We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No value for money”
Review of Rampratap Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rampratap Palace
Ranked #41 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2011

For the kind of money that the hotel charged, it is not worth it. Looks like more of a lodge than hotel. There is no room service and even the wash rooms are not good. The only good part was the location, which was just opposite the lake and the view was very good. Apart from that the hotel had nothing and nothing means nothing

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anubhav1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramprata P, Manager at Rampratap Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

Our room did not have a view as it was on the groundfloor but it was still decent and nicely upholstered accn. The hotel is approx 20 min by auto from lal ghat(the main area in udaipur) thus it is nearby and comparatively quite. The hotel has a small restaurant inside the hotel but their out door restaurant across theroad is really scenic and romantic.The restaurant is right beside Fatehsagar lake. My husband and i had enjoyed a nice quite candle light dinner. Don't miss the small car collection. The hotel has a very basic oil massage facility. Very clean bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaurvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramprata P, Manager at Rampratap Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

best location at affordable price; you will not find such location except Lake Palace Hotel

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sam_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramprata P, Manager at Rampratap Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

The pictures of this hotel imply that it is situated at the lake shore. Not at all! the main frontage road runs between the hotel and the garden facing the lake. The hotel is also at an intersection making it exremely noisy. I was disappointed but when I entered the room, which does have a nice view (not better than many others), the smell of freshly sprayed Malathion almost knocked me out. I refused to stay in such a toxic environment.
The hotel was prepaid. No refund. We moved to the Hilltop hotel at our own expense.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StamfordR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramprata P, Manager at Rampratap Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Actually in Lake Fateh Sagar - 10 minutes walk from Udaipur, 50 rupees in a tuk tuk.
Huge rooms often with lake views - good for families. Helpful staff - we arrived at 6.30a.m. from a train and they let us have a room to sleep and shower in until ours was ready.
Excellent breakfast - children were delighted to get maple syrup pancakes!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramprata P, Manager at Rampratap Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We stayed at Hotel Ram Pratap Palace as part of a tour through Rajasthan. Suffice it to say, we would have never chosen this place on our own.

The exterior and small lobby area are acceptable. When we entered our room, however, the level of (un)cleanliness was immediately apparent. The air conditioner vent was filled with dirt, mold, etc., similar to a picture posted by another TripAdvisor member. The sheets and towels smelled of cow dung. Our set of sheets had a large unmentionable stain on it. When we called this to the attention of the staff, they just looked at us like, "so??" We asked them to change the sheet, and the next one had a different stain (but composed of a similar substance). A third sheet had a grease stain, and we decided to keep this one given the options.

I am not sure why a large reputable tour group like the one with which we traveled would have chosen this hotel. My guess is that it's owned by someone's cousin/uncle/brother and therefore someone was getting a cut from us staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Manager at Rampratap Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for bringing the issue to our notice. We have since taken a decision to have an in-house laundry to sort the matter of poor laundry and stains since up till now we relied on an out-sourced agency. As of now we have an excellent in-house laundry and this issue is attended to. We have also invested in training the staff to attend to your needs in a more professional manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

I stayed in Hotel Ram Pratap in Udiapur with my wife in Oct'10 on a holiday planned by us for Rajasthan.The hotel is a old palace constructed with marble.Beautiful paintings adorn the walls in rooms and common areas like dining hall. It is a 2 storied building with rooms around a court yard.Even the doors with beautiful carvings and brass fittings remind us of the bygone era.In the rooms you can enjoy your tea sitting on a low seat in the Chowki style of a Rajasthan village.
Service and courtesy of staff is excellent.The morning breakfast is served in their first floor restaurant. During breakfast time,a musician plays smoothing instrumental classical Hindustani morning Ragas.Breakfast has a good choice of continental,American and Indian dishes and is sumptuous.It is complimentary. The best part of the hotel is the sprawling lawn on the bank of Fateh Sagar (lake) where you can have your lunch or candle light dinner under individual tents like arrangements.
The only thing that does not work most of the time is the internet connection .So checking our e-mail is very difficult.That is fine,considering the freedom we need from all these modern day intrusions in our life while we enjoy our holiday.
Overall our stay in Ram Pratap was pleasant. I have no hesitation in recommending this place for people travelling with family to Udaipur.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psvraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramprata P, Manager at Rampratap Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 175 in Udaipur
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#12 of 175 in Udaipur
490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
#45 of 175 in Udaipur
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
745 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bhairav Garh Palace
Bhairav Garh Palace
#55 of 175 in Udaipur
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rampratap Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rampratap Palace

Address: Fateh Sagar Lake | 5-b Alkapuri, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £39 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rampratap Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ram Pratap Palace located just off the lake Fateh Sagar in Udaipur "the city lakes and palaces", an enchanting budget hotel combines old World charm with modern comforts. Ideally located on the banks of the lake Fateh Sagar is the spacious Raaj Bagh Garden Restaurant, which is across the street from Hotel Rampratap Palace. The hotel is mere 5 kms away from the railway station and 25 kms from the airport. A friendly team of qualified therapists offers a full range of massage and beauty treatments. The palace hotel offers a breathtaking view of lake Fateh Sagar and the beautiful Aravalli ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rampratap Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ram Pratap Palace Udaipur
Ram Pratap Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing