We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming pretty little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming pretty little place”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice - one night in Jan and one night in July. We went back simply we found it very pretty, very pleasing to the eyes, quiet and charming.

The first time we got a room overlooking the pool on the first floor. Small but cozy. Basic amenities like tv, electric kettle, hot water were all provided for. We had a four poster bed in our room that made us feel quite old fashioned, in a pleasant way! The second time we got a room overlooking the pretty little courtyard. We were three of us and the room was large, accommodating us comfortably.

Food is pretty average but one has a lot of options in the main market and palace area so it's ok. Both times we left before breakfast, so can't comment on that. The dining area however is very charming. They have cross legged sitting arrangement in alcoves as well as proper chairs and tables.

The pool is small but very clean. In fact the whole property itself is very clean and fabulously maintained. We even made friends with the huge turtle family basking in the sunny garden next to the pool!

The first time, we took hour long massages and they gave both my husband and I some complimentary therapy as well, in which they filled a cloth pouch with herbs and hot medicated oil and massaged it on our back and limbs. Oh...hot oil massage in the Jan winter in Rajasthan...bliss!!! And for free...even better!!!

Very good option for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCD_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    237
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
229
260
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here last year in March but recently recommended it to a friend so thought let me also write something ….Hotel's location is very good …walking distance to major attractions …Very beautiful hotel …gud buffet breakfast… restaurant is overpriced compared to the portions /quantity …Rooms are very spacious and very well decorated… Very clean bathroom …and yes the swimming pool was also very good ...Overall we had a very good time

Room Tip: we had ground floor rooms ...they were really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYASINHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This place is just perfect, the staff is the nicest you can imagine (special thanks to Mr K at the desk office), they make everything to make your stay relax and pleasant. For instance my friend was sick and they really took a special care of us. The restaurant is charming - traditional musician every morning for breakfast ! - and the food tasty, the pool is clean and the garden lovely (and full of cute turtles). Yes, stay there. Definitively.

Thank you Mahendra Prakash !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agathe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was one of our favourite places in India, great location, friendly & informative service (the staff gave great unbiased advice on car/driver information),the rooms were very comfortable, cool clean pool, very affordable, food was some of the best we had in India, a family of cute turtles wander around the garden area.... a little oasis!

Room Tip: we had a room opposite the pool on ground level which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenim0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilaspur
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Yes truly this hotel is fit for king, luxury for those on budget. managed by a family, we were warmly welcomed and felt like home. breakfast is great and there is the main market in the vicinity which proved very helpful for last minute purchases!!! they even helped book our bus tickets!!
only downside is the swimming pool which was damn cold but as for the fact that most indian hotels dont have heater in the pool, that went fine. hospitality was upto the mark!! and the staff was really very friendly!!

Room Tip: "always insist on the rooms on the top floor as they are wide and large as compared to one on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Having traveled around India for weeks, we was very pleased to have found Mahendra Prakesh. Such a nice relaxing atmosphere, with fantastic service.
The restaurant was delicious, some of the best food we have come across in India! Complete with very friendly and helpful staff. Many Thanks.
Great Location only 5-10 min walk away from the lake and other cafe/restaurants.
Rooms spacious and spotless.
All in all this hotel is luxury at a reasonable price, would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden and swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 23Baker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I visited here with my family (we were a today of 11 people). The rooms a are very nice with each one having a bit of different decor.

The swimming pool was kept very clean and we enjoyed it thoroughly.

The hotel is also located band in the middle of the city still once you get inside its very peaceful.

The food options are not too great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisodiap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 158 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 158 in Udaipur
2,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 158 in Udaipur
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#45 of 158 in Udaipur
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 158 in Udaipur
449 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 158 in Udaipur
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Property: Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing