We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Ram Pratap Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ram Pratap Palace
Ranked #36 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
italian
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

First room given suffered from noise from its own staff, the room situated right next to the cleaning/laundry room, staff there did not respect customers who were still sleeping. The room itself, needs updating lick of paint would be a start and as for the bathroom a complete refubishment. We were moved to the second floor from the 2nd night what a difference very nice room indeed clean and up to date. Breakfest was ok nothing special at all, found the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for bringing the matter to our notice. Would like to inform you that the room/bathroom has been painted now along with other public area's. . We were waiting for the monsoon period to be over. Thank you for appreciating our staff's efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    172
    59
    21
    19
See reviews for
169
155
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent only one night in this hotel. We got a room on the first floor overlooking the lake – lovely view.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The AC worked fine and we did get a good night's sleep. However, the cushions on the sit out were stained and dirty.

The bathrooms are old and need some renovation – newer bathrooms would surely hike the hotel’s rating by a notch.

The breakfast area seemed a little run down. The quality of breakfast was average, nothing to write much about.

The hotel is not near lake Pichola. It is on the Fatehsagar lake side. Its a little away from the city's hustle bustle. If you are looking for peace and quiet, its a good place. If you are looking for action, its a little away. You will need to get an auto rickshaw to ferry you around.

All in all, decent place for a short stay. It’s a value for money place, so please do not expect a luxurious abode.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapunzzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Sir, Would like to inform you that we made changes to the breakfast menu and re-done the layout. Thank you for bringing it to our notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We visited in sept and can honestly say this hotel doesn't care for its international travellers 

We arrived late at hotel and were tired spoke to a very unhelpful male named mr shanker (restaurant manager) he told us there are only 2 rooms lefts, which are not next to each other, the rooms were smelled very stale and the pillows and duvets were dirty and there were lots of insects in the room, I immediately asked for manager suddenly another 6 rooms appeared from nowhere which were of slightly better quality and basic but clean so basically mr shanker had lied to us initially so have lost trust and faith

Also breakfast service is slow and food is of poor quality and also looked and tasted disgusting, when we asked for a coffee, the waiter just gave us hot milk and we need to put the coffee into the mug, which tasted absolutely awful

The overall experience bundled with the poor standard of rooms means I have no doubts I will not be stopping here again and urge people not to book here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mit6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Would like to inform to all fellow travelers that the guest was booked for a lower category room and wanted a upgrade. It took time for the manger to arrange for an upgrade as it was a busy day and this is the main reason for such a comment. We can agree that they were probably not satisfied and had a few issues but cannot find a reason for them to put up such a comment considering what other travelers have been sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this place for 2 nights and had a very pleasant experience. Rooms are big with a balcony over looking the Lake... high light of the place has to be the lake front restaurant.. amazing setting...still remember the marble finishing all over the place....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingodiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the feedback and appreciation. Glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Will look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nice days in Udaipur at this hotel. Hotel is placed by the lake and have a nice restorant just across the street. The rooms are big enough, with flat screen tv, and pretty clean.
One of the best hotel (budget) we stayed in India.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the encouraging review. Glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. It has a certain classic charm. The solid wooden doors with steel bolts and padlocks looked ancient and caused us much mirth. Room was clean, spacious and had a view to the lake. We ate both nights at the waterfront restaurant (Raaj Bagh) located conveniently across the lane. Management wasn't as friendly as you might expect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lundon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your views. We have made a note of your comment and discussed the same with the team. Thank you for bringing it to our notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Me and my wife stayed between 17th Aug to 19th Aug, 2013. Coming straight to the pros and cons :

Pros:
1. Bang on Fateh Sagar lake and on a main road, no connectivity issues at all
2. Deals are ok, we paid 2200 per night for a standard room including BF.
3. Rooms are basic, clean and spacious toilets.

Cons:
1. BF menu is unimaginative, the management can work on this.
2. Staff : though courteous, but a little smile on face is welcome. The main thing that separates Indian hotels from European ones are the warm staff, we somehow felt the warmth is missing, especially at the reception counter.
3. No tea/coffee preparation material at rooms.
4. A little careless staff, left our door open after cleaning. we discovered this when we came back at night but reception counter dismissed our concerns by saying the person might be in a hurry.

Overall, a decent stay, no unwanted intrusions to your privacy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScorpioOnWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,Thank you for sharing the pro's & con's. We have made a note of them and a few points have been addressed already. Appreciate your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#35 of 161 in Udaipur
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 161 in Udaipur
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram Pratap Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram Pratap Palace

Property: Ram Pratap Palace
Address: Fateh Sagar Lake | 5-b Alkapuri, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ram Pratap Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ram Pratap Palace located just off the lake Fateh Sagar in Udaipur "the city lakes and palaces", an enchanting budget hotel combines old World charm with modern comforts. Ideally located on the banks of the lake Fateh Sagar is the spacious Raaj Bagh Garden Restaurant, which is across the street from Hotel Rampratap Palace. The hotel is mere 5 kms away from the railway station and 25 kms from the airport. A friendly team of qualified therapists offers a full range of massage and beauty treatments. The palace hotel offers a breathtaking view of lake Fateh Sagar and the beautiful Aravalli ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ram Pratap Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ram Pratap Palace Udaipur
Ram Pratap Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing