We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exemplary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Exemplary hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

What makes a terrific hotel for a traveller? Comfort? yes; good value? of course; a location near the centre of town? naturally. Kind, helpful and efficient staff? yes please. But let's have some more. What about a great swimming pool? and free Wifi? and lovely food nicely served at all hours in a pleasant dining room? What about a proprietor who really cares about the comfort of his guests? And what about being able to book to have a fabulous cookery lesson that forever changed the way we eat? Oh, and my wife loved it because we were right next to a branch of Soma, and we could walk to the centre of town in minutes, but the location itself was an oasis of calm.
The Mahendra Prakesh has all of this. Later on our trip we stayed at a Taj hotel in Jaipur as a treat. Sure it was more luxurious, but for our money the Mahendra Prakesh was a better all round experience. We're coming back next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quentar_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    234
    44
    14
    6
See reviews for
223
253
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This hotel offers everything a Traveller could ask for in this Royal city. It has a nice Royal feel to it, the staff make you feel like Royalty and the Location is close enough to all the Attractions of the city but is still a nice, quiet, green oasis in the heart of the city.
They have free Wi Fi in the lobby if required, the food is excellent and staff were just very good. It is clean and well kept and is total value for money as the rates are not exhorbhitant for all that it offers.
Though they have solar heaters which get switched on only in the mornings, we did get hot water when we landed there late at night after asking them to switch on the heaters. But obviously this took time, so that is the only thing I wish they change and offer hot water 24 hours.
Would definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: The Pool facing rooms or the groud floor rooms with their own Patio are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BombaySymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This was my first trip to India, stayed at Hotel Mahendra Prakash for a week..Hotel had a taxi driver waiting for me at the Ahmadabad airport ..4 hours to Udaipur (3000rp)

The staff are excellent they went out of their way to make sure my stay was very pleasurable organising transport and giving great advised on places to see and good places to eat. Hot and Cold water, amazing swimming pool and relaxing garden area and free very fast wifi connection.

Hotel restaurant food was delicious and beers icy cold! I even took ANU's Indian cooking lessons at the hotel which was very good.

The hotel is located only a short 10-15min walk from the busy tourist areas of Udaipur so close enough to be near the action but far enough away to get away from some of the hustle of bustle.

On my last day when I was running short on time a hotel staff member even went into to town for me to buy some small puppets from the local markets for my kids which I had forgotten to get myself.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Best hotel for a good price. This hotel is not in the old town of Udaipur, but near the park and the zoo. Walking to the old town is about 10 minutes. Its also more quiet than hotel in the old town and their swimming pool is very nice. Also the restaurant is very good, though breakfast is rather basic but dinner is recommended. Nice helpfull staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I live in Udaipur and I come here nearly everyday. It's a little paradis where you can relax near to the swimming pool and with tortuga. The staff is reallly good in everyway kind, polite, not to much pression they are here just when you need them. You will feel like home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VINCENT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Leaving this hotel after a 4 night stay. What a great experience. Wonderfully attentive staff everywhere. Clean and amply supplied rooms. Great pool area and garden for those lazy afternoons. Extra special touches everywhere abound. Namaste.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
udaipur
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I have been staying at this hotel for ten years now. I frequently visit Rajasthan from Australia and fly via Singapore directly into Ahmedabad. Mahendra Prakash has a car waiting for me at the airport, I am driven straight to the hotel (4 hr, 3000rp) and a comfortable bed and a hot shower in a beautiful room (at very reasonable rates). And I wake up in beautiful Udaipur.
Many other reviewers attest to the friendly and helpful staff and the good food. The restaurant is personable with tables, window seats and an interesting section set around the stepwell of the old haveli. Indian and continental breakfasts are both a pleasurable experience (good bread and the best marmalade and jams). The swimming pool is sparkling and the shady garden is great place to relax with chairs and tables and lounges. (This review is being written there at the moment on my laptop using the hotel's wifi connection). Transport connections are efficiently made by the reception staff. There is a very good daily laundry service. What more could you want? The first visit is inevitably good, lots of photos on this site show the beauty of the place, but it is in the second and third visits that the true nature of the hotel shows through.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidji741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Property: Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing