We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from Hell - Ram Pratap Palace (DO NOT STAY THERE)”
Review of Ram Pratap Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ram Pratap Palace
Ranked #35 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel from Hell - Ram Pratap Palace (DO NOT STAY THERE)”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This not a hotel. It a house that has been converted. It has appalling rooms, no hot water, the rooms stinks, the bed and linens smells of sweat. External facing doors have no locks, The bathroom and shower are dirty. The taps and shower fittings are so old that they do work properly. There is no ventilation and extractor fan in the bathroom. It has a little window with a little grill on the outside for air and smell to escape to the inner part of the hotel. Also for a multi-storey house it has no lift. You will have to carry heavy luggage up several flight of stairs. The staff simply tell lies when you ask for water and some decent service. They always seems to have a reason why there is no water as if it's the customers fault for asking for some water. They want people to have bath in a bucket that they will fill and carry up several flights of stairs whenever you need water. THIS IS AN APPALLING, VERY BAD AND DIRTY PLACE. DO NOT GO THERE.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    171
    59
    20
    19
See reviews for
168
155
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were given a huge room beautifully furnished but it had no windows. I told receiption that I had asked for a room with a lakeside view. The manager said that that was the room
I booked however two minutes later he said that they would change the room. We were given a room looking onto the lake which was fabulous.
We had a candlelit lakeside dinner. It was Ghandi`s birthday (so no alcohol was served) and it was a most enjoyable evening watching the lights on the lake.
I was intrigued by the design of the hotel which was quite high and built around a courtyard. I imangined what it would be like in the rain. It gave the impression that it was an old property but in fact had been built only 20 years ago.
In conclusion,it was a memorable stay and everything was done so that we were comfortable and could enjoy the visit.
thanks to the super staff

Room Tip: The rooms at the front looking over the lake have super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Traveled to Udaipur in July this year with 2 other friends. The first impression of the place is beautiful. We could not get a lake facing room. But our room was spacious, and since it was on the top floor gave a good view of the hotel and surroundings. Had a good breakfast and couple of meals here. The best view is from the terrace. It
We were very happy till it started raining. Water just entered our room from all sides and hotel staff was of little help. Also, there is hardly any staff post 10:00 PM and since it is away from more crowded places, you will have no options to eat but plead the staff.
Will go back for spacious room and a good view only.

Room Tip: Lake View room is better, if not, take the rooms on top floors. Good view otherwise also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aastha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Awesome stay at Rampratap Palace. I checked out yesterday and was there for 2 nights. One of the best places to have food is RamPratap Hotel's Restaurant. The hotel need a little more managed personalized services, however overall stay is 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Lake view second floor rooms..!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitGohri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Good specious room with great view of Fateh Sagar Lake. Restaurant is very good located at the bank of fateh sagar lake with great view of mountains. Only drawback is , in toilet, shower area is too small and one can not enjoy shower with great pleasure OR you can not feel comfortable to give a bath to your little child. Overall great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms with Lake facing and on the top floor is prefered to enjoy drink in Balcony with great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeshRasania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I arrived very late to the hotel after 400 km driving from Jaipur. I was very tired and the only thing I need was bed.
Check-in was fast and very efficient and finally I fall on the bed. My room was extremly spacious, but bathroom was small and there was no a/c. That's why there was always humid and hot. Towels and toilettres were there. I didn't have lake view, however I've stayed only two days in Udaipur and it was raining all the time.
Breakfast. Next day i had to choose between 3 options: Indian, American and Continental breakfasts. Actually, I didn't take anything but a cup of tea but I had to wait about 10 min. Very strange. Next morning I found fully equipped buffet with lots of fresh fruits, juices, bread, jam and etc. Guests were offered different kind of eggs and pancakes. So seems like they serve breakfast according to the hotel occupancy.
There is an outdoor restaurant which belongs to the hotel. I took lunch there and even though they were not fully booked, I had to remind about myself two or three times. It took me 1,5 hr to have one soup and two glasses of cold tea. Not good. But the quality of food was good and lake view is really impressive.
Small details: there is no elevator in the hotel and they provide you free 30 min wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your views. Pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
udaipur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel a weak ago.I enjoyed very much and had lots of fun.beautiful and peacefull rooms,food quality was very good staff was very helping nature and caring specialy mr.sameer helped so much that time.I wanna come next year as soon as possiblem
I love u udaipur.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choudharypradeep65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Ram Pratap Palace, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for sharing your experience. It was a pleasure to have had you as a guest at Ram Pratap. Pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#11 of 157 in Udaipur
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#38 of 157 in Udaipur
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 157 in Udaipur
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram Pratap Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram Pratap Palace

Property: Ram Pratap Palace
Address: Fateh Sagar Lake | 5-b Alkapuri, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ram Pratap Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ram Pratap Palace located just off the lake Fateh Sagar in Udaipur "the city lakes and palaces", an enchanting budget hotel combines old World charm with modern comforts. Ideally located on the banks of the lake Fateh Sagar is the spacious Raaj Bagh Garden Restaurant, which is across the street from Hotel Rampratap Palace. The hotel is mere 5 kms away from the railway station and 25 kms from the airport. A friendly team of qualified therapists offers a full range of massage and beauty treatments. The palace hotel offers a breathtaking view of lake Fateh Sagar and the beautiful Aravalli ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ram Pratap Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ram Pratap Palace Udaipur
Ram Pratap Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing