We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good experiance of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa
Ranked #67 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good experiance of hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

like the hotel rooms services and food..recomend friends to visit this place very near to udepur just fifteen minutes drive can enjoy free trime in boating in fatehsagar lake jain temple is nearby can spend morning in worshipping god..

Room Tip: all rooms are big and comfortable but rooms near swimming pool are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPNJoshi, General Manager at The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thanks a lot for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    79
    28
    17
    32
See reviews for
94
50
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Visited this place. Quite far from city. Resort is quite large surrounded by mountains. Rooms are large. Beds are too high. Lots of antic stuff kept all around including the rooms. We checked in late, we were offered room on ground floor opposite reception. AC was totally ineffective. We sat in the room for almost two hours, called staff to check but room was not cooling. Then they transferred to room on first floor, which was ok, AC was average. Summer might be difficult considering the size of the room, they may have considered keeping two AC. Food in restaurant is quite expensive considering the location. Dinner was average, breakfast was not that good, lunch was not up to the mark. Staff especially at reception is not so co-operative and not professional. Staff needs severe professional training to handle guest. There are two pools but not so clean. We found many insects inside water also so be careful. Considering such a large property, they need professional management and also house keeping needs improvement. Carpets in room were dirty. Bedsheets had ink spots on it, after request they changed. Pillow covers had light brown patches not very clean. Water force in bathroom shower was not so good. The day we were checking out, I had kept my watch on side table, we were out, when we came back to room, the room was made. While packing, I noticed my watch was missing. I immediately went to reception, he sent the boy who cleaned the room. On asking him, he said that the watch was hanging on bed headboard. Anyway I found it. The cleaning boy should not have touched my belongings. Be careful.

Room Tip: Try room on first floor for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKapadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Excellent Place with two swimming pool , Multi cuisine Restaurant & spa.
My Favourite place & very good Food.
Rooms are too good and Big size.
we enjoy lots of in Pool.
I think its very beautiful place for wedding because of this resort have very good gardning and very big gardens which are divided in 03 portion.

Room Tip: Rooms are Divided in Blocks so its good for Family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepesh_soni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Our company put us up here for one night and two days, as part of our annual corporate getaway. It was a fantastic experience! The rooms are nice and spacious, having good furnishings and amenities. They have a nice conference area where we had our team talent show, games and awards ceremony. This place is also an art gallery. The art and décor gives one the feel of staying in a mini palace. The service was good and the food was excellent. It is a bit away from the main attractions, however you can easily hire a taxi to take you around. Good option to stay in Udaipur – for a corporate getaway or with family and friends on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

The resort is a best place for those who love luxury and leisure. If you want to go away from the hustle and bustle of the city...this the right destination. The resort has spa, swimming pool and lots of place to spend time peacefully. The staff is very courteous and the service is very quick. It has maintained a high standard in every aspect. The only minus point is it is far from the city so going to the city and coming is a long way and the area to pass through is remote village. We were stopped by some women villagers and they asked money to go further as it was some festive day. The resort gives a complete value for money.

Room Tip: Room facing the swimming pool will give a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dream_big18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhaka
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I booked & paid for the hotel online with one of the booking website and when I arrived they couldn't find my details. Fortunately they managed to get in touch with the company and I was given a room with a free upgrade. I was a bit surprised when I was told that there was no internet connection in the rooms (no cable, no wi-fi): the only chance is to use the hotel laptop at the reception at a very cheap rate (or to get a sim card for your smart phone...). That did not affect my holiday, as it was an excuse to forget about the rest of the world. And this is what you feel at the hotel: it's a 10 minutes drive from Udaipur, but you really feel peacefully in the middle of nowhere! You are on a hill, in a beautiful garden, with two swimming pools, nice stables with horses for nice rides in the countryside, a wonderful outlet of handcrafts and a workshop where you can order customised items (if you find something in the showroom that doesn't fit in your home or whose colour/finishing you don't like): ask aazad, the manager of the workshop. It's heaven for shopaholics... They ship everywhere in the world at reasonable prices (like most of the hops in town).
As for the rooms, mine was huge, clean, well decorated in rajastani style (all the furniture and decorations of rooms and hotel are on sale: almost everything has a price tag and also what doesn't have can be bought or ordered from the showroom (again, ask aazad). Talking with other guests, they also liked their big rooms and the decorations. When I first entered the bathroom there was no water, but after telling the reception they immediately fixed the problem: it seemed to be a problem of the water pump (I guess somebody had forgotten to turn it on...). One thing I would complain about is the water heater: as it is not that big, you can hardly have a long shower with hot water. I am afraid if two persons share a room, they can't have their shower one after the other... I only had breakfast at the restaurant, so I can't tell anything about the food. The only thing I can say is that the buffet breakfast was fair: not achuge choice, but I am sure that everybody can find something. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is lovely: you really feel in an palace of old times.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

After 14 days on the road in Rajasthan (heat and dust) it was wonderful to arrive in the green and tranquil environment of The Royal Retreat Hotel, Udaipur.
This elegant resort is located near Badi village on the outskirts of Udaipur...and next to the nature reserve.the gardens of the Royal Retreat are very special. There are many trees, roses, birds, as well as horse back riding in the country side.
Management and staff gave us a warm welcome and our suite (complete with sensational silver furniture) had been carefully prepared.
After 14 days of thalis and curries it was good to order European dishes from their a la cart menus. Their Indian food is also excellent, and we have also enjoyed their buffet breakfasts, as well as
dinners.
All in all, The Royal Retreat(royalreatreatudipur) offers first class and refreshing experience and we recommend it.

Room Tip: This is a hotel to relax and chill out..horse back riding as well as 2 large and beautiful swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#22 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#17 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
5.7 mi away
TatSaraasa Resort & Spa
TatSaraasa Resort & Spa
#9 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa
Address: Badi Hawala Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the hustle of the city and move into lavish and serene space of The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa. It is the ideal place to relax, unwind and soak in what promises to be an unforgettable experience. Thoughtfully appointed 100 rooms loaded with handicrafts, antiques and modern amenities. Everything is designed to make a guest feel special and rejuvenated. Indulge into the magnificence of plush restaurants and glamorous lounge. The Royal Retreat serves as an ethereal holiday place, which would definitely leave you with many memories and an explicit desire to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Retreat Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing