We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't get a room with a view suggest you try a different hotel”
Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Everything nice said about the owners is true - Harsh and his brother give 'service' the first real service found in India. their tourist information is great and they cannot do enough to help including ringing a yoga place to make sure the class was on the following morning. The restaurant has beautiful views, good food, and nice staff. The location is central to all attractions and the location is not too noisy. That said, if you cannot get a room with a view I believe there are better options in Udaipur. We were given a room out the back - nice room but the entrance to it was full of junk. And no view. And we were charged for a bottle of water when we asked for one in the room - the first - and last time in India. A small but important oversight.

Room Tip: Only stay if you can get a room with a lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suebru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for taking time out to review us. We are happy to know that you were pleased with our service, location and food. We apologize for your displeasure at not getting a lake facing room.
Please note that we do not have a category called 'Lake facing'. Higher floors are subject to availability. We didn't promise/claim to give you a lake facing room, you expected one and were disappointed at not getting one. We are located in the old city and our hotel requires constant refurbishing and restoration. The Junk you spoke of is part of our regular work, and was lying in the corner of the passage, not at the entrance of the room. It's taken care of, as the work got over the same week. We charge for 'Mineral' water bottles as we pay for them ourselves. It's definitely not the last time you would pay for it in India, almost all hotels charge for it.
If you are only looking for a view room at Jaiwana haveli, it's better to communicate over email and know about the location of the room. It will save disappointment as the hotel does not claim/sell a category 'Lake view'. You may communicate with us on info@jaiwanahaveli.com regarding reservations and preferences. It would be a pleasure to know of your choices during booking procedure.
We wish you happy times ahead and look forward to serving you again in future.
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 2,417 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was my first visit to Udaipur & I zeroed in on Jaiwana Haveli courtesy trip advisor. I was there to celebrate my wedding anniversary & the place did not disappoint.
Good things first. The location of the hotel is fantastic. All the places of tourist interest are near by.The Palace, Jagdish temple etc. are just 5 min walk from the hotel. The food served is one of the best in & around the place. In fact the early morning breakfast & evening drinks at the roof top restaurant witnessing beautiful sunrise & sunsets were amazing. And don't forget to add the picturesque lake Pichola in the backdrop.
On the flip side the rooms are small & make you feel like you are at home (and not in a luxurious Haveli!!!). There are no wardrobes, no carpet flooring, a small TV & no LIFT in the hotel. The décor & comfort inside the room made me feel probably I overpaid for the room.

However what the place lacks in terms of décor is made up by two gem of brothers who run this family owned & run Place Yash & Harsh. I hade most of my interactions wit Harsh & he was just awesome as a host. He was like a friend away from home. He helped me chalk out perfect itinerary for the duration of my stay & also helped me with logistics (very economically priced & best around the place). He helped us with minutest of details like which restaurant to prefer for food based on our itinerary, places to shop , helped us get a delicious chocolate cake etc.

In all we had a fantastic stay in Udaipur & I would recommend this place to all (if luxury is not on top of your mind). And Yash & harsh guys if you could just redo the rooms (I know lift would be too much to ask for!!!) I think it would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try & get a room on higher floors which probably (not very sure) are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumitChhajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a kind review. We are glad to know of your pleasant stay. It's been a pleasure serving you. We have noted your remarks about the 'flip side' as put by you. We are by no means a luxurious haveli/hotel. We do not claim to be one. We do not have Carpet flooring, we have local stone flooring which is much appreciated by visitors. All our rooms are standard rooms, the LCD are 21 inches and it suffices.The hotel is accessible by stairs only, there is no Lift. We have always reiterated this fact and maintained it in all our management responses. As you read TA and booked, we guess you had knowledge of this fact while booking. The rooms have built-in space for hanging clothes with hangers. Our apologies for not meeting some of your expectations.We are grateful to you for writing a detailed feedback and remembering us with fondness. We would love to welcome you again.
Wish you a great Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

To say that the Jaiwana Haveli is world class is an understatement. From the second you enter the property it's obvious that there is an attention to detail and customer service lacking in so many other hotels, India and elsewhere. Harsh, one of the brothers that run the property, was welcoming to a tee. He was the only hotelier to offer a map of the area, details on where to go and where to avoid and have our luggage ready in room before we were there. He answered every question we had, as well as discussing perspectives on India.

Harsh was nice enough to plan a move of rooms after 2 nights. He told us about this on check in, noting that a better room was available. The initial room (#52) was in the back annex of the hotel. It was extremely spacious, well laid out with a comfortable bed and nice decor. What awaited us on the room change, though, blew me away. Our second room (#43) was pristine, and one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in. It was massive, with a full-on view of the lake and private balcony. All of this, without even asking for it! This is the kind of service that sets Jaiwana Haveli apart from the rest. You get all the service, luxury and views that you would at places like the Oberoi or Trident, but without the stuffy attitude.

By the time we left, it really did feel like home. The brothers are personable, the location is amazing and the experience was memorable. Thank you all for your hard work and making our last stop in India a dream come true!

Room Tip: Spring for room #43, with a full view of the lake and private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a top review and making us feel great about our work. We are very pleased to read your generously written detailed feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to have you with us and to serve you. We are very content to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found it memorable. We feel greatly rewarded by your kind remarks. We would love to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A lovely little gem of a place run by 2 brothers who apart from supporting Chelsea made our stay memorable. nothing was to much trouble.
The hotel has fab views and is lovely and peaceful, spotlessly clean.
The roof top dining is a must and a cool beer watching the sun set, is a must after busy day site seeing

Room Tip: perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evertonsupporters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a lovely review. We value your feedback. We are very pleased to know of your satisfaction and enjoyable stay. It's been a delight serving you. We would happily welcome you again. Wish you a great Year ahead.
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on the rave reviews on trip advisor. Looking through the photos online I was so looking forward to my stay. This was going to be the most memorable hotel of my trip - or so I thought. I think I was mildly disappointed because going in I had built this place up in my mind. The hotel is made of marble and my room was located just off the stairwell on the first floor - I didn't sleep either night I stayed here due to noise disturbances. The room was nice - nothing at all like the pictures. The wifi was decent and I was able to skype with loved ones back home. The hot water shower was amazing for water pressure and the food in the restaurant was to die for. The service from the owners was really good and helpful. So my three star rating is a result of the noise and my disappointment from having inflated expectations in advance of staying here. Overall good experience.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Jana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for reviewing us. We value your feedback. We are happy to note that you summed it up with 'overall good experience'. We sincerely apologize for the noise factor that caused you lack of sleep. As you have written 'inflated expectations'.......that's not very easy to deal with. It's pleasing to note that all else went well with your stay. We hope the next time you will keep expectations at bay :)..........we on our part assure you of a peaceful sleep. We would love to be of service to you again. Wish you happy times ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very pleased with our choice of hotel. Location could not be better with a fabulous view over the lake and sunset. Good central old town location, only a short walk to all the sights - no need to get a tuk-tuk. Good freshly cooked food at a very reasonable price - you would pay a lot more elsewhere for the same quality without the view. While the rooms are basically furnished, they are clean and well-maintained. We had a great view of the lake from our third floor room.
Harsh and Yash, who run the hotel, could not do more for their guests. They are a mine of information and their English is excellent. All the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room on the top floor - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a kind review highlighting our small hotel and it's standard accommodation. We are glad to note that you were pleased with the cleanliness, maintenance, service, food and value.
We feel greatly rewarded by your gracious comments. We would love to welcome you back.
Wish you happy times ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had heard so much about Jaiwana Haveli that we just had to try it out. We got rooms 13&14 in spite of booking a month in advance. It seems all other rooms were booked - so couldn't change to a higher floor. The Manager Harsh and his brother (who own and run the place) are nice chaps taking personal interest in all requirements. The positives first - the hotel is spit shined and is uber clean. I am finicky about cleanliness and this is one of the few places that are definitely tidy - be it the entrance, rooms, bathrooms or the diner. The view from the rooftop restaurant is awesome - the food is delicious though a bit on the steep side. You really need to try out their Poha for breakfast. In fact - go ahead and try out anything on the menu .. its all good .. be it pancakes or breads or any of the vegetables! Laloo requires a special mention .. in spite of not being formally educated he carries his own cheer. He's taking photos, taking orders asking you about your day and making sure everyone's being looked after all in one go. Fair warning though to tourists - they don't have lifts .. so you need to walk up four floors to reach the diner. Their wi-fi connection is super fast and offers full signal even inside the rooms. One special mention about the rooms - this one the only place in all my travels across starred and lower starred properties that offers a blower heater. Really appreciated that in the cold nights. The only downside I would be hard pressed to pick is the size of rooms. They're relatively small and I confirmed with Harsh whether they had any bigger rooms (at higher price points). He confirmed all rooms are of the same size .. so this can be a bit of a let down. The only other thing about the rooms is an absence of closed wardrobes. They have an open wardrobe hanger .. but somehow I prefer a nice closed wardrobe - but that's a personal thing. If you're with a family and are a neatness freak and particular about your food .. go for Jaiwana. It is a tad costlier .. but service does come at a price. You won't mind paying the extra - its worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anand-Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a kind review. We are delighted to know of your pleasant stay and happy memories. We have taken a note of your suggestions. We would love to be of service to you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 177 in Udaipur
762 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 177 in Udaipur
406 reviews
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#33 of 177 in Udaipur
818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#11 of 177 in Udaipur
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#13 of 177 in Udaipur
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £41 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing