We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
Ranked #54 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel is quite far outside of town on a charming farming road.
The garden setting is beautiful with great views from the roof top restaurant.
The rooms were huge with a working TV with some English channels.
The furniture was period reproductions, so the overall ambiance was nice.
I used the gym once - the equipment was older but I got it to work.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

But on the other side,
The bath was not clean
The AC worked, but struggled to cool the large room
They have NO wifi and the one computer never worked while we were there.
The pools were murky and unswimmable.
The food was over priced and average buffet. We did better off of the menu.
The beds were hard.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

We spent three nights at the resort , and loved every moment of it .. gr8 place amidst natural surroundings . they have two pools ,and a beautiful collection of artifacts . aesthetically done up place . would love to come back again .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank natasha60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Royal Retreat is situated in a farming area a couple of minutes outside of Udaipur. It's the perfect location to escape to after the hustle and bustle of city life (and traffic)!

The decor and entire property is enchanting! Rooms are located in units with about four rooms per unit and all units overlook the pool and garden, as well as the Aravalli Hills. Rooms are incredible spacious and offer everything one might need. Many have balconies too, with plush pillows to lie on and gaze at the stars!

The food is really good! Dinners are often served on an open terrace, a very romantic setting! Waiters are eager to please and are always ready to serve.

Although I didn't try any of the spa services, some of the group did and said it was very good. Next time I stay there, I want to go horseriding!

The Royal Retreat is the perfect place to end a tour to the Golden Triangle!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GlobalGirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

appears very good on arrival. staff at the front desk was not very welcoming. even with ample parking space available nearby I was made to park my vehicle at the parking which was a ten minutes walk away at a lower altitude.The food was bad atrociously expensive. the buffet menu did not have any variety and the items were often repeated on consecutive days. The room service was very poor. The owners who also stayed there were a loud group moving around with glasses of drinks in their hands. The only courtesy shown was to white tourists. I strongly disrecommend this place to indian tourists

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drrajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We were a group of 15 people with infants, children, teens, adults, and old people who stayed during the festive time of Diwali at this hotel for 2 nights. The Resort is located quite in an isolated place and is brezzy and cjilly at night...It is indeed a decent property with two pools and huge garden and decently maintained ethic so-called royal rooms...we were okay with all of this.

But, the worst is the service and the management. On check in, they told us that there is no room service and you will have to do everything by yourself except room cleaning. We were shocked to see this kind of behavior. Later, every morning we had fights and arguments with the hotel staff and the rude managers who took the side of its staff and blamed the guests for the all things we did. This was insane. I travel across the world and reside in India but this was the most unpleasant experience for all of our group.

The food quality and the variety was AWFUL..every morning one of the group members found a cockroach or insect in their milk or food and they never listened to any of our requests for indian food...they catered only western food biased towards foreign tourists.

This was ridiculous..I am hell bent on degrading this property by posting negative reviews all over the internet due to poor staff, rude management and pathetic food quality. If you can live with all this humiliation, then feel free to stay there and experience the royalty at royal retreat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IndiaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Really at nice location, but service is poor.
Horse riding is not available.
Massage service is also not availble, even it has great spa.
very less staff at resort.
Rooms are huge, cozy with good interior.
Food is of average taste,

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajeshContractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Royal Retreat is a wonderful place to stay. Rooms are good. The best thing about the hotel is its Garden which is beautifully maintained. Food is ok. Service good.
Would suggest to stay with group or family...

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kartikeyajha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Amantra Shilpi Resort
Amantra Shilpi Resort
#4 of 177 in Udaipur
423 reviews
9 mi away
Tree Leaf Vantara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#16 of 177 in Udaipur
777 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#25 of 177 in Udaipur
251 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#13 of 177 in Udaipur
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur

Address: Badi Hawala Road, Udaipur 313025, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £82 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the hustle of the city and move into lavish and serene space of The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa. It is the ideal place to relax, unwind and soak in what promises to be an unforgettable experience. Thoughtfully appointed 100 rooms loaded with handicrafts, antiques and modern amenities. Everything is designed to make a guest feel special and rejuvenated. Indulge into the magnificence of plush restaurants and glamorous lounge. The Royal Retreat serves as an ethereal holiday place, which would definitely leave you with many memories and an explicit desire to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Retreat Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing