We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #13 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel has a really nice, friendly feel to it. The rooms are a perfect blend of comfortable and quirky and the garden and pool area are nice, with tortoises wandering around. Some reviews seem to say the bathrooms aren't that good, they aren't anything special but they are ok. My friend was ill on the day we checked out and the staff let us keep the room until it was time for us to leave. I would pick that kind of helpfulness and the general warm feel to this place over an impersonal, stark hotel with a power shower any day. Its close to the centre but also quiet. This was my favourite hotel of all the places we stayed in India.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel is a 15min walk from the lake or City Palace. Has shops/tailors nearby. Staff are friendly and helpful will give a map of the area and tourist sites. Easy to get a tuk tuk at front hotel should you not wish to walk. Rooms are over 2 levels either surrounding a internal courtyard or the pool and restaurant. There is a spacious verandah outside the rooms with outdoor seating and quirky decorations. Our room had twin four poster single beds, a small seating area and desk. Complimentary water and tea/coffee making in room. Free wifi available in room. Flat screen TV good selection of english channells. No fridge. Bathroom was clean and modern with a large walk in shower with great hot water. The restaurant is not large but there is also seating outside on the lawn area near the spa. The buffet had a good selection of indian and small continental selection/sweet biscuits/cake, eggs to order. The buffet dinner selection was also good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillianKPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The property is very well maintained & really beautiful. It's homely atmosphere with simple & elegant ambience attracts me the most. Food is also very tasty & price is reasonable. I would like to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anwesa_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The place itself is beautiful and offer quality accommodation. The pool was an respite for the hot day as the temperature have started to soar. The rooms were big and nicely decorated and maintained. Overall a quality place to stay in Udaipur.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jhonty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Located very close to city palace . It gives you the feel that u are in the city if palaces .rooms a big and nice .the reception is friendly . The house keeping was not very swift they probably were understaffed .its one if the best budgeted hotel I have been to. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10DSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Best thing about the hotel is its location. Its away from all the crowded areas yet everything important is merely 5 mins away. MP is a bful and well maintained property. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Our room was 22 which had a good swimming pool n garden view and also gave us some privacy. I loved its jharokha balcony. Garden provided us an ample space for our 4 yr old to play around. They have kept some tortoises which gv our little one a good reason to come back to hotel. Staff is also efficient and helpful. Apart from all these great things about the hotel we faced some issues on d first night of our stay. There was a night long power outage due to some internal wiring issue which was fixed next day. Also food was very average. They need to improve here. Apart from this its a very nice stay. We recommend this place for family people and for those who are looking for a relaxing trip to Udaipur.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank khushboos2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Mahendra Prakash hotel and were very happy of our stay.
This hotel who is a Haveli is REALLY clean and it is a pleasure.Beds and sheets perfectly clean as well as the bathrooms and towels.It is rare enough in India to be noticed !
The rooms are big, confortables, quiet, nicely decorated.The service is very good.
Breakfast is served in a small restaurant near the swimming pool and a day we enjoyed a musician playing morning ragas: it was very nice.
Rooms rates are reasonnable for the quality even if the breakfast is a bit much expensive if you chose by the menu card.
The receptionnist was very nice with us and very helpfull: to visit all Udaipur interest places but also to rent twice a car with driver for a day ( good drivers witf safe driving) at a reasonnable price to visit Ranakpur, Kumbalgarh then Nagda, Eklingi and Nathwara.
A pity ( and a big surprise !) that the weather was too cold ( 18th February) to use the beautiful swimming pool !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#10 of 175 in Udaipur
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#45 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
2 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 175 in Udaipur
970 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#19 of 175 in Udaipur
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#16 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £32 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing