We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Patiala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Devra is a cool,calm and an excellent place away from noisy city. It has all the flavors of nature. It is soothing to see birds in the morning. The hospitality is very good with even better home made food. Perfect place with perfect surroundings. Planning to re-visit the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    61
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
77
119
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
684 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Devra is a delightful purpose built relaxing bed and breakfast with lovely views and away from the busy-ness of Udaipur. Devra is also a small working farm with wheat crops, a few cattle and vegetables for home use.

The rooms are comfortable and attractively furnished with a small window seat for relaxing. The house is delightful and beautifully furnished.

Outdoor areas have views of the mountains, plains and palaces and are furnished with outdoor furniture in uncovered spaces.

Breakfast is a simple affair (packaged juices, basic cereals, fruit, white bread and conserves) although eggs are available on request.

Dinners are provided if a booking is made, are tasty and are held in the main house.

Cooking classes can be provided on request and are interesting.

Service is excellent.

The owners live on site, and are most hospitable, helpful and friendly. Rupert, the owners' dog, is a lively, friendly pooch with a particular liking for shoes so keep your door closed!

It's easy to walk around the local area exploring local farms, bird life and brick making.

Except for the (outsourced) laundry service, I recommend everything about this comfortable, charming and pleasant bed and breakfast, including the delightful and helpful hosts.

It is a short trip to Udipair, easily traversed by a motorised tuk tuk. Often the owner can give you a lift in to town. The distance isn't far and it's much more pleasant at Devra than in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Devra is just perfect for everyone. It has the perfect surroundings, perfect everything. I personally recommend it for all travelers to go here and absorb its beauty. Amazing hospitality, amazing food, just the sort of place you would want to go for a perfect holiday. It was very very good........

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sai777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Our disappointment was only due to timing. It is certainly a lovely property which we were shown around by the owner, and we were very impressed. Unfortunately for us the owner's wife was preparing for a large cooking demonstration on the following day and the hotel terraces were being "done up" as both cooking demo area and dining room for 80 - 100 people. We were unable to enjoy the late afternoon sun on our terrace because of workers constructing a canopy over the adjoining terrace, an activity which was still in progress when we went to bed. The food was good but the hospitality we had become used to was definitely missing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CateP42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review of Devra Udaipur. Such events takes place vary rarely in Devra. It was unfortunate that it happened while you were with us. We only wish you had let us know of your discomfort while you were with us. There was a grand balcony next to the room to use it undisturbed and there was the top terrace totally free of any kind of interference.
Our future guests are humbly requested to share your discomfort of any nature fearlessly with us. We will do our utmost to make you comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodhpur
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

amazing property, sumptuous food and warm hospitality. The property is situated on the hilltop and has extraordinary view of the surrounding hills including the view of sajjangarh and lake palace. The rooms are spacious and superb. Major Durga Singh ji is a perfect host. The landscaping and the surrounding fields make the visit a must to this property. Essentially suggested for all traveller, irrespective of purpose of travel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeep s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Beautiful rooms, gorgeous surroundings, friendly staff, and truly stunning common areas. BUT... this place is out in the middle of nowhere. It's not convenient to go in and out of the city center unless you have money to burn on a taxi that costs about 5 times more than it should. The rooms are pretty, but for the very high price you've got to expect more. Same goes for the so-so food and lack of hot water.

In the end, I'm not quite sure what you're paying a premium price for. Is it so that you can stay away from everyone else in the city (including the gorgeous lake)? Is it the amenities? If so, which ones exactly?

IndiaLoveTravel and claudi95 nailed it right on the head with their reviews. This is a wealthy person's upscale b&b, separated from the vibe of the city and designed as a retreat locale. Absolutely fine, but just not for us or other tourists looking to engage with the place and feel the sights and sounds around us. That said, still, this is not a 5-star home-stay. Sorry, but having stayed in many of those in the past, that's the truth. Devra management can reply to this post but that doesn't make it true.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnersMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your interesting feedback on your stay with us. We have always maintained on our website that we are away from the city center and the lake. What we offer our guests is an experience of a luxurious home stay. Since we are home stay the food served is the authentic food of Rajasthan. We do not offer different cuisines at our home stay but serve the same food that we make.
For taxi charges It is always advisable to ask the management."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We were in Udaipur for a relaxed trip. Our plans included spending time walking around and seeing the country side a bit (in addition to the usual palaces etc.). Devra turned out to the best choice:

- Very helpful hosts and good, home cooked food. Different from impersonal hotels and fattening food! Almost all the food comes from their own farms which are around the house
- Perfect rural settings. The ability to just walk out of the house to a real farm brings memories back to childhood. And all the different birds and squirrels who come around in the morning
- Clean and neat
- If you sit down with the major and wife in teh evening or go for a walk around the house, you will be surely well entertained by the amount of information they can provide about the history and culture of the place. So, really can take back some very good memories and stories.

Anand and Xiaoxiao

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the first floor which opens out the the terrrace overlooking the lake and palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand R P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#36 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#24 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#6 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#27 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Property: Devra Udaipur
Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing