We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Lovely hotel and lovely staff. We booked a corner room with balcony (I think it was Room #43), which was on the top floor of their second building. We had an amazing view from the room, and also had an enormous balcony to ourselves. We even had a yoga class up on the floor there.

The hotel is in a great location, close to the City Palace and all the tourist comforts of Udaipur.

The Manager, Mr Yash, was very helpful and had a dry sense of humour, which we really appreciated. He even arranged a car for us after we had left the hotel to stay elsewhere (we would have rathered stay at Jaiwana Haveli but we had already booked). We couldn't fault any of the other staff either, all were courteous and prompt.

Their rooftop restaurant was also excellent, we had dinner there one night and breakfast on two nights. The only caution - You should be advised that there is no lift, so if going up several flights of stairs is a problem for you, perhaps you should choose another hotel. Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel for everyone. It is a great deal!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with balcony - room 43 is amazing (but has only a double bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbgal1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,401
    696
    119
    25
    11
See reviews for
510
958
163
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The hotel is located in very good location; walking distance to the market, the lake, the City palace, and more. There are many nice shops and restaurants around the hotel, so very easy access to everything. The room is spacious, but a little bit less 'luxury' that we saw on the website. However, the room is considered very comfortable and clean. We had a great time staying there. The staffs are very friendly and professionally helpful :D

Room Tip: Staying with the lake front room would give you a nice view of Pichola Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thommythom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This was not our first trip to Udaipur but for various reasons we had to look for a different hotel this time. It was 4 of us traveling that included our mom who is a senior citizen and we were hoping that she would be comfortable. We wanted our hotel to be close to the City Palace, having a lake view, neat, clean and provided good service. We chose Jaiwana Haweli cause it met the first two requirements and we found favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and we were hoping that we would not be disappointed but we were FAAAARRRR from so.
Yash, the STAR of the hotel, runs the place in the most professional way. The roof top restaurant is a total treat… you are spoilt for views… .you could seat facing the City Palace or the Jag Mandir or the monsoon palace, the Lake palace, take your pick. The entire staff is more than courteous. Every one went out of their way to be of assistance. Though they have a set menu, we were served typical Rajasthani meals on request which were just tooo divine.
The rooms are basic yet lovely, nothing fancy but meet a simple travelers needs. Most importantly the room was clean and neat. We had a bit of a problem with supply of hot water on the very first day but the problem was resolved very promptly. Rooms on the 3rd floor would give a better view of the lake than those on the 2nd floor if that’s important to you. The corner rooms would hold the best view. They have just a couple of small rooms perfect for a single traveler, very well decorated and basic. Since we arrived well before our check in time we were provided one such room to freshen up and take off for our first day of sight seeing. We much appreciated this gesture.
A big thumbs up to Yash and his team! Many thanks for making our trip to Udaipur a memorable one. Would recommend Jaiwana Haweli to any one any time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavazKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

On our first trip to India we carefully looked at the reviews on Tripadvisor before selecting the places we stayed in and mostly we were very happy with our choices although we were slightly disappointed with some features of our 3 night stay at Jaiwana Haveli.

Good points - The hotel is really well located very close to the City Palace and you could walk everywhere to the main spots. The view from the rooftop terrace is magical

Our room on the corner of the 2nd floor was clean and comfortable

All the staff were very friendly (especially Lalu one of the waiters who was always smiling and happy) and the food in the roof top restaurant was good and not too expensive

We had to leave at 5.45 am and were woken at 5 am with a lovely tray of tea, brought by Lalu which was much appreciated.

Not so Good Points – our room (No. 24) looked a bit tired and need some refurbishment

The Air conditioner in room 24 was quite old and hardly cooled the room

There was a mesh panel in the bathroom which meant that noise from outside the room could be heard when we were inside the room.

Compared to the other 6 rooms we stayed at during our visit to India, the room in the Jaiwana Haveli was of a lower standard which is a big disappointment considering how highly rated the Jaiwana seems to be by other guests.

Because of the location and views from the restaurant we would give the Jaiwana an overall a rating of 4 out of 5 based although the rooms were more like a 3 out of 5 at best.

A great place to eat is the Ambrai restaurant which is part of Hotel Ameti - the Ambrai is a lawn restaurant by the edge of the lake. You can also try the Jagwat Niwas Palace restaurant - whihc is a sprawling white complex by the edge of the lake, adjoining the City Palace complex.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebirdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Jaiwana Haveli for 1 night and had an awesome experience. The owners who are 2 brothers are very friendly and courteous. The hotel is very well maintained and offers an excellent view of the lake palace from its terrace restaurant. The restaurant offers good food and the staff is very courteous. The location of the hotel is good with many attractions just at a walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

As the manager himself states in response to an earlier review on this thread, the Jaiwana Haveli is a basic hotel. Therefore, it's hard to understand why so many people get so excited about it.

Good Points:
1 Location and, therefore, views. These are fantastic and, if you can secure an outside table in the restaurant, provide an inspiring focal point as you eat your cardboard toast for breakfast.
2 Location again - it's easy to move around the city on foot from here.
3 Restaurant Wait Staff - lovely men doing a great job and by far the friendliest people in the hotel. They also work 10 times harder than anyone else in the Haveli!

Poor Points:
1 Cleanliness. Our room was cleaned every 2nd or 3rd day despite following the instructions given at check-in ie hand in your room key in the morning if you want housekeeping's attention. We did but it made no difference and eventually had to ask for clean towels. We were told that it was our fault for coming back before 5pm.
2 Food. Mediocre and bland - the "authentic taste of Rajasthan" has been watered down significantly for the tourist trade and suffers as a result. The toast was pretty awful, too, and everything is of the cheapest quality, especially the jam. Better to go to the roof top restaurants you can see on the hotels leading up to the ghat on the opposite banks. That way you can enjoy a fantastic dinner and see both the Lake and City Palaces lit up at night.
3 Reception Staff - not very friendly or helpful and rather rude at times eg answering the phone in the middle of dealing with you or not passing on messages then shrugging it off. The lack of empathy when compared with the waiters in the restaurant is stunning - it's as if you're in a different hotel!
4 Very basic amenities. The bathrooms are functional and no more than that while the rooms lack charm and appeal. Sheets and pillow cases are grubby (though smell clean) and as the housekeeping is sporadic and lacklustre, the rooms appear untidy and dowdy.

Overall
I'm still mystified as to why so many people love it. From our experience, location sells the place but with so many others offering the same views, and considering the haphazard cleaning and disappointing food, I can see no reason to go back or to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors unless you like having everyone in the hotel next door watch your every mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#10 of 156 in Udaipur
760 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 156 in Udaipur
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Property: Jaiwana Haveli
Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing