We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property, okay staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Ranked #14 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Earth City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing property, okay staff”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Lalit Laxmi Vilas is located on top of a hill overlooking the Udaipur valley. The properly is an extremely well maintained palatial building, which used to serve as a guest house for colonial British officers. The walls, floors, paintings and decorations are all marvellous. There's even a massive 24ct gold painting in one of the presidential suites.

That said, we stayed in a valley view room. It was a little misty and cold when we visited, so the view and the climate was beautiful. One can stroll around the estate where the hotel is situated and soak it all in, in the beautiful gardens.

The staff are nice and happy to help, but it somehow felt that they weren't very well trained, especially when compared to the staff at the Trident in Jaipur where we had stayed the day prior. The food is good, but nothing to rave about.

Overall, an amazing property in an amazing location.

Room Tip: Ask for the valley view room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    290
    100
    43
    21
See reviews for
383
276
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The fort location is around 10 minutes drive from the Railway station and 30 minutes from the airport. The resort has around 55 rooms and have a good view of Fateh Sagar Lake from the front rooms. We had a welcome with dancing horse which was incredible. We were there for our conference & had a great experience, right from the stay, food, conference facility .They have a good restaurant. The food was amazing and could not expect anything better than this. The rooms are spacious . Conference room was arranged with Maharaja style seating which really bring in the Rajasthani touch. Overall rating for this place is 10 out of 10 on my personal experience

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanju2067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great staff, good rooms and room service, great location. A good experience overall. The restraunt service was a bit slow though, which was a bit of a dampner. Really liked the lake view from my window and the folk music and dance in the evening. Good experience over all.

Room Tip: Taking a room with the view of the lake is totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mausam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback about slow service in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Perched on a hill top overlooking the fatesagar lake this is a premium property. Rooms are large and luxurious. Good sleep is guaranteed. Evening entertainment like dancing horse at the entrance and puppet show adds to the charm. Few good restaurants like 1559 AD is within a km away. Staff is courteous.

What prevents the property from leaving an everlasting impression in the mind are few things.

As someone who stays frequently in high end property; i found the staff making no attempts to understand your needs. This is unlike a Taj where relationship is build. You carry great memories of not just the building and lawns but the people who go out of way to make your stay special. Like charming chefs who enquire about how you are finding the food and what you would like to have. All this makes a difference in a family vacation. This feeling is missing in this property.

The big let down is the 24x7 restaurant called Padmini. The food is extremely overpriced and nothing to write home about. To make matter worse portion size is small and you walk out with wallet significantly lighter and stomach empty. You should plan your lunch/dinner outside. You will not only save money but have a great experience. Thankfully the hotel frontdesk helped me with booking some good place for my dinner- Ambrai and 1559 AD. There is another open air restaurant in the property which I didnot try due to my experience with their restaurant Padmini. Breakfast at Padmini is like other 5 star properties. Good breakfast. Restaurant space is also small and I had to wait to get my breakfast table. The tea was served long after I finished my breakfast after multiple reminders.

The front part of the property has a wonderful sunset point with backpiper music at sunset.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bhubonpothik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

We have noted your feedback about Food and Services and have have discussed in detail in an appropriate forum for immediate remedial action. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your feedback and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel amenities, comfort factor, food quality ....all these are excellent at Lalit Laxmi Vilas..just as they are supposed to be at such premier hotel. What wins my "Excellent" rating is the hospitality the staff provides to their guests. My 5-yr old daugher got a minor scratch while she was playing in the room, we called for the first aid kit...as soon as we called, the hotel staff not only promptly bought the first-aid but also applied the bandage and first aid. Ria and Aditya at front desk and Mukesh Kumar were exceptionally good. These people know how to serve the guest and make them feel cared.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerewq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests. The entire team joins me in thanking you for your kinds words about the services and our team mates

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

With best regards

Bhaskaran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Yes, don't expect to be a grand Palace turned hotel with great historical value. It was constructed in 1911 by His Highness Maharana Fateh Singh. Its a modern hotel with a good touch of heritage art, overlooking Fateh Sagar Lake. We visited the place with Family recently and had a pleasant stay. The staff is very humble and helpful. We traveled with two infants, and staff helped us greatly in taking care of the kids. Be it preparing baby food, or sterilizing feeding bottles. What more, the staff even entertained the babies as we had our meal. That was really incredible. In terms of facilities, the hotel lacks a few things like Swimming pool and Spa.Though, I hear they have plans to renovate the hotel and add these facilities soon. The food is good, but lacks variety. Also, one may find it expensive for the taste and quantity. The rooms are spacious and clean. We picked a lake view room and it offers a very good view of the Fateh Sagar lake. Overall, we were happy to choose this place and would recommend it for Family vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view room at Level 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reetzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were ecstatic to be upgraded to the Palace Suite by Resident Manager Mr. Bhaskaran T, when we checked in. A Pineapple Cream Cake, Red Wine and a Rose Basket awaited us in the Suite. We shall always cherish the memory of our 20th Anniversary celebration as The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace family ensured it was a magical experience. Ms. Vidisha from the Front Desk was most helpful in planning our itinerary. Sous Chef Mayank Istwal, despite his hectic schedule, took time to patiently explain step-by-step the secret of his exquisite flaky Danish pastry!
The dancing horse, the folk dancers and the Bagpiper Band lent a wonderful flavour of the rich Rajasthani culture! Enjoying our morning cup of coffee on the lawns overlooking the panoramic view of the Fateh Sagar Lake against the backdrop of the Aravalli Hills with the Monsoon Palace atop was a scene that even the most chic urban café cannot replicate. Thank you and we hope to come back again and again and again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank You for your review. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
bhaskarant@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,933 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 156 in Udaipur
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur

Property: The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Address: The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur Fateh Sagar Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#9 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing