We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

On the strength of previous TA reviews, we booked 2 rooms for the 4 of us for our 2 nights in Udaipur and we were not disappointed. Our rooms were basic but quite clean and comfortable and our corner room had great views over the lake.

Yash is the consummate host, ensuring his patrons' comfort and offering excellent advice on local entertainment and attractions. The cultural show was well worth the money but get there early for a good seat. Yash also organised a half day tour for us at a very reasonable price and generously allowed us the TV Room & bathroom facilities to store our luggage and kill time for 12 hours as we waited for our late night train to Agra.

Be wary of the local rickshaw drivers though - I had pre-arranged 2 rickshaws to take the 4 of us and our luggage to the station at INR100 per rickshaw. When I arrived by myself in the second (slower) rickshaw, I discovered that the first driver had insisted on INR300 and my young companions had felt unable to challenge this and had paid up before I got there.

Room Tip: The higher the corner room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quokka_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guests,
It's been a pleasure to be of service to you. We thank you for writing such a splendid review for us.
We are glad to know that you found our standard rooms to be basic, clean and comfortable, this has been our endeavor always. You have been very kind with your generous praise of our service and facilities. We would love to welcome you again with us and assure you of our best attention at all times. Wish you a wonderful Year!
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    704
    122
    25
    11
See reviews for
517
973
164
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

A stunning rooftop restaurant with good reasonably-priced food, an awesome deluxe room with a great view (book early!), and the friendliest most helpful staff! Flawless. Clean bathroom, hot water. We arranged for a morning walking tour with Ashkay: we now consider him to be a friend and also had us show us around the markets the next day. The hotel had a helpful list of recommended activities and will assist you in everything. You'll love it hear. I found it on tripadvisor myself.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeludelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for writing such an excellent feedback for us. Your comments are highly inspiring. We are glad to know that you had a memorable experience with us and found us a good value.
Akshay is delighted to learn of your gracious praise, he promises to keep up the good work. We would love to welcome you again with us and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Wish you a fabulous Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I like mid-range competitively priced hotels in best possible location. This is all of that. Great spot in Udaipur, near the City Palace/Jagdish temple. Amazing view from the rooftop/restaurant and breakfast room. Spotless, comfortable rooms, simply furnished. SUPER friendly staff, very helpful and great advice. I stayed there as part of a wedding group. I'm 43, they late 20s, all agreed best place ever. GREAT value. Only drawback is quick showers, 25 litre in room tank but recharges fast. Cannot reccomend this highly enough and I travel often and am picky. Staying here really made my Indian holiday special.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus_s_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for writing such a glowing review for us. It was a delight to be of service to you. We are happy to learn that your stay with us was a memorable one. Your comments are highly inspiring and have been a morale booster for our team. It would be our pleasure to serve you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have been staying four days in this hotel and everything was really pleasant.
The staff is very welcoming and friendly, it's centrally located and close to all the main attractions, there are probably the most beautiful views over Lake Pichola and our room, even we booked a standard double was cleaned up every single day.
Morning breakfast was included on the price and was enjoyable on the sunny terrace.
We also had dinner every night at Jaiwana's cause there was no point to go somewhere else (and not because we are lazy!!!).
Definitely an excellent choice in Udaipur!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing such an excellent review for us. We value your feedback and are thrilled to learn that this comes from a top contributor like yourselves. We are glad to know that you found your stay a pleasant one. You encouraging words regarding our accommodation, service and food
are highly inspiring. We would love to welcome you again with us.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at Jaiwana Haveli for two nights while in Udaipur and wish we could have stayed longer. Udaipur and Jaiwana were almost a mirage after several long days on the road. We felt comfortable there immediately - dropped our bags in our room and headed up to the rooftop terrace restaurant for a cold kingfisher and some lunch. You can see the whole city from the location right on Lake Pichola, from the City Palace and Jagdish Temple on the left, to the Monsoon Palace high up on a mountain off to the right, which is lit at night and looks as if it is floating in the night sky.

The food was quite good and we had several meals up on the roof. Perfect place to look out and plan your day. We had both Indian dishes and more continental style food. The curries, lassi (fruit/yogurt smoothies), and pancakes were all very good. Try the butter naan, chicken curries, paneer palak, jeera rice. The banana chocolate pancake was surprisingly good and more of a french style crepe.

Yash, the owner, was very attentive both before our arrival via email, and during our stay. He and his brother were extremely helpful in giving us recommendations for getting around. The desk staff was also fluent in English and quite helpful, giving us a map of Udaipur and orienting us to the layout of the town and important sights. We hadn't booked early enough to get a coveted corner lake view room, but he did a little shuffling and made it happen for one night - amazing views and lots of sun. The second night, we moved to another, non-corner room on the 2nd floor and still had good light and a bit of a lake view. The rooms are simple but clean, with white marble floors and tile bathrooms. It can get a little chilly at night in the winter, but extra heavy blankets were put out in our room and I slept comfortably. Ranks #5 in Udaipur on TripAdvisor, behind only ultra high-end Taj, Oberoi, Leela that cost 10x more. It's a small, hotel so book early if you want the best rooms!

Room Tip: Book early if you want the best rooms, which are on the corner facing the lake. Tons of sun and gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Benjamin,
We thank you for taking time out to review us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the accommodation, food and service to be of good value. Your kind words are a great motivation for all of us. We would love to welcome you again with us and assure you of our best attention at all times. Wish you a great Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is an extremely well managed hotel. We stayed 6 nights arriving after 40 hours travelling, no sleep and our luggage left in Singapore and it was like arriving at one big soothing cuddle. We had booked 7 months ahead and secured room 43 which lived up to its legendary status. The room was large with a large terrace and an immaculate modern bathroom. Furniture is sparse which suits the decor of the room and the bed huge and comfortable. One wall is a window with magnificent views of the Lake which seems like the magic kingdom.
It is on the 3rd floor, the steps up are steep and there can be no lift as it is a listed building. For me it was a bit of a challenge but worth it.
The restaurant is in the main block and 4 floors up equally steep stairs. Everyone was very helpful, bringing extra pillows, beer, getting laundry done in 10 hours (essential till the luggage came), arranging taxis to and from the airport and a trip the Rankapur and Kumbalgarh and breakfast in a bag for when we had to leave at 5.30am. The only slight drawback in the whole experience was the stairs which was a small price for being able to watch the sunset each evening from our window (me) or terrace (beloved).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themaevequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking out time to review us. We value your feedback. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and had a memorable time with us. You have been very kind with your appraisal of our accommodation, food and service. We would love to be of service to you again. You are heartily welcome at Jaiwana haveli for future visits. Wish you a great Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed here with my daughter on a short 3 day visit.
The hotel has a great location and fabulous views with a friendly owner and staff . The room we stayed in was small but the size didn't really matter as when we were in the hotel we spent time on the terrace with a pot of chai
We both would love to return for longer!.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing us. Your comments are valuable to us and we feel encouraged to keep up the good work. We would love to welcome you again with us. We assure you of our best attention at all times. Wish you a pleasant Year ahead!
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 161 in Udaipur
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 161 in Udaipur
1,360 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Property: Jaiwana Haveli
Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing