We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and Relaxing Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We found about the hotel from TripAdvisor, and booked it over the phone/Email. The staff was very courteous and prompt. We arrived at the hotel from Mt. Abu at around 3:00 pm, though the kitchen was closed, the staff told us to have lunch before we complete the formalities. The place is a 300 years old Haveli, with a very interesting history. The place was clean and every room unique tastefully decorated. The lawns and pool are also well kept and the Tortoises moving around in the lawn was particularly amusing. The place is child friendly and has lots of historical Photos put up all around the place.
The Staff was helpful, and suggested us the itinerary for Udaipur, with an evening at Bagore ki Haveli for a cultural extravagant. They also suggested small tidbits like to have Kachuri from J & B which was very useful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

this marvelous hotel is near of the palace , you can go walking to the palace and temple , the road is clean ( with indian standard) , the food excelent and the swiming pool is a marvelous thing when you return at the hotel , the room is quiet and the people is very good , the dont recive credit card is the only problem .

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drorozco55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Not sure what this building was before it became a hotel, but's it's interesting all the same. The rooms surround a central open air courtyard where you can find the swimming pool and restuarant. Traditionally furnished, they dont have the best views, but who spends all day in a hotel room anyway!

The rooms aren't big, but they are well decorated, clean and comfortable. The retuarant closes early and seemed to run out of breakfast stuff occassionally. However, that wasnt a big deal - it's all part of the fun. Town is a ten minute walk away and well worth exploring.

There were plenty of staff on hand if you needed anything and a small business centre too. The only problem we had, was coming in late one night, the gates were locked and in a very quiet strett - a little worrying. However, after rattling the gates (and a quick thought about climbing over them), someone did unlock them and let us in.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthamptonSpeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This hotel is amazing, every one is nice, I have lived in a dream for two weeks in this amazing place ! You have to sleep here, quiet and close from everything, almost perfect !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swann_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

As a regular visitor to Udaipur I had often thought about staying at this hotel but usually ended up cooking a place with a view of at least one the lakes. This time I am glad we did stay here because this really is nice place place. Away from the hustle and bustle of central Udaipur and Lake Pichola both of which are visit easy reach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idoru222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

There is really no need to stay anywhere else except if you want to dine in every night . The breakfasts and snakes are great , omelettes , pancakes , fruit bowls , toasted sambos etc but if they improved the rest of the menu food quality then it would really be a winner . We booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying 6 .Our room on the upper floor was huge and overlooked the pool . Great value for money and 3 months later it is still one of our nicest stays in India .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

the ambiance is awesome.. the pool is well maintained. good food and polite service.. a good visit...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahendrasurana3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 165 in Udaipur
2,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#10 of 165 in Udaipur
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#41 of 165 in Udaipur
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 165 in Udaipur
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 165 in Udaipur
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £34 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing