We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #15 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My boyfriend and I were originally meant to stay in a hotel recommended by a Delhi travel agent. Thankfully we decided to find somewhere ourselves and came across the Mahendra Prakash and how pleased we did. We were planning to stay a couple of nights and ended up here for a week, sunning ourselves in the gardens with the resident tortoises relaxing around us. The rooms were quaint, clean and comfortable. The location was super for the city, easy walk or tuc tuc ride away. The staff were very friendly and happy to assist us in any way they could. All in all a fabulous place to put your feet up and relax. Oh and they have a cave with a very cute resident bat!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happycampers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mahendra Prakash
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

We spent a few days here in August 2012 and can highly recommend it. The pool is as good as it looks and service was excellent. Rooms are clean and after mentioning our towels weren't the best, we were supplied with brand new Ralph Lauren - a touch of luxury! Plus the tortoises Tommy and Harry provided constant amusement while sunbathing in the garden.

If I could change one thing it would be the food. They cook a mean omlette and the chips are delicious but the Indian food was very greasy so we did eat out a lot.

Room Tip: If you want a lie in, ask for a room away from the atrium - cleaning gets going early in the morning...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londongirl149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel was our favourite during our trip around Rajasthan. The rooms are lovely and very clean with a genuine old-fashioned Indian Haveli feel. Our room was far more spacious than many others in India. We stayed in one of the cheaper doubles but it was still beautiful. The staff are lovely people and will help you out with anything or are even just keen to chat. Many other hotels promised nice pools and failed to deliver but Mahendra's pool really is beautiful- so clean and very relaxing. The tortoises wandering the grass are also a charming touch. Don't miss out on the restaurant. We found the breakfast over-priced but dinner was fantastic with very fresh flavours. I would highly recommend the paneer and the naan. We arrived late and the chef was still happy to whisk us up one of the best meals we had in Rajasthan.
Definitely the place to stay in Udaipur, away from the stress of the town centre and for a reasonable price. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We are 3 french friends, 25 years old, and we stayed here for 2 nights. We found this absolutely charming hotel in Udaipur, very clean, calm, with a swimming pool, a garden, restaurant service.
People were very nice, they helped us book some train tickets, let us use the swimming pool after our check-out, and were always truly concerned about our well-being.
On the top of that the prices are very low.
Definitely the place to stay in Udaipur!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Etiennela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is really nice and gives you a warm homely feel. We got a Deluxe room on the third floor - the balcony gave a view of the city palace and it was fantastic. The food is also good and the staff is very courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Third Floor - Deluxe Rooms; they give you a view of the City Palace (which looks really...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriyankMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I spent 10 nights in this hotel. It's very nice and clean. it's a family ran hotel. The staff is incredibly helpful and nice, they're always smiling.
I had an accident while touring in india and they have been extremely nice to me, making me feel at home while I was needing it the most.
the location is good, you're in awalking distance ffrom all the popular places. 10-15minutes.

Este hotel es una maravilla, las habitaciones son grandes, limpias y decoradas con mucha gracia. El personal es super atento y amable.
Me rompí una pierna, y durante los 10 días que he estado aquí antes de poder volar me han tratado como una princesa.
Esta a 15 minutos, a pie, del casco viejo. puedes ir andando a todas partes.

Room Tip: all the rooms have their own qualities. If you stay on the top ones, you'll have a good views. I...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barr1feta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Just spent a week and a half at this hotel and found it to be a great place to stay if you find yourself in Udaipur, India. The rooms are clean and neat. The service is very good. The location is great with an easy walk up into the old part of town or go the other way into the local market. The staff is always ready to help you with anything you need. Laundry service was great. Good food at the restaurant. Just a great place to kick back and relax after a busy day out in town. The pool is a super plus. The prices are very reasonable. So I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 163 in Udaipur
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#7 of 163 in Udaipur
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 163 in Udaipur
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#13 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £33 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing