During check out, they said they will charge 2% additional if a credit card was used. This is the first hotel that I have faced with this kind of policy

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

This was the last hotel I stayed in on my trip. I was very disappointed. I thought I had a lake view room but did not. But in looking out from the restaurant, the view is not that great. The room was okay I guess. Clean but somewhat shabby. The whole hotel looked somewhat shabby. The best part of the hotel was the breakfast which you order off the menu. Perhaps the best breakfast I had on my entire trip to India. In retrospect, I wished I had stayed just down the lake in the Amet Haveli which has a nice outdoor restaurant and great views.

  • Liked — Great breakfast
  • Disliked — Overall shabby appearance
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

The word Sarovar signifies a lake. Having booked a lake facing room on the Picchola we thought of a beautiful view of water in the early morning sun from our room window. What instead stared at us was the green and moss filled side of the lake and a washing ghat at the far end. The disappointment didn’t end there – all the rooms in the hotel had windows facing just that.

Having booked on the internet there was no way one could have backed out of the contract so we stayed on. To make matters worse there are several hotels that would give value for money at about Rs.2500/- per night stay so I wonder why we got this place whose entrance is through a maze of lanes and alleys and where women travelers are asked not move alone after dusk!!

However, the internal space of the hotel is decent in terms of ambience, room service and food. Internet rates per hour are expensive at the hotel. The restaurants are not much to write about, however the staff is courteous. Another drawback is no lifts / elevators for comfort to the elderly.

  • Liked — Decent rooms and okay food
  • Disliked — The location was not pleasing and its not lake facing in the real sense!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank tripperontheGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#91 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#41 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sarovar on Pichola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sarovar on Pichola

Property: Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Address: | Outside Chandpol, Lake Pichola, Udaipur 31300, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sarovar on Pichola 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment our guests pass through the grand haveli styled gates of the Sarovar and enter in to the cool marble facade reception area, a realization of having made the right choice of hotel settles in. The reception leads into an attractive lobby with its captivating outlook over Lake Pichola and the ghats across. Hotel Sarovar possesses an elegance that brings modern comforts in a traditional style. The hotel hangs on the very edge of Lake Pichola with unique views across the water body and towards the old part of Udaipur, the Indian city of lakes. Each room is spotlessly clean & tastefully ambient in style. At Sarovar we do not rely on chandeliers and gilt, or expensive fabrics and vast spacious lobbies to impress, nor do we believe these are enough to create the impression of luxury. Rather it is every little detail in the hotel that makes it easier for our guests to feel comfortable and welcome and that is what we strive to achieve the desired effect with. It is every interaction with every team member that makes the guests believe they are an individual and their experience is unique. It is the fact that at Sarovar voices are not raised and scents are not overpowering. It is the meticulous maintenance of our product - whether it is the finest quality or not - that helps in creating that perception of luxury. At Sarovar luxury is not expensive - it is borne of simplicity and a focus on making the experience seamless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sarovar on Pichola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarovar On Pichola Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing