We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, But No Bargains Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful, But No Bargains Here”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Overall; This hotel has beautiful rooms but many of the so called "Lake View Rooms" have a view that is partially obstructed by the lovely trees that stand between the hotel and the lake. Keep in mind too that this hotel does not sit on Lake Pichola, the larger of the two lakes in Udaipur, and the one with the famous Lake Palace. It is located on Fateh Sagar Lake. Also, its a bit away from the action that is centered more around the old city nearer to Lake Pichola.

The place is well maintained to a high western standard and the entire staff is very attentive and helpful.

Rooms: Large beautiful rooms with flat screen TV. However several channels (English language) had no sound. Very comfortable beds! Small bathroom with shower but no tub. Plenty of hot water at all times. All was very clean. We stayed in room #111 at the very end of the hallway (and building) which sits next to the huge outdoor generator that keeps the property running when the power goes out. The humming was so strong that it vibrated the mattress if you pressed your head against it, though could not be detected with a pillow and earplugs. We slept fine.

Breakfast: Very good buffet with eggs to order, juices, cereal, yogurt, fruit, six Indian dishes, plus various breads and rolls. Plenty of excellent food for all tastes. Friendly and helpful waitstaff.

Restaurant; Way overpriced. Up to 50% more per dish than most good hotels. Excellent food and friendly staff.

Internet; Outrageously priced. 200 Indian Rupees (about $4.00 US) sold in thirty minute blocks which run continuously once you start. There is no logging off and then logging back on later to start the clock again. It took several staff members to finally explain and admit to this. The log on - log off - log on again concept is a difficult one to get an answer on at many hotels in India though each hotel does it one of only two ways. Always ask. It still amazes us that the more expensive the hotel the more outrageous the Wi-Fi charges are. We knew someone in town who ran a 400 Rupee per night guest house (that's about $8.00) which included free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Away from the far end of the hall, where the generator runs all night, and the views are a little be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank You for your review. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and your valuable feedback. Your feedback about the Room, Facility, Pricing of Food and Wi-Fi has been duly noted and discussed with the entire team for immediate corrective action.

Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional quality of service to all our guests, we regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. I would like to assure you that this is a one off incident and may i urge you to not let this be an indelible perception.

We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance, look forward to regaining faith and confidence in the brand and i hope will grant us an opportunity to serve you with renewed focus and enthusiasm.

Look forward to meet you during your next trip.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    293
    102
    43
    21
See reviews for
394
279
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Had a very pleasant stay for 2 nights, peaceful and relaxing, almost like a retreat. There was a communication error with booking and staff dealt with situation ASAP, in kindly manner. Location nice. Udaipur is wonderful, can't believe it's our first time staying there. Romm clean, found bed very comfortable. Woke up with a smile on my face. I was concerned over cost as i generally travel on a buget but this was anniversary so decide to splurge. Glad I did we enjoyed both hotel and Udaipur.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikingindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Noisy rooms, you can hear people talking, doors banging, at all hours. The rooms smell very strongly of commercial cleaners. They charge an extra $12.50 or so per day PER DEVICE if you want access to the internet. I found the front desk staff very boot faced, heard several people complaining about their bills at checkout. The hotel doesn't use a centralized tipping system so we found we needed to call down for an unusually large number of things more bottled water, a heater, more blankets, fresh towels after the shower leaked etc. and felt staff were angling for tips. Plus, it's not on the main lake, Lake Pichola, which is the really beautiful one, and you cannot walk anywhere at all from this hotel. I'd honestly go out of my way NOT to stay here. You can do much better for the money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boopie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank You for your review. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and your valuable feedback. Your feedback about the Room, bathroom, Facility, Pricing of Wi-Fi and customer service has been duly noted and discussed with the entire team for immediate corrective action.

Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional quality of service to all our guests, we regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. I would like to assure you that this is a one off incident and may i urge you to not let this be an indelible perception.

We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance, look forward to regaining faith and confidence in the brand and i hope will grant us an opportunity to serve you with renewed focus and enthusiasm.

Look forward to meet you during your next trip.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had great time at The Lalit Laxmi villas in udaipur. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. We had a very warm welcome on our arrival. We were very well looked after. Very clean hotel, excellent food (lot of variates), rooms are very comfy, clean and spacious. Nice view from room. Will highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saloni1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel is ok with nice rooms... food options were limited but that was probably because of off season...nice view of the lake...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank You for your review. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and your valuable feedback. Your feedback about the limited choices in menu has been duly noted and discussed with the entire team for immediate corrective action.

Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional quality of service to all our guests, we regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. I would like to assure you that this is a one off incident and may i urge you to not let this be an indelible perception.

The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your feedback and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Very good place to stay. Good breakfast spread. You will be treated warmly at the hotel.
Overall great experience. Would defi stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beetrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you very much for your feedback. It’s heartening to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as we have enjoyed having you stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation will go a long way in motivating us to strive harder.

Once again thank you very much and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

A good weekend getaway...especially if you are looking for a little break from routine and yet not in a mood to splurge too much... room service can be worked upon a little more...
buffets are amazing.... food great... staff very helpful and warm....Not too many activities on the premises but a good experience of stay.. good surroundings, approach roads, etc

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4P_C4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank You for your review. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and your valuable feedback. Your feedback about the room service has been duly noted and discussed with the entire team for immediate corrective action.

Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional quality of service to all our guests, we regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. I would like to assure you that this is a one off incident and may i urge you to not let this be an indelible perception.

The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your feedback and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur

Property: The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Address: The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur Fateh Sagar Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#9 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing