We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Landscaping and Housekeeping, Bad F & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #48 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We looked up for this hotel on internet after reaching Udaipur. We were at Lake Pichola and this hotel was not very far from it.

When we entered the property, we all were impressed with the fantastic landscaping! Check-in was a smooth process. The downside was the sign displayed stating "Credit Cards not Accepted".

We spent some time near the pool which was quite clean. The shower area was also clean. It is an ancestral property converted into a hotel by the owners. There are a very few rooms but they have been decorated tastefully. The air-conditioner was insufficient for the size of the room.

Bathroom was good with hot water available all the time. Linen was impressive too.

The hotel is in good proximity of the shopping area so we could shop easily even though it was late.

The worst part about the hotel was F & B. Service in the restaurant was lithargic. We had to wait for at least 45 minutes before the food arrived!

We checked out at 4 in the morning. It was smooth too.

Room Tip: Go in for a room superior to Deluxe Room if finance permits. Check the size of the air-conditioner...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kalki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Rangniwas Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I were in Udaipur during 3rd to 5th of March. I had booked this hotel through the travel portal based on reviews posted in Trip Advisor. We had requested for airport pick up and were glad to be received by Imran, the cab driver. Imran, an enthusiastic local resident was with us throughout the 3 days and was our guide.

The check in was smooth and pleasant. We stayed in a simple room, though small, was very functional. The overall ambience was good. The food in the restaurant was very good and we made it a point to come back to the hotel for dinner on both the days we spent there.

The external ambience has this old world charm and though there were many guests, there was no intrusion into our privacy.

This experience confirmed that one could depend upon travel sites like Trip Advisor to check out hotels that suit our budget as well as expected level of service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

we stayed 4 nights at Rangniwas and had a pleasant stay with a nice garden that you can easily sunbathe in without prying eyes watching you. There is a pool but it didnt looked used or that clean - there were quite a few dead flies in it. The hotel is a bit further from the lake but we didnt mind the walk, although the touts shouting at you to come into their shop along the way wears pretty thin after a day or so.

The breakfast was good and served all day long. The only negative is the room service, you have to order twice before they acknowledge your request and on average we waited over an hour each time for our food to be delivered.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mayandcom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

just close your eyes and think you were transported back to a period where time stood still and life continued on its leisurely way...dream of indolently lazing on a swing on balmy winter afternoon ensconced in your own private verandah. That was Rangniwas Palace hotel for me...not five star swank, but the homeliness & warmth of nothing less than a royal badi haveli rajasthani style, which welcomes its guests.with its traditional old world charm. Rangniwas palace hotel is a delightful nugget to be explored and savour its quietude in the middle of uptown Udaipur.. to top it all is the inobstrusive but immaculate hospitality of the owners and their staff. ...the rooms we stayed in were suite size with tall ceilings to keep the heat away, spotlessly clean rooms & functional modcons.. rooms on the other side of the lawn had jharokas (sit out balconies) on the upper floors, breakfast and dinner were preferred in the private verandah looking out on a small but well kept garden on days we were eating in...the travel desk facilities were top class and good value for money...Rangniwas is so conveniently located that most sightseeing options are just walking distance.. it was a wonderful experience to live and feel like nobility.albeit just for a few days...will definitely stay in rangniwas palace hotel when one visits udaipur again.

Room Tip: the rooms on the ground floor have large verandahs with a swing.. rooms on the uppe floors have jhar...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_pilgrim_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had a short stay for a couple of days at this amazing Heritage palace Hotel. I travelled along with my family & friends to Udaipur for a meeting. The place was full of old world charm, with a mix of green surroundings and a lovely pool. Rooms were spacious and had these Royal Jharokhas (sit out balconies).
All three rooms we booked had unique interiors & space. One of them had a large sit out Balcony with ample seating. We had a comfortable stay, next morning I cancelled my sightseeing plans to Nathdwara Temple.
I took an extended checkout and just relaxed in the green beautiful surroundings, chilled out in pool and made a small trip to local market for shopping. To my surprise it was my best half day spent in the city out of the whole week... great experience indeed.

Room Tip: Take balcony rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aviral S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Although we were on a backpacker budget, we decided to treat ourselves in Udaipur and this place was amazing. After a 15 hour "sleeper" bus from Agra this was the answer to our prayers!

The rooms are a good size with very comfortable beds and great large wooden cupboards. For us the best aspect was the private balcony where you can have breakfast and get the morning sun - awesome. There's also a pool where you can chill out after walking around town.

The staff were very helpful and met us from the station and we could check in early. They had some good suggestions of what to see and do too. We only stayed the one night but would have loved to stay for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zimdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Had a very comfortable stay. The room and verandah were nicely decorated with period furniture. The bathroom was modern. There is restaurant on the premises - the food was very good. The best part which needs special mention is that the owners (Royals!) made it a point to meet us and enquire about our stay etc. A wonderful experience of true Rajasthani hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler-O-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#67 of 163 in Udaipur
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#31 of 163 in Udaipur
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 163 in Udaipur
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#14 of 163 in Udaipur
778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 163 in Udaipur
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rangniwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangniwas Palace Hotel

Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £14 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rangniwas Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rangniwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rangniwas Palace
Rangniwas Palace Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing