We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent choice, but overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent choice, but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Rooms are spotlessly clean, but basic. Some definitely have better lake views than others! For Rs1990, they were slightly overpriced. Rooftop restaurant has gorgeous views and decent food. The managers are very efficient, but I felt that they lacked warmth.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngbutwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,379
    687
    116
    24
    10
See reviews for
495
950
161
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Everything about this hotel was excellent, from the pre-trip exchange of e-mails to the car and driver they organised for us to visit the Monsoon palace. Our room was spacious, with a roof terrace overlooking the lake, and very comfortable. We arrived early, off the overnight train from Delhi, and by the time we had eaten breakfast our room was ready for us. The restaurant offers a choice of roof terrace with lake views or indoors. The food was tasty and reasonably priced as were the beers.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed at the Jaiwana Havali in January and had a wonderful experience. Not only was the room beautiful, the staff very nice, but the view was outstanding. We had our own roof terrace with the most gorgeous view of the lake. The location of the Havali is also outstanding. Great value for the money. We are hoping to come back! Charlotte and Michael, Denmark/USA

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottekro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

The level of service surpass our expectation. The restaurant on the rooftop served superb food at a reasonable cost and a beautiful ambiance overlooking the river with palaces lit up. Celebrated my 61st birthday at this restaurant. The hotel took care of getting us a driver to take us to Jodphur and the driver recommended a great restaurant along the way to have lunch. We were only going to stay two nights but decided to stay another night because of the accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindag386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viroflay, 78
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We spent nights in this hotel in February. Someone came to collect us in taxi at the airport of Udaipur, which was very comfortable. Then the room we were given (room 21) was a corner room, with a beautiful on the lake. The beds were clean and very comfortable, the bathroom was spick and span, The rooms might be a bit noisy because of the fact that they are on the shore of the lake and the hotel is close tot he temple, so bring earplugs to make sure you sleep sound. The room was approximately 30 euros a night for 2 (payable by credit card) and it was really worth it, The owners of the hotels are really nice and you shouldn't hesistate to ask them anything you need since they'll always do their best to help you. We really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it heartily!
The restaurant at the top is all right, even though, we found the restaurant of the Jagat Niwas, next door much better (but it was also more expensive).
One more detail : the hotel organised for us a day trip to Ranakpur and Kumbalgar for 1690 rupees (we were 4 of us). It was all right, we got to Kumbalggar in 2hours (because of the road). You have to know though that in between the two sites, the driver will stop you at a tourist restaurant (a thali place where you get as much food as you want for 250 rupees, which is quite expensive, all the more since there was not much food left when we arrived and we were not really hungry!) We were told afterwards that we could have refused to stop, but we had not thought about it then! Otherwise, it was fine!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mathyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
379 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

The website is a bit misleading as it only shows one price for double rooms and ours looked nothing like the pictures. It was a very basic, small room but there was plenty of hot water and it was clean. We had reserved a table for dinner by email in advance but were told we couldn’t sit outside, so cancelled and dined elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We visited Udaipur in October 2010 and chose to stay at Jaiwana Haveli after reading several online reviews giving it a high rating on several parameters.

Though the hotel was located in a place where one can see the lake from the window of the room, the area around the hotel was quite congested and one had to walk a bit before getting any transport. The hotel staff was quite courteous and well spoken. We were given a lake facing room as we requested. It was surprising to see so many foreigners in the hotel and the locality as well.

The hotel has a great roof top restaurant with lake view offering various Indian delicacies. However, it is a little overpriced. The best thing would be to visit the roof top for a dinner once during your stay for the sheer experience. However, in the area nearby, almost all the hotels have a roof top restaurant facing the lake and one can try different options for eating.

The major drawback of the hotel was its rooms! The rooms were quite small and basic. The linen. pillow etc werent that comfortable and one could feel a bit suffocated in the rooms. For this sole reason only we left the hotel after 2 days and chose another hotel for the rest 3 days of our trip. The hotel staff was quite gentle to take a feedback from us and charged us for 2 days only.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_quintessential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Property: Jaiwana Haveli
Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing