We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank you for a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
Ranked #55 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 19 May 2012

many thanks for the lovely time
the food the drinks and the Peacock Suite were all Divine.
We felt super welcome guests
Your love care and hospitality were just the best
love
Rajiv

Room Tip: the suites are comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vrinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

..dont miss the Royal Retreat. Comfortable , clean and spacious accomodations with great furnishings, very good food, and beautiful surroundings make for a relaxing and inspired stay. Dont worry about "not being in town"...Udaipur is neither large nor congested by Indian standards and you'll be grateful for the serene setting after a day in the city. Cars and cabs are easily available and not expensive.This is a great alternative to the outrageous tariff at places like the Lake Palace. I saw a comment about the rough road coming from town to the resort. In my opinion this is untrue. The short (fifteen minute) ride that passes through the village of Badi is pleasant, interesting and memorable.There are two nice pools a spa and a gym as well.This is a good choice as a base of operations for really enjoying Udaipur(which is a great small friendly city) without the fussy glamour and expense of the mega hotels.

Room Tip: We had a suite...it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank texjew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

V.S.NAIPAUL'S narrator in his novel THE ENIGMA OF ARRIVAL says that "land is not land alone,something that simply is itself.Land partakes of what we breathe into it,is touched by our moods and memories." When we that is Abhishek and me chose THE ROYAL RETREAT for our hard earned vacation we had planned a totally rejuvenating ,re -energising holiday.Our experience here was just that and much more.The romance of the green and pleasant rural landscape is heightened by the luxury of the warm ,personalised service - the lavish ,wide variety spread at the buffet breakfast and dinner ,the peaceful sleep - far from the madding crowd ,the tranqil ,unproblematic morning all combined gave absolute rest to the soul.Thank you ROYAL RETREAT for your kind unimposing softness for everything.Recommended to all looking for peaceful luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter,suites are luxurious and wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abhishekgarima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel is very nice with well equipped rooms - unfortunately that is where it all ends.
The service is poor, unfriendly and extremely slow and do not try to reach the room service as that phone number is never answered. And there is a notice that they have a la carte dinner service, but this is wrong so buffet or nothing. And be there early for breakfast while they still have bacon.

If you have a driver along make sure that he can get anything to eat which I was told he could not get within the hotel.

The access road to the hotel, which is well outside Udaipur, is - to say the least - extremely poor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Retreat was an excellent experience. The service was personalized, Room service extended to the balconies, the poolside, the amazing open air bar, wherever we wanted. The food was tasty without being heavy(the starters were all amazing). The location was extremely tranquil next to a forest reserve. The decor breathtaking with antiques placed at every nook & corner. The old world charm of the place was very efficiently supplemented with all modern amenities for a comfortable stay. The staff was courteous & hospitable without being intrusive. & the beautiful city of lakes was just about a 15 minute drive away so all in all it was a fabulous getaway.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank nootan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

this new year i was in udaipur wid my frnds, v all were lookin for sum adventure bt trust me if one wants adventure wid a royal touch, u ought to b here, n her only

v checked in de hotel, it was as easy as a pie , da room ws amazing and de best part was wen v open da window at night , n its so peaceful cuz u r away from da city pollution and noise....v dropped our plan to have a adventurous stay, v jus wanted to chill nw..........

da staff was amzing.... dey were so helpfull and polite wid , it ws like v had de title written on our our head "HANDLE WITH CARE"....they were asking if v r enjoying our stay weneva v came face to face eachoda....

Mr. C.B. Joshi .........a manager to run yr industry....he showed us da handicrafts....dey were so valuable......it was fun to b in royal retreat....

overall, v had a royal experience wid royal retreat.....

come n stay , u jus wont regreat eva....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dushyant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel is like a museum and has a fantastic decor. We went in winter and it was very deserted.

Plus points:
a) Quiet in the middle of no where; beautiful views and tranquil
b) Nice property with lot of antiques, even out-of-the-window balconies
c) Service was good; in India as always its great to be served by 3-4 waiters.

Minus points:
a) In the middle of nowhere; restaurant / bar is a bit pricey (5 star hotel rates); no other option to eat / drink.
b) Rooms can be cold in winter; they give you a small heater but there are chinks in the windows so it is pretty much open
c) Pools are not heated in winter so pretty much useless.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelOne0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Amantra Shilpi Resort
Amantra Shilpi Resort
#4 of 177 in Udaipur
423 reviews
9 mi away
Tree Leaf Vantara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#16 of 177 in Udaipur
775 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#25 of 177 in Udaipur
251 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#13 of 177 in Udaipur
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur

Address: Badi Hawala Road, Udaipur 313025, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £83 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the hustle of the city and move into lavish and serene space of The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa. It is the ideal place to relax, unwind and soak in what promises to be an unforgettable experience. Thoughtfully appointed 100 rooms loaded with handicrafts, antiques and modern amenities. Everything is designed to make a guest feel special and rejuvenated. Indulge into the magnificence of plush restaurants and glamorous lounge. The Royal Retreat serves as an ethereal holiday place, which would definitely leave you with many memories and an explicit desire to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Retreat Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing