We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great budget stay”
Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

To the previous reviewer who wondered why everyone was raving about this place: after my stay, they e-mailed a link to TripAdvisor requesting a review. I don't mean to imply there's something wrong with that, but it could have an influence on the TA standings that people who might not ordinarily have posted a review do so.

We stayed in room 31, a corner room, that had a beautiful view. I believe it's the same room that's pictured on their website, and it doesn't quite live up to the beauty of that picture. However, it's very clean with a modern bathroom and there are spaces to put things on. The beds are a bit hard.This was the hotel on our trip where we spent the least, so I set my expectations accordingly and was not disappointed.

The rooftop restaurant is really what it's all about. Great view, great food and friendly service. We especially enjoyed the banana pakoras, which make a great dessert to share.

In summary, if you think from reading the reviews here that you've stumbled onto a place with 5-star luxury at 1-star prices, then you will be very disappointed. It's more like 3-star comfort, with friendly service and a great view. If you have the right expectations, you will love it.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank mols2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,302)
There are newer reviews for Jaiwana Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,439 - 1,445 of 2,302 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Great hotel. Great location. Fabulous views from the rooftop. Food was excellent. I really can't fault this hotel. I really liked the fact that we didn't have to tip every person, every time a service was offered. One tip was put into a communal box at the end of our stay, to be divided between all staff.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view. We stayed on the third floor which was excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisie1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Our family of 5 stayed 3 nights at Jaiwana and from the beginning to the end we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very kind and attentive to our needs. We could not fault the service, the cleanliness and of course the views are amazing. The location is excellent as it is in walking distance from the main tourist attactions such as city palace and the boat ride around the lake. Breakfast on the rooftop is a must, we enjoyed our food overlooking the lake and the staff are very friendly. The only improvement would be the coffee but we did find some good coffee at Govinda's cafe which is located close to the City Palace.

One of the highlights of our stay was a restaurant Yash recommended to us called Ambrai, located right on the water overlooking the Lake Palace. It is about a 5 minute tuk tuk ride to get there or you can walk as long as you can find it ( we had to ask a couple of people on the way). At nighttime it is a very beautiful spot to eat and we enjoyed the Indian food and the views so much we went back on our last night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vergis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stay here for 3 nights and really enjoyed the views of the lake at breakfast and at sunset. The two waiters Lalu & Gopi are most helpful - they always take the time to chat and smile...and remember your drink preference - it is quite a personal touch and the service I found was outstanding.

This afternoon, I had a dozen shopping bags and somebody from the hotel offered to help me with them - unprompted. I was just amazed at how much attention is in the details.

The room was very clean with a very modern bathroom, a comfortable bed. Not much more you can ask for. The atmosphere in the hotel is very comfortable and I felt very at home. Wifi is also available which is an absolute must.

The hotel is located centrally and transport is readily available...I really enjoyed Udaipur and Lalu, you are the best!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed here for a night only during our 10 day tour of rajasthan. The hotel is situated behind a well known Jagdish temple and very close to the city palace. Hence, locating the hotel is not very difficult. As mentioned by other reviewers, the view from the roof-top restaurant is excellent. It is even better at night when the lights come on at the palace and other luxury hotels on the lake. The rooms and toilet are clean and hygenic and no complaints on the service as well. The view from the rooms are decent and I believe the corner rooms have the best view. We had requested for a corner room at the time of booking but was cordially refused on the grounds that the rooms continue to be occupied. Strange but we didn't create much fuss due to the length of our stay (just one night).The restaurant serves decent food and though the service is a bit slow but that can be ignored if you wish to enjoy the view from the restaurant. I can definitely recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Go for corner rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adsalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The location of this guest house is perfect for a stay in Udaipur. 5 minutes walk to the city palace and the Jagdish temple. 

The rooftop restaurant has stunning views over the lake and the Lake Palace Hotel. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the roof terrace - a perfect start to a relaxing day in Udaipur. The breakfast menu had a good choice - we particularly enjoyed the Namaste Breakfast. 

The staff are very helpful and on check in we were given a warm welcome with a good intro to the city and the key sights to see. Nothing was too much trouble and we were given the assistance we needed in booking the next stage of our trip. 

We stayed in one of the newer recently refurbished rooms which was quiet and comfortable. There was even a glimpse of the lake from the windows and the window seat. The wi fi seemed to work okay and there is as all computer room for those that need it. 

Overall this is a very good choice for a comfortable place to stay in the area. We would highly recommend this guest house. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a pleasant stay. Neat room. Nice view (decent part of the lake). The restaurant had good food and a fabulous view of the lake. Well located, walking distance from many tourist spots. They even had an EPL lounge which we got to see only after we checked out. Would be an ideal place to watch football matches as a group, if there is something interesting during your stay.

Warning: There is no lift and narrow stairs, so it is not recommended for elderly people. Though this is true about most of the places in that area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gautam_hazari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 163 in Udaipur
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,729 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £35 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing