We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven”
Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Jaiwana is a slice of heaven. I spent 8 great days here and enjoyed it immensely. The location is superb - close to lake, Jagdish temple and City Palace. The views are amazing from the rooftop restaurant, the rooms very clean and the staff excellently trained.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CameronW825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for your kind feedback. We value your comments. We are very happy to know that you had a pleasing overall stay and found the accommodation and service of good value. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,322 - 1,328 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

A very warm and welcoming Hotel on Lal Ghat which is a part of Old Udaipur City and within 1 mile radius to many tourist attractions and local market.

Good food, prompt service, clean rooms and toilets and an awesome lounge adds to the feel good factor. It is a value for money place if you are able to acquire a reservation as it does boast of high occupancy.

I will reccomend the Haveli for a pleasurable visit and nice hosts Yash and Harsh!!

Room Tip: 11, 21, 31 has the lake view.. best of the lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bairathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a high recommendation and an inspiring feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the accommodation, food, service and hospitality at JH. We would love to be of service to you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Jaiwana haveli is situated conveniently close to many of the main attractions in Udaipur. Our room on the 3rd floor had lovely views which were only surpassed by the ones from the rooftop hotel. The only reason I didn't give the rooms a full 5 was that my parent's room on the first floor cost the same but didn't have as nice a view as ours.
Rooms were very clean and well kept. The staff were all cheerful and polite. Lalu who worked in the hotel's restaurant was particularly funny succeeding in entertaining us every night :) the food was so good we ate there all three nights of our stay.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a great review and high recommendation. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay. We have taken a note of your special remarks about the cleanliness, food and service. We value and appreciate your encouraging comments. We would love to welcome you again. Wish you a fabulous Year ahead.
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at Jaiwana Haveli for 2 nights with 3 visitors and our 2 year old daughter. I told our visitors that it'll be kind of a hostel and they were quite delighted as we reached there.

Nice staff, VERY CLEAN rooms, perfect location (although a little hard to find), good food at the rooftop restaurant, great value for money!!!

The only negative point: Room 30 is quite noisy as the kitchen and rooftop restaurant is located right above.

Overall: I'd definitely recommend Jaiwana Haveli!!!

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor have great lakeview but are a little noisiy because of the rooftop restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for reviewing us. Your feedback is valuable. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience during your stay. Your remarks about the cleanliness, service, location and value are very inspiring. We feel motivated to do our best. We apologize for the noise issue and look to take corrective measures. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at Jaiwana Haveli late last year for a couple of nights and found this hotel decent but not living up to the expectations we had for it based upon past TA reviews. We did greatly enjoy the location, view of the lake and the rooftop dinner but everything else was just not good enough for the 2362rupee (US$44) nightly rate.


Pros
Email reservation requests were handled timely.

Hotel arranged taxi pick-up service from the airport. Driver was polite, didn't try to sell us tours and just allowed us to relax on our way to the hotel - perfect!

Excellent lake views, couldn't ask for better from the rooms as well as the upstairs restaurant.

Dinner at the rooftop restaurant was very good - one of the few meals we recommend for visitors in Udaipur and a place we would return to even if we would have little interest in staying in this hotel again.

Wifi available but was regularly very slow on rooftop and room, worked well in the lobby. One evening, it was working well in our room, another it didn't work at all.

Beds comfort was ok, we slept pretty good enough although we had two single beds pushed together instead of a proper double bed.

Room came with a TV although we didn't watch so can't comment on English channel availability.

Bathroom water pressure was fine, plenty of warm water and shower drained ok.


Cons
Room preparation was very late: We arrived 4 hours early and were told to return at 11.30am for check-in. No problem. We returned and were met with a series of '5 more minutes' for the next hour and fifteen minutes while we waited in the lobby for our keys. It would have been fine to just have told us that they needed another hour to finish preparing the room instead of leaving us waiting this long for our keys. They must know that nobody likes to be left waiting like this. Very poorly handled by staff, something they could so easily have done better.

Breakfast was very poor. While dinner was very good the breakfast we had was probably the worst we experienced during this trip to India. We had a banana pancake, which came out as an unripe banana wrapped in undercooked crepe with no honey or syrup. This was basically inedible and surprising considering how good the dinner was here in the evening.

Room decor were minimal and room quality was below average for the rate charged. While the view of the lake was very good, the room itself was basic with little effort given create a nicer quality room or even an authentic haveli ambiance or experience. Bleach white walls, ragged window curtains, low-cost closet and cabinet made up the room. Two single beds had been pushed together instead of a double mattress. Decor was limited to two tiny pictures hanging above the beds, a small table next to the windows and the curved shape of the window head. This is fine for a cheap hostel but not a place charging just shy of US$50 a night and calling itself a traditional haveli.

Room walls are quite thin, we were awakened by noisy neighbors a couple times during our stay so might be best to bring ear plugs.

Bathroom needs to be brought up to standard. Ours was of a very simple design, no division between commode and shower and no place for toiletries. A very simply wall bracket should be installed to allow guests to put your soap, shampoo and other toiletries somewhere convenient instead of on the floor or comode. Again, this is something you sort of expect hotels to provide yet it was lacking in our bathroom.

Limited electric outlets, which are the old fashioned variety. You'll need older Indian adapter. Also, there was no safe in the room, wifi was spotty and slow when it did work. Needed to go down to lobby to check email properly.

Onward Transporation was late picking us up, resulting in rushed visits to Kumbalgarh and Ranakpur in route to Jodhpur.

Overall, we loved the views, great location and the rooftop dinner meal but they were getting too many things wrong during our stay at Jaiwana Haveli and simply failed to meet our expectations for the hotel price charged during our stay. Based upon our experience, its difficult to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Regardless of our opinion of Jaiwana Haveli, it does seem to be a very popular place to stay so best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for taking time out to write a detailed review for us and posting nice pictures. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. We have noted all your suggestions and will work upon improving the facilities so that we are able to offer a memorable stay to seasoned travelers like yourselves.
Wish you a great Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana Haveli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Very good location and excellent service with very warm people, the stay at Jaiwana was very comfortable. its very close to Lake Pichola and people are very friendly, always serving you with a smile. :) Stayed for 3 nights. Got to stay on 3rd floor on the last night with a lake view. However I still recommend the Corner room. I believe that has a better lake view. Nonetheless, the Roof top restaurant great makes up for it. Very good view and excellent ambience! Simply loved it. Highly recommended for a great stay in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Corner room should have a beautiful view of Lake Pichola. Night sight of lake is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuradha_Kotekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for your generous praise. We value your feedback. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and have happy memories of it. We feel immensely motivated by your kind remarks. We would love to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Staff was very supporive, Welcoming with traditional Rajasthani style.
Owner of hotel also so supportive,helpful & courteous.
Room was littel cozy but view was excellent. Roof top restaurant is with stunning view & nice food quality. Even if you are not staying at this hotel you should try the food at roof top restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Manishkumar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a glowing review and high recommendation. We are humbled by your observation of our accommodation and service. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you. We feel positively energized to do our best with your inspiration. We would love to welcome you again.
Good wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
747 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#36 of 175 in Udaipur
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Udaipur
1,419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#12 of 175 in Udaipur
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing