We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasteful and homely”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #24 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Tasteful and homely”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Devra reminded me of my family farm house... The view of aravali cladded with deep green and the hint of winter steps made our stay delightful. The property is done tastefully with conscious efforts. It is a modern minimal feel achieved with local materials and flavours. The food also follows the same theme.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nehasaraswat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    61
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
77
119
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed here on a work trip to Udaipur. Its a very comfortable homestay in a large property surrounded by lush green hills. The host couple are friendly people who know the place well and are full of interesting stories. The Sunrise from the rooftop is completely worth waking up before it. The tariff is value for money. Just a word about the staff who were polite but sometimes needed to be told several times before they could deliver what one requested. The morning tea request for eg was lost on them! But that extra effort aside...its a boutique stay and completely worth experiencing. And if you're there on a weekend you might get to sample a tribal prayer service!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poweredbyserendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I found Devra from Fiona's Love Travel Guide "Love Jaipur". It was special in terms of architecture and views. Very relaxing after a busy day at work, that is what I needed in the evenings. Great food, a chilled beer, a nice few and sometimes a good conversation with the owners. Only missing part is a real good filter coffee, they serve only instant nescafe.....

Room Tip: Every room is different and special. Rooms in the main building have access to terrace. Downstairs r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulmohar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is a one of the my most favorite pvt house in Rajasthan......due to many reasons
No-1 top on a small rock
No-2 Beautiful surrounding of Aravli mountains
No-3-Nice Village life
No-4 All rooms are excellent
No-5 personal attention by Owner
No-6 You are safe
N0-7 Not very far from city
N0-8 If once you will only visit....i am shore..you will book the room
No-9 very cool ambiance
No-10 It's not a Guest house......it's a Home you can spend month's

Room Tip: Best Room is that ........"a rock in the room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yusuf k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My daughter (20's) and I stayed at Devra probably longer that the usual tourists, but we had heard that Udaipur was special so we booked 4 days there. My daughter found Devra on the internet, booked it without knowing anything else about it, emailed it to me for a look, and I agreed. The website and photos do not do this place justice. It is even better. The look and feel of the place was perfect for us. We were there at the end of a 2-week trip to India, primarily around Raghastan, and it was an unbelievably relaxing and beautiful way to experience Udaipur, its surroundings and the end of the trip. In fact, one of the reasons it was so nice is that it was away from the city. I understand the review that one visitor mentioned that it is away from the city, but it was WELL worth it. The hosts had a driver who was often available, and when he wasn't, we could take a taxi or tuck-tuck to or from the town. It is really not that far at all. Day one we saw Udaipur. Day 2 we read all day and took walks. Day 3 and 4 were a mix. The place is very relaxing. As one reviewer mentioned, there is also enough to do in the immediate vicinty in terms of easy walks or more strenous hikes (such as the one up to Monsoon Palace). The owners help with arranging trips too. Devra is in a real village, not a touristy spot at all. A walk involves watching farmers and joking around with school children. You do not feel "stuck" in the country. And it definately does not have the feel of a suburb. One thing I really liked about the "homestay" at Devra is that the hosts were very helpful and cordial without being TOO available. Some people avoid "homestays" as something that may involve TOO much interaction with the family. . . some people want to be in a place where they are totally private or anonymous. They are averse to "bed and breakfasts" in the US for instance for that reason. This place is not like that. The hosts are fun, sophisticated, entertaining and helpful, but do not assume that you always want their attention. Sort of the perfect balance. The Indian food they served was really good; the staff is helpful and sweet. Suppers were great. When they served Indian food at breakfast, it was great. Complaints? I wished they had it every morning. When I started asking, it was served . . . and appreciated. One more thing, we met a really fun couple from the Punjab; a woman from the US traveling alone after having worked on a project, a couple of women (Indian and German) who were there for a meeting for some nonprofit work. It's that kind of place . . . where, if you feel like it, you can get to know the other guests a bit. But you don't have to.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eleanor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Jyoti & and self along with our staff are immensely thankful to you for writing a great feed back on Devra. You had been very kind to post your review so soon. Most of our guests either forget or are too busy to write. They go very happy but we do not know the cause of not writing the reviews.
Our expertise on the computer is also a handicap.
We shall always look forward to see you and your daughter in Devra again.
Not to forget Rupert and his friend too join us to say a warm hello to you.
Kind regards,
Maj.Durga Das
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My girlfriend and I stopped here after our arrival and 2 night stay in New Delhi. It was such a relief to find somewhere so relaxing, beautiful and laid back after Delhi, it was just what we needed. The staff very helpful, polite and friendly but the hosts are exceptional. They are a married couple, the Major, his wife De-De and a couple of lovely dogs. They are genuinely friendly and you can tell they enjoy running their business; when we commented on the beauty of their home/hotel their reply was “thank you but it is all the more beautiful with you staying here” – how nice.
The whole place is immaculately clean. The rooms are en-suite and are great. Loads of room, very tastefully decorated, have their own balconies and a window seat/bay. The views from the terraces and balconies are gorgeous, you can see for miles around from the monsoon palace to a full view of Udaipur lake.
The breakfast was great with the usual Indian selection; omelette, toast, cereals, orange, tea, etc.
Laundry service we used was next day at 50 rupees/item – everything can back spotlessly clean and well ironed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patiala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Devra is a cool,calm and an excellent place away from noisy city. It has all the flavors of nature. It is soothing to see birds in the morning. The hospitality is very good with even better home made food. Perfect place with perfect surroundings. Planning to re-visit the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#36 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#25 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#6 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#27 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#47 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Property: Devra Udaipur
Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing