We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We came by Rang Niwas by accident when looking for a place with a pool, and the manager and staff were so friendly that we decided to return the following day, and ended up staying for eight nights. The rooms are very comfortable and cleaned everyday (if you want), the gardens are gorgeous and so peaceful away from the buzz of the city, and the pool so fresh and clean. And a bargain too. Our favourite hotel so far, now halfway on our six month India trip. Well done!

Room Tip: We were in room 301 - the best of the budget rooms from what I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljonnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    133
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
84
104
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were coming from Sirdhi to delhi by car. Though we stayed in Udaipur one night while going to Sirdhi but didn't get time to see the city.We arrived city in the morning from Ahmedabad. We had no reservation in any hotel and asked a shopkeeper for a good hotel. The shop keeper gave us the address of Rangniwas.
We stayed for one day and one night. Location is too good. Ambiance is very pleasant .Rooms are clean and cozy. Hotel stuffs are good and most important is the owner. He is a real gentleman and very helpful.

Room Tip: Tourist can stay there for long
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhoola7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Vitaliano, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were desperate to find a hotel because we had no reservations and we were exhausted and it was late at night when we arrived. After trying the Sheraton, we were on our way to try getting a room in the Palace area. As we were asking for directions from an antique shop, we were told by the owner to check the hotel next door first. We were exhausted, so we gave it a shot. We got our rooms, small but homely. Beggars cant be choosers. We thought of putting up just for a night and then look for another place the next day. We ended staying there through our entire stay in Udaipur. The rooms were clean. Very reasonably priced. The food's average. The location's great. The atmosphere relaxed. The pool, clean but small. This property has great potential. The staff were courteous, especially the restaurant staff. The dogs especially the fat weenie dog lends a homely feel to the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolomonBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

- Located a stone's throw away from the 'City Palace', the USP of the hotel is that it is centrally located and close to most important tourist destinations in Udaipur (City Palace, Lake Pichola, Jag Mandir, Mansa Devi Mandir - ropeway, Vintage Car Museum)
- While it is an erstwhile palace converted into hotel, it is not as grand as other heritage 5 star properties in Udaipur. But then it falls in the budget hotel range and is absolute value for money (around Rs 2500/day).
- Each room is large enough with two double beds and can easily accommodate 2 couples. The bath tubs are also grand.

Best Experience:
- Room service was helpful even at 11 in night
- good value for money
- a decent swimming pool to chill

Worst Experience:
- The restaurant serves bland food and is completely avoidable. There are better food joints around the place, thanks to its prime location.
- Could do with some better maintenance and upgrading with times.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

we stayed at this palace for 1 night only, but the experience was very nice, swimming pool was very clean and good, ambience was good also, rooms were very basic but for the price was ok.
overall nice place to stay with your family and fiends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingitkhandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at Rangniwas for a weekend and we were amazed with the beautiful rooms they have. One really feels like in a small palace. The hotel is really clean and the personnel is very nice and helpful. Shame about the restaurant... even though you can have break in the charming balconies, the food is not so nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the old part of the hotel are huge and with beautiful decoration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuskaInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for 3 days at this beautiful heritage hotel. We loved it and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is very clean, the staff nice and friendly.
There's a lovely garden and pool. The rooms are decorated with old furniture and full of character. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms clean, although old fashioned.
The hotel is within walking distance of the main tourist attractions.
We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frangipani922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#39 of 156 in Udaipur
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#41 of 156 in Udaipur
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#68 of 156 in Udaipur
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#65 of 156 in Udaipur
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rangniwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangniwas Palace Hotel

Property: Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rangniwas Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rangniwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rangniwas Palace
Rangniwas Palace Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing