We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and view but below average in most other regards!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,331 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11,314 helpful votes
“Great location and view but below average in most other regards!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at Jaiwana Haveli late last year for a couple of nights and found this hotel decent but not living up to the expectations we had for it based upon past TA reviews. We did greatly enjoy the location, view of the lake and the rooftop dinner but everything else was just not good enough for the 2362rupee (US$44) nightly rate.


Pros
Email reservation requests were handled timely.

Hotel arranged taxi pick-up service from the airport. Driver was polite, didn't try to sell us tours and just allowed us to relax on our way to the hotel - perfect!

Excellent lake views, couldn't ask for better from the rooms as well as the upstairs restaurant.

Dinner at the rooftop restaurant was very good - one of the few meals we recommend for visitors in Udaipur and a place we would return to even if we would have little interest in staying in this hotel again.

Wifi available but was regularly very slow on rooftop and room, worked well in the lobby. One evening, it was working well in our room, another it didn't work at all.

Beds comfort was ok, we slept pretty good enough although we had two single beds pushed together instead of a proper double bed.

Room came with a TV although we didn't watch so can't comment on English channel availability.

Bathroom water pressure was fine, plenty of warm water and shower drained ok.


Cons
Room preparation was very late: We arrived 4 hours early and were told to return at 11.30am for check-in. No problem. We returned and were met with a series of '5 more minutes' for the next hour and fifteen minutes while we waited in the lobby for our keys. It would have been fine to just have told us that they needed another hour to finish preparing the room instead of leaving us waiting this long for our keys. They must know that nobody likes to be left waiting like this. Very poorly handled by staff, something they could so easily have done better.

Breakfast was very poor. While dinner was very good the breakfast we had was probably the worst we experienced during this trip to India. We had a banana pancake, which came out as an unripe banana wrapped in undercooked crepe with no honey or syrup. This was basically inedible and surprising considering how good the dinner was here in the evening.

Room decor were minimal and room quality was below average for the rate charged. While the view of the lake was very good, the room itself was basic with little effort given create a nicer quality room or even an authentic haveli ambiance or experience. Bleach white walls, ragged window curtains, low-cost closet and cabinet made up the room. Two single beds had been pushed together instead of a double mattress. Decor was limited to two tiny pictures hanging above the beds, a small table next to the windows and the curved shape of the window head. This is fine for a cheap hostel but not a place charging just shy of US$50 a night and calling itself a traditional haveli.

Room walls are quite thin, we were awakened by noisy neighbors a couple times during our stay so might be best to bring ear plugs.

Bathroom needs to be brought up to standard. Ours was of a very simple design, no division between commode and shower and no place for toiletries. A very simply wall bracket should be installed to allow guests to put your soap, shampoo and other toiletries somewhere convenient instead of on the floor or comode. Again, this is something you sort of expect hotels to provide yet it was lacking in our bathroom.

Limited electric outlets, which are the old fashioned variety. You'll need older Indian adapter. Also, there was no safe in the room, wifi was spotty and slow when it did work. Needed to go down to lobby to check email properly.

Onward Transporation was late picking us up, resulting in rushed visits to Kumbalgarh and Ranakpur in route to Jodhpur.

Overall, we loved the views, great location and the rooftop dinner meal but they were getting too many things wrong during our stay at Jaiwana Haveli and simply failed to meet our expectations for the hotel price charged during our stay. Based upon our experience, its difficult to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Regardless of our opinion of Jaiwana Haveli, it does seem to be a very popular place to stay so best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for taking time out to write a detailed review for us and posting nice pictures. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. We have noted all your suggestions and will work upon improving the facilities so that we are able to offer a memorable stay to seasoned travelers like yourselves.
Wish you a great Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,379
    689
    118
    24
    10
See reviews for
497
951
161
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Very good location and excellent service with very warm people, the stay at Jaiwana was very comfortable. its very close to Lake Pichola and people are very friendly, always serving you with a smile. :) Stayed for 3 nights. Got to stay on 3rd floor on the last night with a lake view. However I still recommend the Corner room. I believe that has a better lake view. Nonetheless, the Roof top restaurant great makes up for it. Very good view and excellent ambience! Simply loved it. Highly recommended for a great stay in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Corner room should have a beautiful view of Lake Pichola. Night sight of lake is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuradha_Kotekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for your generous praise. We value your feedback. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and have happy memories of it. We feel immensely motivated by your kind remarks. We would love to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Staff was very supporive, Welcoming with traditional Rajasthani style.
Owner of hotel also so supportive,helpful & courteous.
Room was littel cozy but view was excellent. Roof top restaurant is with stunning view & nice food quality. Even if you are not staying at this hotel you should try the food at roof top restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Manishkumar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for a glowing review and high recommendation. We are humbled by your observation of our accommodation and service. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you. We feel positively energized to do our best with your inspiration. We would love to welcome you again.
Good wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Clean, comfortable and very friendly/helpful staff (manager helped us find a great local artist for buying pictures). Spectacular views from the rooftop overlooking Lake Pichola. Simple rooms. Good breakfast. All in all excellent value. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewk120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for taking time out to review us and sharing your experience with others on TA. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the accommodation, food, service and value. Your kind words and recommendation are highly encouraging for us. We would love to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I recently spent 3 nights in Jaiwana Haveli in Udaipur, and my only regret is that I couldn't have stayed longer.

The room was clean, comfortable, and had a wonderful view of the lake from one window (the other window - not such a great view; it was of a rooftop with a clothesline & empty wine/beer bottles). I actually had control over the hot water, which was better than almost any other hotel I stayed in while in India.

The staff was exceptionally polite & helpful, and always went out of their way to help me with whatever I needed/wanted.

The hotel is located in a nice part of town - very close to shopping, cultural attractions, and that beautiful lake.

I would heartily recommend a stay here - regardless of whether you get a lake view or not, the hotel is well worth the $, and a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for taking time out to review us. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hospitality at JH and had a memorable experience. Your comments about our accommodation, service, location and value are a great source of inspiration and make us strive to deliver the best. We wish you a great Year ahead and would love to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Great hotel,
Comfortable bright room with a lake view,
Fantastic loction,
Lovely friendly staff,
Very good food in the restaurant.
Nothing to not like brilliant stay.
Lovely brothers whom run the place, picked us up fro train station, it was too early to check in but still showed us to a shower room & provided clean towels. Tv room with PS3 unfortunately my son did not have time to play but it was available should he want.
Free wifi.
Great 5 star

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for an excellent review and rating us highly. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable overall stay and have good memories of the time spent with us. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and interacting with you and your son..:)). Your kind words and encouragement is sure to take us miles. We would love to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockholm
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I was tossing up between staying at this hotel or Jas Niwas, where I had stayed in the past. I chose this hotel based on the reviews here and with the wrong idea that there were many lake facing rooms.

When we arrived to learn there were no lake facing rooms I was dissapointed, as I wanted to show my husband the great views of the lake that I'd experienced in the past. However, the management were very professional and friendly as were the staff.

They have CCTV cameras so you can feel safe with your things. The staff in the restaurant are fantastic and always smiling. The view is great and the food is tasty.

The rooms are spotless, though simple. There was a bit of noise from guests going up and down the stairs at night.

Overall, I'd say this is a very good choice for Udaipur, and though it doesn't have the decorative details and room views of some of the heritage hotels, it makes up for it with service, cleanliness and reliability.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for a generous review. You are indeed kind to write such an encouraging review for us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your overall stay and took a liking for the food, service and cleanliness. We suggest booking 4-5 months in advance for higher floor rooms. We would love to welcome you again and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Property: Jaiwana Haveli
Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing