We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really, home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #11 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“really, home away from home”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

from my partner & I during our less than two week stay here:

- clean, comfortable, & spacious room
- very friendly, quirky (love it), & helpful staff
- mr k is a legend
- a lovely oasis on the outskirts of old city. Walking distance to the old city & lake pichola. Railway & bus depot nearby (not walking distance though)
- adequate buffet breakfast
- happy they had a French press
- decent restaurant food
- pool was clean & beautiful. Cute turtle couple roaming the garden
- did we mention the staff was great
- last but not least. Reasonably priced rooms. Will struggle to find a better hotel for its price.
- wifi is free & reliable

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inne_ap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    237
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
229
259
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a great little hotel with a decent sized swimming pool in it's serene courtyard. It's the perfect place to, if you've been out & about taking in the sights and sounds of Rajasthan thus far, just kick off your shoes and relax on a deck chair, under a tree or in the pool and recharge your travel batteries. Breakfast is included (except certain luxuries like filter coffee) and the lunch and dinners menus are pretty good. The rooms are clean and quaint, decorated with a careful historical touch.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building overlooking the courtyard are probably best. There is one particular room rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeke_dP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I spent one night here recently with my sister, and subsequently sent 6 of my friends there on their visit to India. We all agreed that this hotel is special. The decor and garden are very beautiful and the hotel has a very tranquil feeling. The staff were really the highlight as they were so accomodating and friendly, but never intrusive or pushy. They were a pleasure to deal with. Location was good as it's just a few minutes walk from the back gate of the City Palace. From there you can get the ticket for your tour of the Palace and boat tour. Food at the hotel was also good and well priced. The pool was also lovely.

I would recommend visiting the "Soma" shop next door to the hotel for some beautiful fabrics and clothing made in Jaipur. The shop is not associated with the hotel, but I came across it on my walk to the Palace. Really nice stuff.

Overall, Mahendra Prakesh was the perfect option for us.

Claire

Room Tip: Chose the Super Deluxe that are situated along the right side of the pool. They are very beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A musician plays on the lawn at breakfast. Lovely gathering spots by the pool and in the courtyards. Friendly staff. Great location. Compared to other hotels at this price, the selection at breakfast isn't quite up to par, but what was there was good. The mattress was a little thin, but I still slept well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

One of the most amazing hotels I have stayed in, which made my Udaipur experience so much more incredible,the rooms were superb- very clean.The staff here are super friendly and made us feel like friends or familiar.
I have no doubt I will be back here!!
Highly recommend staying here.
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashokv851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice - one night in Jan and one night in July. We went back simply we found it very pretty, very pleasing to the eyes, quiet and charming.

The first time we got a room overlooking the pool on the first floor. Small but cozy. Basic amenities like tv, electric kettle, hot water were all provided for. We had a four poster bed in our room that made us feel quite old fashioned, in a pleasant way! The second time we got a room overlooking the pretty little courtyard. We were three of us and the room was large, accommodating us comfortably.

Food is pretty average but one has a lot of options in the main market and palace area so it's ok. Both times we left before breakfast, so can't comment on that. The dining area however is very charming. They have cross legged sitting arrangement in alcoves as well as proper chairs and tables.

The pool is small but very clean. In fact the whole property itself is very clean and fabulously maintained. We even made friends with the huge turtle family basking in the sunny garden next to the pool!

The first time, we took hour long massages and they gave both my husband and I some complimentary therapy as well, in which they filled a cloth pouch with herbs and hot medicated oil and massaged it on our back and limbs. Oh...hot oil massage in the Jan winter in Rajasthan...bliss!!! And for free...even better!!!

Very good option for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCD_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here last year in March but recently recommended it to a friend so thought let me also write something ….Hotel's location is very good …walking distance to major attractions …Very beautiful hotel …gud buffet breakfast… restaurant is overpriced compared to the portions /quantity …Rooms are very spacious and very well decorated… Very clean bathroom …and yes the swimming pool was also very good ...Overall we had a very good time

Room Tip: we had ground floor rooms ...they were really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYASINHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 157 in Udaipur
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 157 in Udaipur
449 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 157 in Udaipur
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Property: Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing