We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ram Pratap Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ram Pratap Palace
Ranked #30 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Do not stay there. The hotel is a dump. We had a suite with a lake view and i dont know where to start describing how nasty it was. First of all, the hotel is next to the busy road - noise is NON-STOP. To get to the terrace on the lake you have to pass a road - the hotel is not directly on the lake!!! The rooms are something else - facets didn't work, it was impossible to get hot water stream in the shower, the beds were rock solid, the sheets were stained, the rooms were overall very dirty - IT WAS HORRIBLE. Put a bit more money and stay in Odebrei or some other nice hotel around - this one will kill your holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SANDRANYC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Manager at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that you did not like your experience at Ram Pratap.

Yes the layout of the hotel is such that the hotel faces the lake and a by-lane is to be crossed to go to the restaurant on the lake which is very much part of the hotel. We have since rectified the maintenance issues raised by the guest and assure better services of future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    169
    55
    20
    19
See reviews for
165
150
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

For the kind of money that the hotel charged, it is not worth it. Looks like more of a lodge than hotel. There is no room service and even the wash rooms are not good. The only good part was the location, which was just opposite the lake and the view was very good. Apart from that the hotel had nothing and nothing means nothing

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anubhav1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Our room did not have a view as it was on the groundfloor but it was still decent and nicely upholstered accn. The hotel is approx 20 min by auto from lal ghat(the main area in udaipur) thus it is nearby and comparatively quite. The hotel has a small restaurant inside the hotel but their out door restaurant across theroad is really scenic and romantic.The restaurant is right beside Fatehsagar lake. My husband and i had enjoyed a nice quite candle light dinner. Don't miss the small car collection. The hotel has a very basic oil massage facility. Very clean bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank preetikunaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

best location at affordable price; you will not find such location except Lake Palace Hotel

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

The pictures of this hotel imply that it is situated at the lake shore. Not at all! the main frontage road runs between the hotel and the garden facing the lake. The hotel is also at an intersection making it exremely noisy. I was disappointed but when I entered the room, which does have a nice view (not better than many others), the smell of freshly sprayed Malathion almost knocked me out. I refused to stay in such a toxic environment.
The hotel was prepaid. No refund. We moved to the Hilltop hotel at our own expense.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StamfordR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N yorks
Level Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Actually in Lake Fateh Sagar - 10 minutes walk from Udaipur, 50 rupees in a tuk tuk.
Huge rooms often with lake views - good for families. Helpful staff - we arrived at 6.30a.m. from a train and they let us have a room to sleep and shower in until ours was ready.
Excellent breakfast - children were delighted to get maple syrup pancakes!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

We stayed at Hotel Ram Pratap Palace as part of a tour through Rajasthan. Suffice it to say, we would have never chosen this place on our own.

The exterior and small lobby area are acceptable. When we entered our room, however, the level of (un)cleanliness was immediately apparent. The air conditioner vent was filled with dirt, mold, etc., similar to a picture posted by another TripAdvisor member. The sheets and towels smelled of cow dung. Our set of sheets had a large unmentionable stain on it. When we called this to the attention of the staff, they just looked at us like, "so??" We asked them to change the sheet, and the next one had a different stain (but composed of a similar substance). A third sheet had a grease stain, and we decided to keep this one given the options.

I am not sure why a large reputable tour group like the one with which we traveled would have chosen this hotel. My guess is that it's owned by someone's cousin/uncle/brother and therefore someone was getting a cut from us staying there.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Manager at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for bringing the issue to our notice. We have since taken a decision to have an in-house laundry to sort the matter of poor laundry and stains since up till now we relied on an out-sourced agency. As of now we have an excellent in-house laundry and this issue is attended to. We have also invested in training the staff to attend to your needs in a more professional manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#33 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
#34 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#24 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#47 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram Pratap Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram Pratap Palace

Property: Ram Pratap Palace
Address: Fateh Sagar Lake | 5-b Alkapuri, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ram Pratap Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ram Pratap Palace located just off the lake Fateh Sagar in Udaipur "the city lakes and palaces", an enchanting budget hotel combines old World charm with modern comforts. Ideally located on the banks of the lake Fateh Sagar is the spacious Raaj Bagh Garden Restaurant, which is across the street from Hotel Rampratap Palace. The hotel is mere 5 kms away from the railway station and 25 kms from the airport. A friendly team of qualified therapists offers a full range of massage and beauty treatments. The palace hotel offers a breathtaking view of lake Fateh Sagar and the beautiful Aravalli ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Ram Pratap Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ram Pratap Palace Udaipur
Ram Pratap Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing