We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We chose this place from its great reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. We arrived exhausted at 5am after a stressful bumpy overnight coach from Jaisalmer. We were given a place to sleep/wait to check in as all rooms were full so we couldn't check in early. As we are on our honeymoon we were upgraded to a newer, bigger, more beautiful room over the road. It had its own balcony and brand new bathroom and was spotless. The rooftop restaurant has a fantastic view of lake pic hola and the palace. You can watch the sunset and boats go by all day. It is well located next to the city palace, town centre, bazaar and lake. We decided to extend our stay in Udaipur and although Jaiwana Haveli was full Harsh and Yash the two brothers who run the hotel recommended a place down the road for no extra cost. Harsh and Yash are The MOST helpful people we have met in India. They have helped us with travel plans, day excursions, places to eat, drink and entertainment. All the hotel staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. It has been our favourite photo so far in India.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms if available they are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for your generous feedback and encouragement. It's gratifying to note that you enjoyed your overall stay and have happy memories of it. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Wish you a great Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    694
    118
    25
    11
See reviews for
505
955
162
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Sorry for such a late review!

Upon check in we were greeted warmly by all members of staff present. We were then advised we would be given an extra room.
As originally we booked 2 triple rooms and staff said that this would be quite small. So we took their offer!
Throughout our stay service was great, upon checkout they have us towels and a shower room as we had a long wait before our train. See you soon! Will stay there again!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Nuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for a kind feedback. We are delighted to know of your satisfaction with our accommodation and service. Your high recommendation is sure to take us miles.
We would love to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Amazing Haveli straight in the middle of Udaipur's old city center, less than 5 minutes walking to the City Palace. Yash, the owner is the nicest person we met on our trip to India; he has been so helpful to organize tours, transport to Jodhpur, etc. Hotel is clean, has spacious rooms, very athmospheric with a great rooftop restaurant that serves very tasty food at a very reasonable price! THE place to stay in Udaipur, highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gijs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for a fabulous review and all the encouragement. It's pleasing to know of your good overall stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our small hotel and it's atmosphere. We would love to be of service to you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Its just an excellent experience to stay in jaiwana haweli...wat an awesum view from d top of d hotel.e..dis hitel is located near lake pichola..services here are very gud n food is awesum..enjyd a lot staying in jaiwana haweli...:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devkriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for reviewing us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay and have happy memories of our hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in this Haveli in October. We had a room on the top floor with amazing views to the lake. The room was basic but very clean. All the reviews are excellent about this nice Haveli, but my personal opinion is that what makes this Haveli so special is nothing about the building or the views or even the delicious food they serve on the restaurant. The main point to be emphasized here is the very friendly service that you will encounter in every person of their staff - from the housekeepers, through the waiters, the chefs in the kitchen and the Manager and owner of this hotel. Congratulations to all of you for making people feel at home and cared in Jaiwana Haveli.

Room Tip: It is not just about the view from your room, as you will have beautiful views from the rooftop rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for a great review. We are delighted to know of your pleasant overall stay and satisfaction with our small hotel. It's heartening to note that you felt at home and cared for. We would love to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Close to nearly all sights in Udaipur. Some steep and very narrow access roads to Jaiwana.

Friendly staff , however , the management require an attitude readjustment in terms of friendliness and hospitality. I would say that the lovely staff more than made up for the stand oafishness of the owners.

Standard rooms are basic and small for two people.
An alcove with hangers is all there is for hanging up clothes and a flat surface below for storage. No headboard on bed which is pushed up against the wall.
Uncomfortable beds.

Inadequate availability of electric sockets and of the old fashion plug points ( why?). Please update your electrics.

Air condition works gloriously at one temperature and blows a gale (noisily) . Can be too cold sometimes.
The grubby curtain above the AC has to folded on to the window ledge to keep clear of the AC vents . However, it kept getting dislodged and falling over the vents. No ties available to tie them back-- I used my scarf .
Options : perhaps to have shorter curtains or have the AC unit located onto another wall.
It rained one evening and the room flooded despite the windows being shut !

The bed quilt cover ( smelt rank) needed a wash and the towels need to smell fresher ( the way I've seen laundry washed by hand and dried on the open dirty ground makes me wonder whether any linen is mechanically washed in India to ensure tip top laundry ).
Having said that : for one day only: A Special! there were pristine fresh smelling towels available . So, I guess the occasional surprise remains Jaiwana Haveli's aspiration and all things are possible I guess .

Bathroom :is a wet room . Good shower pressure and hot water available. Soap and shampoo supplied.
No shelf about sink or in shower area to place any items.
A narrow shelf above the toilet is all there is to perch your toiletries , toothbrush etc.
One unintended flick could see some or all of your stuff into the toilet !
Suggestion: A shelf near the sink AND shower would be more appropriate. Small things maketh your visitor's life bearable - Take note Jaiwana Haveli !

Shuttered windows that look out on the corridor thoroughfare and can be pulled open from the corridor - dear or dear! privacy please !!

The cost for the plain standard bland room especially in low season I considered was unreasonable. Having part-paid the booking online on the strength of pictures and testimonials I felt that I could have had a better deal elsewhere.. Communication via email was not as efficient as I had to chase up regarding confirmation following enquiries and payment.

Okay it had a view of the lake... if I stood on tip toes ( bottom half of window has opaque glass. )

There are no lifts that i was aware of, so, it could be a bit of a climb for some, especially, all the way to the roof top restaurant. The staff in the restaurant are helpful and friendly. Service was quick.
Food was mediocre.
The view across the Pichola Lake is lovely especially at night.
There is also a covered restaurant area attached to the roof top one.

WiFi is temperamental and works best in the lobby. So if you have reading and travel planning to do, like I did at the end of a day, be mighty patient as it cuts off every so often or you don't get any signals at all.
Costs of trips to sites of interest are on the wall in the lobby. Fairly reasonable and punctual, reliable drivers.

Asked for a late checkout. Apparently they were full and couldn't accommodate.
However, when I turned up later in the day to pick up my luggage the management asked whether I wanted to use shower facilites before I left. Unfortunately , as I didn't have the time as I needed to get going to catch my train,so, I declined.
Now that would have been helpful to know earlier in the day when I asked about late check out , wouldn't it ? That it was actually possible and that there was a shower room available in the Reception lobby all the time that I could have been told about.

For the staff working there I would give them maximum stars, however, due to management attitude, hospitality and sub standard accommodation and unreasonable prices I shall mark Jaiwana Haweli below average.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NearlyThere63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your detailed review and the time you took out to write it. You indeed care for us. We have read your sarcastically put constructive criticism of our small hotel with basic standard rooms. If you had made an attempt to speak to the 'stand oafish owners' of your dissatisfaction things could have turned around for you a bit and you would have discovered that the notion you have created may be a tad bit wrong.
We in all sincerity apologize to you for all that went wrong in the month of June with your short stay and thank you at the same time for bringing it to our notice, a little late though, as we can't do much to improvise in-order to make your short stay pleasant. However we have made some changes since then for a pleasant stay of all our future Guests.
We would happily welcome you again and assure you of our best attention at all times. We will make sure all the basics go right and your expectations are met with.
Wish you a fabulous Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be a most enjoyable experience. We booked many months before our visit and requested a room with a lake view room, we were not disappointed. Our room had large terraced area where we could sit and enjoy the view.
We had arranged an airport transfer through the hotel and this all went very smoothly, as did the return trip to the airport.
Our hosts Yash and Harsh were most helpful and both went out of their way to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. We did experience a problem with the shower/ water pressure but this was attended to straight away,
Our room was well serviced and the staff were most helpful, especially with assisting us with heavy luggage up the three flights of stairs to our room.
We ate at the hotel restaurant each evening and loved the food and fabulous views. The waiters were very helpful and attentive.
The hotel is very well located within easy walking distance of most of the main attractions of this beautiful city. The quaint winding streets have many small shops offering a wide variety of merchandise.
Our hosts also offered advice about what to see and arranged an excellent local guide to take us to the palace.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, contact the owners before you book and find the most suitable room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseyjones51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for reviewing us and letting us know that staying at JH was the most enjoyable experience for you. We value your feedback and high recommendation. It's heartening to know that you found the staff helpful, service good, food to your taste and stay a pleasant one. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#5 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#6 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Property: Jaiwana Haveli
Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing