We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I took a trip to Udaipur two weeks ago and stayed at Devra.

It was a memorable trip thanks to Major Durga Das and Jyoti who run this simple, clean, and elegant homestay wonderfully well.

Located just the right distance from Udaipur I found the views of City Palace & the natural surroundings very nice. Jyoti runs a tight ship and has maintained simplicity of the locale , food and facilities. We found her very sensitive to guest needs. The staff is responsive.

The food was simple yet very nice, seeing rotis being cooked on open fires was some thing that brought back memories of days gone by.

The temple in the premises adds to the ambience not to mention the Major who appears to be the patriarch of the villagers nears by.

I intend to make another trip soon and spend time in the winter sun at Devra.

Good value for money.

Room Tip: In winters the rooms on the first floor offer great views and sunshine
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anand58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Devra Udaipur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

Devra is one of the few resorts which allows its guests to get a feel of the city of Udaipur. With very warm hosts, Devra brings forth the experience of being in touch with the local community - something that no glitzy 5 star hotel can provide.

The rooms are well appointed, the food is tasteful and homely and the service impeccable. A must try for those who want to feel the real spirit of community Udaipur has to offer.

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully done...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callitasiseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and i visited Devera in the last week of August. We have been wanting to write about Devera for a quite some time, but got busy with routine life. Today i am taking out special time for Devra as it truly deserves. The wonderful memory is still fresh and would like to visit the place again sometime in near future.
We were the only guest during our stay at Devera and we got a very warm and friendly treatment throughout our stay. We think August-end and September should be a good time to visit the place as it is not crowded and you get off-season rates!!. Monsoon should be over by that time and it should be pleasant (not too cold or hot).
In my opinion this is a wonderful place for couples to relax and who want peace and quality time, away from the city. Much has been written about this so i will not mention more, but I would highlight that this is the place to visit if you like birds, animals, nature and rural environment. Breakfast (complimentary) and lunch is served in verandah overlooking hills and the farms.
The environment is divine and very quiet, blessed by the temple. Major Das is a God fearing person and very down to earth. The temple has a few antique sculptures. It is interesting to interact with Major Das about how Devera was built and the history of the temple. I read about Major Das and my respect for him has increased once i met him. He adds to the charm of Devera. I got up early in the morning the next day at about 6.30 AM and i saw him feeding the birds (Devera is also a good place for bird watching). After that we went for a stroll in the village. It was good fun to walk through the lanes to the small school and the farms. Devera has its own farm and two cows. Major mentioned that the vegetables are mostly sourced from own farms and milk is from the cows.
Since the place is away from the city, travelling is an issue. But we expected this and we did not find very difficulty in navigating as the AC cab was arranged by Devera (RS 800 for half day). The next day Mrs. Das dropped us to the market in her own car and luckily when we wanted to come back major Das was in town who picked us. We did not want to see entire Udaipur and tourist places, but the few major interesting places. Mrs. Das helped us with that and she was very helpful. She works with the city palace and has good knowledge about the city and could be your handy guide.
Since this is a far off place, you will have to depend on Devera's kitchen most of the time, in my view. Which we found good but expensive. We had good breakfast and lunch at the verandah, which adds to the taste. The staff is very cordial and specially trained by the Major. They have a separate restaurant too where you can find nicely arranged traditional utensils. Hot Indian chapattis and homely food should increase your appetite!!
We wanted to go for a mini horseback safari and Mrs. Das quickly arranged that for us. Overall the hospitality was very friendly and we wish to visit the place soon.
Special thanks to Major Das as he inspired me with his humble personality and motivating talks about life.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have stayed at Devra during our visit to Udaipur from 8th Sep. 2011 to 11th Sep. 2011. The Rooms were elegantly designed and appropriately furnished, the Location is just perfect with Greenery on all sides. The Veg. Meals we requested were delicious and very well presented by extremely attentive staff. Major Durga Das & Mrs. Jyoti are just amazing host, they simply made us feel Special and We would love to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pankit-Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We visited last November with our 1 and 3 year olds and found Devra to be great little spot. While not in the city, it is probably a 10 minute drive from most things. For the price, it's definitely worth the extra drive.

The staff was outstanding - the Major and his wife were very good hosts and the employees were very friendly and helpful. The views were great and it is calm and quiet. They had 2 dogs - Rupert and Oscar. The kids just loved Oscar, the little one. They remember him even today. Breakfast here is recommended and you may want to try the home cooked meal for dinner one night - very reasonable and fresh.

One of the most memorable experiences was the little temple that is located on the property. The local still villagers come out and worship here. The puja (service) on Saturday evenings is unforgettable...definitely experience it.

Rooms were clean and well kept. The only thing keeping it from a 5 star rating would be that the bathroom in our room could have used an upgrade...nothing really wrong with it, but not as great as you would expect in modern resorts today.

All in all, highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We visited with family for three days in August 2011 and had a wonderful and restful experience. The place is situated in a green valley surrounded by guava orchards. It has spectacular views of the Lake Palace, the Monsoon Palace, and the surrounding Aravalli hills, and is a bird lovers paradise. Major Durga Das and his lovely wife Jyoti are very gracious hosts and made us feel welcome. The staff were polite, helpful and exceedingly attentive and made our stay very comfortable. The interspersed and inviting lounges and the terrace seating makes one feel at home. This experience was the best combination of staying in a good hotel but feeling right at home in beautiful surroundings. The ecologically-minded Major is committed to preserving the natural beauty of the area, and is working to educate the locals and restrict encroaching urban development. Thus, his efforts should be supported in every way. He and his daughter have identified approximately 80 species of birds thus far around their property. The site is also home to an ancient temple,is which is still in use today. We would enthusiastically recommend the place to anybody visiting the lovely city of Udaipur, the natural beauty of the Devra is unparalleled.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms upstairs in the main house and had specatcular views from the terrace...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KanishkaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Will be an awesome experience to the comers who are planing to trip in udaipur, This place will define it self and you will experience the excellent hospitality of Mj. Durga dass and his wife Miss Joyti Jasole who cook's awesome, yami, Indian traditional food, plz don't plan more then 7days who want to remain slim or on a diet because you can't stop your eating desire when joyti cook's ha ha ha ! ok! so when you will come this experience will be beyond from the big 5star hotels."If there is a place in the Lap of Nature : This is the place" ..So for what you are waiting for, go on ....

Room Tip: i like the rocky room it is so calm and best with a bottle of wine and your beloved.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhi2725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
2.3 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#7 of 163 in Udaipur
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#31 of 163 in Udaipur
221 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £48 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing