We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We selected this hotel based on its trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotels gardens are beautiful and a great place to relax away from the busy streets. Our room was spotless and the staff were incredibly helpful. We opted for a suite room which had its own balcony and views of the city palace. It cost 3,300 rps per night including taxes. My only two criticisms of the hotel where that the pool was very cold (although I understand that pools in India usually don't have heaters) and that the onsite massages are a little pricey. Other than these two points the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLadyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    230
    44
    14
    6
See reviews for
218
249
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have just spent six nights in this lovely hotel. What a joy. I upgraded our room once we got there as I felt we needed a bit more room. We moved to room 21 which is fit for a maharajah!
There was nothing that we could fault. The location was perfect, just a short walk or tuk tuk ride away from the centre of Udaipur, and away from the noise of the traffic in the centre of town.

The staff are so polite and caring. They really mind that you are happy and having a good time. The restaurant is manned by three delightful waiters, who again, rush around looking after you. We ate here for three nights and the food was delicious. Thank you everyone. You deserve all the good reviews you get, the hotel is a dream.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 18-26. They are massive and very light and overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shropshirelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneville, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had a lovely tme in this hotel with a warming atmosphere, we stayed longer than we thought as we couldn't leave this charming place and welcoming host.Moreover my 7 years old son was sick for a few days ans all the staff took care of him with special food and care.
The whole team is so kind and friendly
If you go to Udaipur, you definately have to stay there !!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dufresne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed at Mahendra Prakash recently and were very happy with the cleanliness and decor of the rooms. The staff at the restaurant were really good. The food was tasty and well priced. We booked our car through the hotel for all 3 days we were there. One of the day's we got a driver called Lokesh who was rude and very inconsiderate of the fact that my daughter was unwell. Better avoid him. Else other drivers were very friendly and helpful. The hotel outsources their drivers so I would suggest if you get a good driver, better ask the hotel to book the same driver for all the days.

Room Tip: The bed was actually two single beds pushed together....not sure if all the rooms have those kind of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niftymegha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The best hotel in that price category I ever stayed in India. A beautiful room with an alkoven and coloured windows, great swimming pool and garden and a very helpful staff, fluent in English and not after tips. They are very helpful in organizing trips and excursions. And Udaipur anyway is one of the best places in India.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADG483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem with understated luxury and became a favourite hotel of those I visited in India. Extremely comfortable & welcoming inside. I really enjoyed having breakfast in the garden and my room was gorgeous. There is a pool and they even have 2 tortoises who live there and hang out in the garden. I loved the way this hotel was decorated, an Indian oasis. The service provided by the staff was impeccable and friendly. I had to remind myself to get outside and see Udaipur!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47kelly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

If the lake palace is too expensive, but you want to stay within close proximity, this hotel is perfect. Staff provided great service, rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. If you get the chance, request one of the guest rooms with the stained glass window seat. It gives you that feel of the Mughal Royalty. Udaipur has to be one of my favourite Rajastan cities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deltadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Property: Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing