We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Hotel......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #11 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting Hotel......”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Not sure what this building was before it became a hotel, but's it's interesting all the same. The rooms surround a central open air courtyard where you can find the swimming pool and restuarant. Traditionally furnished, they dont have the best views, but who spends all day in a hotel room anyway!

The rooms aren't big, but they are well decorated, clean and comfortable. The retuarant closes early and seemed to run out of breakfast stuff occassionally. However, that wasnt a big deal - it's all part of the fun. Town is a ten minute walk away and well worth exploring.

There were plenty of staff on hand if you needed anything and a small business centre too. The only problem we had, was coming in late one night, the gates were locked and in a very quiet strett - a little worrying. However, after rattling the gates (and a quick thought about climbing over them), someone did unlock them and let us in.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthamptonSpeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    237
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
229
259
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This hotel is amazing, every one is nice, I have lived in a dream for two weeks in this amazing place ! You have to sleep here, quiet and close from everything, almost perfect !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swann_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

As a regular visitor to Udaipur I had often thought about staying at this hotel but usually ended up cooking a place with a view of at least one the lakes. This time I am glad we did stay here because this really is nice place place. Away from the hustle and bustle of central Udaipur and Lake Pichola both of which are visit easy reach.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idoru222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

There is really no need to stay anywhere else except if you want to dine in every night . The breakfasts and snakes are great , omelettes , pancakes , fruit bowls , toasted sambos etc but if they improved the rest of the menu food quality then it would really be a winner . We booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying 6 .Our room on the upper floor was huge and overlooked the pool . Great value for money and 3 months later it is still one of our nicest stays in India .

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2010

the ambiance is awesome.. the pool is well maintained. good food and polite service.. a good visit...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahendrasurana3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Room was clean, bathroom was clean. Furnishings were fine, maybe just a little dated but very serviceable. Swimming pool was a real treat and waiter service was particularly attentive. Restaurant was fine, nothing too grand on the menu but very enjoyable and well cooked. and well priced. We thought this was a really good value hotel and well located for the Palace and Lake. We didn't miss the view of the lake from the hotel, within 5 - 10 minutes you can be at Sunset point for the view.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed three nights in the Mahendra Prakash when we were in Udaipur. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. It is located outside the old quarter of Udaipur in an old and very nice building. There are different rooms overlooking the pool and the nice garden where guests relax after sightseeing in the heat. You can eat besides the pool (or just have a drink there) which is beautifully illuminated at night. One of the best places we stayed in in India!

However, the staff is sometimes a little indifferent. It was sometimes hard to find someone to talk to when we wanted to arranged tours or transport. When we told them we had a cocroach in the room it seemed they couldn't care less.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 157 in Udaipur
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 157 in Udaipur
449 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 157 in Udaipur
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Property: Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing