We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devra Udaipur
Nearby Hotels
The Leela Palace Udaipur(Udaipur)
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur(Udaipur)
US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$499
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaiwana Haveli(Udaipur)
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lakend(Udaipur)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
217
66
12
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
66
12
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmajor durga dashome stayexcellent hostsmonsoon palacesmall hillocklovely homestayhome away from homehome cooked foodrooms are spaciouswarm hospitalityhomely environmentperfect place to relaxhustle bustle of the cityprivate balconycity palacevisit this placeold city
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

A delightful homestay set in the countryside close to Udaipur. Very nice rooms, 6 rooms have been recently built with high quality interiors and beautifully landscaped into the grounds. Worth staying here for very peaceful surroundings only let down by rather unimaginitive food. A pool is being installed in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly built rooms
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMS2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My wife and I first came to Udaipur by road from Delhi when we were dating, back in August 2008 and then stopped a night in December 2009 on a road-trip from Delhi to Goa. The hosts have always been very accomodating of any requests, the staff is the best and the food... awesome! We have seen the place mature from a 3-room home stay to the artistic "boutique" hotel it is today but the best thing is the charm isn't lost...

Room Tip: All the rooms are worth experiencing
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saket S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

They advertise themselves as a hotel on their website but they really are a true homestay. Where your hosts, erstwhile royalty Major Durga Das and Jyoti Jasol, treat you royally. And for once, you can take what they say on their website to be true.

If you are in the romantic city of Udaipur, this is the place to stay. Far from the crowds, located atop a hill, you get a panoramic view of the city below. Mornings and evenings here are to be cherished - go to the highest of the multiple terraced building and enjoy the changing colours and moods with the rising and setting sun.

Devra is named after a 800 year old temple dedicated to the snake God located on this site; Devra literally means ‘where God resides’ or a ‘tribal temple’ by locals. Took years to cut away rocky hill and build the homestay. A visit and a silent homage is recommended - do check out the centuries old statuettes here.

And here is more about the place:

* Service: As mentioned earlier, you feel like royalty. The host family and their staff make that extra effort - from their heart - to make you comfortable and happy.
* Rooms: Very clean and well fitted. Sheets and towels are spotless, and furniture and mattresses designed for comfort. Bathrooms have hot and cold showers, with the usual toiletries.
* Location: On a hill, does not get better. Within the city, yet away from any noise. The air here is clean and fresh at all times, and you are never too far from any place.
* Amenities: You can walk around the place, refer to a library of interesting books, go bird watching (even feed them in the morning in the lawns), go horse riding, book a yoga class or go for a village walk. Or just sit back and enjoy life.
* Food Quality: You must have the meals here. Traditional fare cooked to your taste. Feel free to discuss preferences in the kitchen. Finger licking taste, made with mostly organic ingredients, served formally.
* Extras: Major Das is a keen environmentalist, and knows the estate and surrounding hills and forests very well. He is always ready to play guide and take you around - and regale you with stories of leopards who cross the property sometimes (worry not, they usually consume only poultry - and the Major’s fine Labrador two years back), birds and other flora and fauna. Get your hands dirty in the fields - the owners grow their own wheat, vegetables and lentils and have cows for milk. All organic!
* Liked Best: The location, the interiors, the food and the hospitality.
* Liked Least: Was not there for a longer trip - but will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Traveling trough India, we came to this oasis of peace and beauty, You felt like coming to visit your friend. Nice hotel, nice people,all comfort, defintely recommend to others

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Major Dugas and his wife have the most beautiful house in a rural setting just out side town. A real quiet get away to unwind, our hosts were fantastic and very accommodating of our 2 girls making us all feel welcome and special. Large clean rooms that all look out onto a fantasic vista. We could not recommend it high enough.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plcm_carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews