We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Haveli in a Beautiful City”
Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

From the moment we were picked up from the overnight train from Agra, Jaiwana made our stay in this beautiful city pleasant and peaceful. Cool (in the temperature sense), well decorated rooms with beautiful views of the lake; excellent restaurant (also with views); and uniformly friendly and engaging staff (all of the porters, the waiters in the restaurants, and the brothers who run the haveli --- all were wonderful!).

One small complaint - the hotel hired cabs for us to go to the Monsoon Palace for sunset. One of the drivers was someone we'd driven with before and were comfortable with, but the other was new (to us, at least). On leaving the palace after sunset, the 'new' driver insisted on bringing us to a textile factory which he insisted was on the way home (it was not), even after we told him that one of our traveling companions was pregnant and needed to get to the restaurant we were going to for dinner so she could use the restroom and eat. We refused to get out of the car when he pulled into the factory parking lot and then they brought us to the restaurant, but it would have been nice if we hadn't had to go through that.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view if you want that; room (i think) 43 had a massive view and patio. We also had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BkTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a very generous and detailed feedback. We are glad to know of your enjoyable stay and fondness for the food and service. We have taken a note of your comment about one of the two drivers you had. We sincerely apologize for his misconduct. We take every care to ensure that our guests have the best experience, we will make sure that the driver understands the subtlety of the matter and contributes to the positive stay experience of all the Guests. We are grateful to you for bringing the incident to our notice, it helps us improve our services tremendously. We would love to welcome you back and assure you of our best attention always.
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Yash & Harsh - the clear differentiators on why Jaiwana scores very high on my list..!! These two brothers are passionate about what they do and I havent seen many promoters who are as hands on as these two guys are...absolutely wonderful.!
The place is right next to the Pichola lake and a lot of other tourist attractions which are all walkable. The rooms are spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds.
The restaurant is on the 4th floor with a spectacular view of the Pichola Lake....only downside is that the access is through stairs so people with dodgy knees might want to give it a miss!!
The food is good without being anything very special but the view more than makes up for it.
I keep coming back to the brothers but do spend some time talking to them as you will relish the conversation as they bring a different perspective to your trip.
On the last day of our stay we had a sick child with us and they were very kind enough to allow us to retain our rooms till afternoon even when the check out time was 10am.
For me that is a clear winner..!!! Thanks Yash & Harsh for making our Udaipur trip a great one.

Room Tip: Even if you dont get a room with a lake view , dont bother...you will enjoy your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicks76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a very warm and kind feedback. We feel humbled by your remarks and are very grateful to you for recommending us so highly. Your comments are truly inspiring and have given us much needed motivation to keep up the good work. We would happily welcome you back.
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in Jaiwana haveli in last december with lot of expectations in mind.We booked two rooms which were given on different floors.The lunch was average(read tasteless) and rooms were basic.A nice breakfast on the rooftop and great service by the staff was the saviour otherwise Iam still puzzled y its running on the top.Since we were there during the rush season, we found the owners were little not prepared to handle the issues like driver accomodation, room set up and we had really a bad fight with them for that.I personally think the location and setup of this hotel is to cater foreign tourist and Indians can have better option in the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkNeeRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for reviewing us. We have read your comments and feel you really missed out on a great holiday due to a preconceived notion and lots of expectations. We do not provide accommodation to the drivers which we clearly mentioned. We are a small hotel and infra structurally not equipped with such large inventory of rooms. We do not see it as a shortcoming, we only expect our Guests to understand our limitations. You indeed preferred a bad fight but we were only pacifying your unreasonable temper the whole time. We hope sanity prevails and you do understand our point of view and limitations of a small hotel. We are not a countryside resort, it's a city hotel, working in it's best capacity to provide the best to all its Guests. Too many expectations indeed reduce Joy. We however apologize for not meeting the parameters of your imagination. Wish you a wonderful Year ahead.
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Jaiwana is on of my absolute favorite hotels. The location is perfect to explore Udaipur, the view from the rooftop restaurant over the lake is magnificent and the service is perfect. Rooms are clean and have everything you need. Many of them have excellent views. The owners are extremely nice and helpful. I have stayed there three times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a wonderful feedback. We are very happy to be your favorite hotel. Your kind and encouraging compliments are very rewarding. We feel inspired to put in our best at all times.
Your satisfaction delights us. We would love to welcome you back.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, crew is very friendly and courteous, good price, rooms are no fancy but good and comfortable, I really recommend this hotel, close to the temple, city palace and the view to the lake is amazing, roof top restaurant good food!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a generous feedback. It's been a pleasure serving you. We are glad to know of your pleasant experience and fond memories. We truly appreciate your warm encouragement. We would love to welcome you back.
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As people have already commented, the location is great, with some rooms and the roof terrace having wonderfully evocative views over Lake Pichola. Also, the Indian food in the restaurant is tasty and realistically priced. Furthermore, a nice touch was being able to order items fresh off the menu for breakfast.

It is a short walk to the Palace, which is a must see. and also to places for boats on the lake. Our only criticism was that the AC could have been stronger for the time of year (April) the beds were quite hard and no complimentary water was provided, but this is a very good option if the prices at the Taj and Oberoi etc... are too steep for your budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a kind review. We value your feedback. Your satisfaction with our service, food and location delights us. We have noted your suggestion regarding the Ac, mattress and introduction of complimentary bottled water. Bottled water comes at a price to us and therefore charges apply.
The other two suggestions have been implemented :). We are glad you drew our comparison to the best in business. We are a small hotel and realistically basic.
We would love to welcome you back and assure you of our best attention at all times. Wish you happy times ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What a lovely hotel , just spent two nights here and were blown away with the location , the views(especially from the restaurant) and the care provided by the two owners Hash and Yash (apologies if I've spelt them wrong ). The rooms had everything needed and were spotlessly clean and the food was great with lots of choices and excellent service. The location right overlooking the lake and five minutes from the city palace couldn't have been better . Udaipur is a charming city much quieter than usual Indian cities but with lots to see and do . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and many thanks to Hash and Yash for looking after us so well, we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cleveleystravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashwardhan, Owner at Jaiwana Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a glowing feedback. Your 'Wow' brings us joy. We feel greatly rewarded with your inspiring remarks. We value your high recommendation and encouragement. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Best wishes from all of us at Jaiwana haveli, Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 165 in Udaipur
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 165 in Udaipur
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 165 in Udaipur
504 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#12 of 165 in Udaipur
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £48 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing